Ratings based on 2,917 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Stay in another hotel.

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Cleanness
Cons: Have mosquito repellent in every room.
Location: No many things to do nearby. I had to take Uber to go to different places. I met a great Uber driver.
The place was infested with so many mosquitoes. People working there were friendly, but they need to tell guests about the mosquitoes so we can buy mosquito repellent in advance. I wanted to go to the beach, but the beach close to the Melia resort are full of (I think) algae. In general, the resort is a nice place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Disappointing Experience

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Unfortunately from the moment I arrived, it was one problem after another. I arrived first from a big group attending a wedding event. The hotel had my stay dates incorrect and blamed Expedia. They did not believe me until I showed the original booking email with the correct dates. Then I had roaches in my room upon which I had to show photos as proof in order to get them to change my room (I also had 2 small children with me). Half of the resort was not accessible due to debris from the hurricane, the vouchers provided were not being accepted at multiple restaurants and bars in the resort. We were attacked from mosquitos at an alarming rate and not once did I see anyone trying to help with the situation (I had also been in a resort in Colombia a few weeks prior, in the forest, and never had a mosquito issue bc they were Always spraying to help alleviate this problem). The parking machine had not been working and upon the last day of our stay we were given a card which charged us parking fees for the entire stay ( something not disclosed upon check in). The bar was not properly stocked, the game room did not have fully working machines, pool table was missing pieces, access to drinkable water was scarse as you had to wait for the market to open at 7am in order to buy water. Service was not very welcoming nor accommodating. Will not be returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Amazing resort

Posted Sep 10, 2017
We went to Puerto Rico for a birthday celebration. We upgraded to Red Level so that we can have breakfast and soft drinks included. Check in and check out took a total of 10 minutes in the Red Level office. The room was big and spacious. The beach looked beautiful but was Rocky. The pool was AMAZING. I went to the Red Level pool when I just wanted to relax in the mornings and would go to the main pool to have fun, drink, listen to the music. The resort is big but they have golf carts that come around frequently to get you to and from. We only ate breakfast at the resort and went to the Kioskos at Luquillo Beach for our other meals so that we can get authentic Puerto Rican food. We went into San Juan one night for dinner at Ruth Chris and the drive was only 30 min. We rented a car for the entire trip and paid $16 per day for parking at the hotel. Overall, the resort was beautiful and I would definitely come back with the kids as they have a kids club, tennis courts pool table, mini arcade, water basketball and volleyball and soccer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2017
The first thing we noticed was humidity smell . Secondly no beach, or at least a very tiny small beach not nice to be the Caribbean . But breakfast, lunch , diner, drinnks are very expensive. The pool was great. The service good. Room service 80 % good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Great property, could be better

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Picturesque property with a grrest views that give you the typical tropics vacation experience. The rooms are okay. Our room couch was dirty. There are annoying parking and other fees that will drive you batty. Location is convenient for El Yunque and liquillo beach excursions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

This is really horrible resort.

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Safety and quietness.
Cons: Staff's bad attitude; More food and more affordable selections; Remove parking fee or include in your rate so customers can decide.
Location: Only things that are really close(convenient) to this location: Luquillo Beach and El Yunque mountains.
This is a really horrible resort far from everything (should be AI resort). Also, food is expensive in the resort. $28 for horrible breakfast per person. They offered us $500 resort credit upon booking this resort and we were not able to use any of it, because they have so many restrictions. You have to spend $25 for this, $30 for that, etc. Basically, it is designed for you not to use it. In addition, they charge for parking claiming parking company is different. If you want to charge for parking, include it in your rates so I can go elsewhere. I could have booked a great condo with kitchen, etc near Luquillo Beach for twice less money. I wasted my money on this resort. I think this is most overrated/overpriced resort for your money. I was willing to stay far away from everything so I could save some money and stay at the safe resort( it is safe though). By the way, the staff is horrible, even managers/supervisors act nasty. Maybe it is Puerto Rican culture, comparing to other hotels/resorts I stayed in Caribbean Islands and Mexico, this place by far the worst. Stay away from this resort at any cost. Pay a little extra for better hotel/resort.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Dirty nasty staff

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Since the moment we arrive the staff very nasty the room first day was clean but after that always dirty a lot of trash cats and dogs out side far from everything nothing to compare with Meliá in Dominican Republic that was the reason I chose the hotel but now I regretted super bad experience and everything is expensive if you ask for help no body know anything and they always short or simple the don't have what you need..... not recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Amazing hotel at the Melia beach

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Was impressed with hotel area. Very nice location! Palms, beautiful beach, hammoks, nice birds. I had feeling like in Paradise!! Stuff was so friendly! Me and my wife had really great experience staying there!! Definitely I may recommend this hotel for vacation
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Posted Sep 4, 2017
the hotel is nice and big. at check-in they are slow. And the rooms are not so pretty
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent place

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Rooms are to old fashion. Furniture is old. Only double beds need Queens beds. Grounds are ok I guess. Pool was nice. Overall descent place but I probably wouldn't stay there again.