Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Staff was really friendly and helpful

Posted May 31, 2017
Amazing experience. Wonderful customer service. Beautiful setting. Clean pool and the beach was amazing
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Breathtakingly Beautiful Oceanfront Resort

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: A very luxurious resort in a spectacular setting of manicured nature. Fantastic pools. Incredible beach. Constant breezes.
Cons: The service was not up to par. Long waits at restaurants. Check-in problems. Communications problems. Dismissive staff at times.
This resort is physically amazing. Green mountains provide a stunning backdrop to the very spacious and clean crescent beach. The setting is private and the tropical landscaping is lush and immaculately maintained. The pools are inviting both to swimmers and to sun worshipers, with plenty of empty loungers (with or without umbrellas) at any time of the day during a period of full hotel occupancy. Beautiful plants line the sculpted tiered pools. While there are plans to develop the areas surrounding the resort, for now there are large expanses of nature and virtually deserted beaches. The room, a garden-view one of the lowest category, was totally quiet, spacious, and elegantly finished. The air-conditioning worked exceptionally well, and a ceiling fan provided additional comfort. The bathroom was accommodating, with a separate area offering a large open shower and bathtub. Service issues kept this stay from being a five-star experience. Some staff members were very gracious and helpful. However, not having a room available after check-in time, not having my name on the guest list (causing delays upon returning to the resort, which has a security checkpoint at a gatehouse), exceptionally slow service followed by incorrect billing at a restaurant, and misunderstandings regarding various requests marred an otherwise incredible stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

Luxury hotel in tropical paradise

Posted May 30, 2017
True five star St. Regis on beach at the base of a rain forest. Top notch facilities. Service was excellent. Could use some additional staff at beach and pool for food service but that's not picking. Fern restaurant is pricey but isn't to be missed Would definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Naples, Italy

Our stay

Posted May 5, 2017
Great Resort. Wish there was more to do there, it rainednthree out of the five days we were there. The Resort needs to have maybe a night club for adults or something, after a day at the spa and touring a day around San Juan, we just stayed in our rooms due to the rain for the next three days. It would have been nice if the Resort offered an atmosphere for adults to go to and have a good time outside our room. The food was good but very expensive. The staff was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Staff anticipated our needs

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Very impressed with the resort and staff equally - There is an authentic 'happy to see you' feel that the staff exuded. Also, they let you see their individual personalities - they aren't robotic in their friendliness. All three restaurants were fabulous. Our only disappointment was the way moderately stormy weather seems to effect the beach - bringing all sorts of debris from rainforest
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cincinnati

Paradise

Posted Apr 23, 2017
First time at this resort. It was excellent and service was first class. Concerns about lack of food options are legitimate. However, the food was delicious and we were well taken care of. We went with three small children, room was spacious and we probably all could have fit in the shower. Recommend without hesitation
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Over promising and under delivering!

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: The pool and the beach.
Cons: Everything but the beach and the pool.
Location: There is nothing nearby. Had to take a 45 minute ride to go anywhere.
Overrated and overpriced and far away from everything. Limited food options with limited restaurants. The pool is nice and so is the beach. The staff was average at best. The maid service was sub-par. The concierge had limited knowledge and the tour company was mediocre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bowie, MD

Beautiful resort on nice and quiet beach

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Great for couples and families. I was vacationing with my wife but we could easily bring our children as the resort has several activities for kids.
Cons: The food was a bit expensive.
We spent a three day weekend at the resort to celebrate my birthday. The resort staff are so welcoming and accommodating. We received a complimentary upgrade from a king oceanfront room to a one bedroom ocean view suite with butler service. Happy birthday to me! It was simply beautiful. Spacious, well decorated. Well stocked mini bar. Refrigerator with enough room for some small personal food items. Espresso and coffee maker. Large living area with a sizable sofa and chair. Large flat screen TV. Full bathroom and shower. Large balcony with a sofa, two ottomans and a table for 4. The balcony with one sliding door from the living room and one sliding door from the bedroom completely faced the ocean. The bedroom was spacious with a large walk in closet. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Flat screen TV. Nightly turn down service (closing the curtains, turning back the comforter, putting out slippers, leaving something sweet on the pillow) was something I looked forward to every evening. The master bathroom was enormous. Two sinks, TV in the mirror, shower and tub more than big enough for two people. The grounds of the resort were stunning. Beautiful landscaping, sculptures, lakes, flowers, ponds. The pool was generous with ample chairs and cabanas. The resort never felt over crowded which was very nice and added to the overall relaxation of the trip. We did two private tennis lessons with pro Tucker. He was awesome and it was a great work out!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucester, MA

Relaxing stay on a beautiful beachfront property.

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: What we appreciated most was the natural beauty of the property, the wonderful staff and the relaxing atmosphere.
Cons: I would like to see more evening activities. Something celebrating Puerto Rican culture. Culinary demonstrations, rum tastings, dancing or music.
Location: We visited El Yunque National Rainforest, Loquillo Beach and Kiosks. Our catamaran trip to Culebra was cancelled due to rough seas.
We discovered the St Regis at Bahia Beach after looking online for a quick last minute Caribbean vacation. The property is beautiful, exquisitely maintained with attention to its natural bounty. The staff was everything expected from a five star resort, friendly and helpful in every interaction. This was our first experience with "butler service" and although we didn't seek out our assigned butler for much, he texted us daily to check in and made sure our French press coffee tray was delivered to our suite every morning. The St Regis is as expected a splurge. As an example, one trip to the breakfast buffet, with one Bloody Mary each, cost $132.00, tip included and most cocktails on property were priced at $16.00. The concierge was spot on with "off property" local restaurant suggestions. Our advice, bring your own liquor. My suggestion to the St. Regis, perhaps offer more activities, i.e., culinary demonstrations, rum tastings, or Latin dancing lessons at night. We will most definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great service and warm atmosphere

Posted Feb 28, 2017
The staff treat the guest so well and they make you feel as you're in paradise, very accommodating on all your needs.