Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not close to the beach but very nice pool

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Hotel is nice but their breakfast was decent but not what I consider to be a good breakfast they ran out of juice constantly and options were limited
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from colorado

Close to beach without the beach

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: View of ocean, swimming pool is in good location.
Cons: Lobby, restaurant and amenity in room
Location: Walk to near street to enjoy ocean side dinning , evening bar and local life
I came for a vacation, found out that beach is not what I saw in the hotel page, rocky , high wave , un- accesble, it is not for guest to use. Hotel main building was all under construction, enter the lobby like "gohst town", hot, no AC, dark, we were giving a condominium type room, poor conditions with all room amenity. Resteraunt is in bad shape, we order red wine, it came with 1/3 bottle left, can't have more, even white wine. The server don't speak English which make it hard experience. Although all staffs gave us all smiles and tried their best, I will not go back to that hotel soon.
3 out of 5
by Bengt

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spacious rooms but HORRIBLE service

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Besides the fact that there is usually only one person at the reception, which means you have to wait alot before even been served, we also had issues with the staff working at this establishment. We were told to not unpack as we were going to be moving rooms to a sea view. We waited for over 3 hours wasted our prescious time we could be exploring the city, expecialy important to us as we told them we had limited time. They didnt change us rooms untill the next day. Waste of our time. Secondly we had booked a tour that without our knowledge had been cancelled. We had provided the agency with out room number and hotel number. The hotel never called us to inform that thr tour had been cancelled even though the agency called them repeatedly to inform us. Another waste our time, of our entire day actually. Also when we called to ask for them to take our luggage from our room to the reception ( which is a very long walk ) they told us no because there was no one available. We had to drag our heavy suitcases IN THE RAIN to our cab ourselves. Also the tv was unwatchable since it was all static, they will put you on hold for minutes at a time when calling the reception from our room and the shower head spread out so far it seems to hit everything but my head. Conclusion, old hotel with very spacious rooms, terrible and rude service and poor maintanance. Oh and i speak fluet portuguese and had a hard time so if you only speak english you would be digging your own grave booking it
3 out of 5
by Sonia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Great location but..

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Pestana Bahia and Pestana Lodge are in need of major renovation and up keeping. A response to a request to fix a door lock issue was only taken care of after 24 hours the initial request because I would not wait any longer. Friendly staff specially the ones at the restaurants and bars! I could see that some of them feel ashamed of the maintainance/up keeping. In my opinion the only ones to blame is the Portuguese Pestana Group!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel close to the beach , nice view and location

Posted Dec 5, 2015
The service is really slow and and bad , I asked for some towels and they took more than an hour and 4 calls until they finally bring it , breakfast is nice and the views are amazing
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Europe

Large hotel with swimmingpool and Beach view

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Extremly slow check-in. Safe did work and not possible to fixed immediately as appartment apparently owned by an indvidual. Only two towels for two bathrooms and one towel with hair. Ask for more but did not get them. Some problems with doorlock. Cannot recommend the hairdresser. The persons helping with our luggages were efficient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Understaffed

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
Definitely understaffed... - took us 1H to check in, and still had to wait for our room. - waited 2H for them to bring towels to room (which they forgot to place when cleaning) - waited almost 1H for room service. (for just 1 order of french fried) Rooms need some renovation... - walls peeling off - mildew in the bathrooms...etc - towels seemed old... not even "white" anymore - sheets seemed a little "damp" and not "crisp" - pillows smelled sooo bad my wife couldn't sleep the first night It smelled like an old man's really old baseball cap. Sweaty and... urgh - "safe" had no door on it - "minibar" ?? an empty fridge - "Jacuzzi" and "Sauna" by the gym.... Not working Such a nice place and nice views... its just such a pity that its not well maintained, and under staffed Its tough to maintain the place very well right by the ocean... but that should be a commitment they should have made from the beginning of their business in this location. Maybe the management is cutting back on costs too much?? Nickle and dimes kind of management?? I really think some more fresh towels, pillows, sheets, and more trained staff... and periodic maintenance to your infrastructure would not hurt, and in return could boost your hotel's reputation. Finally just some positive points... - Wi-fi was very stable and fast. - The location/views... (don't be fooled, not all rooms are ocean views. We couldn't see an inch of the ocean from our room)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

Location and Buildings/Interior

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: Location and views. Food also good in the lodge section but not in the hotel
Cons: equipment, decoration, furnishings
Location: Location amazing, town with great restaurants and bars in walking distance
Amazing location but buildings and especially the interior decoration and furniture very tired and in bad condition. Would only recommend the LODGE. Facilities are good but equipment is old. Swimming pool fantastic with great views.