Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel for a romantic night in Salvador

Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was fantastic. My wife and I stayed one night in Salvador and when we got to the hotel, we wished that we had more time. The room was AMAZING! We stayed in the old home, which only has 3 rooms. But the entire setup of the hotel including the annex is very well planned and cared for. Breakfast was fantastic and had more options than we had room to try. The kitchen even made us a tapioca. We would recommend this hotel to everyone. It is a jewel! All of the staff was great and they were accommodating to speak English if we needed. I asked for the romantic package and my wife was very surprised. It included rose petals, champagne, a dish of fruits with chocolate, breakfast in the room and a massage for both.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Lovely staff, great location, but needs renovation

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Friendly, helpful staff. Great location in rio vermelho. Beautiful, old hotel. But internet slow or nonexistent in the room. All three exercise machines not working. Hot water not always available in room. And on and on.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spectacular spot on the beach in Salvador

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
Just a spectacularly beautiful hotel with a phenomenal staff. Incredible architecture and so many lovely unique details — from the white hammocks in the little downstairs patio to the mini waterfall pool showers on the roof. The rooftop infinity pool + hot tub with a view of the beach is definitely special. Breakfast was lovely — traditional Bahian fare — and pretty much any information we needed was provided immediately and enthusiastically by the English-speaking staff. Would have been incredibly easy to not leave the hotel grounds at all, but there's a nice little beach across the street and the surrounding neighborhood is lovely. Lots of great street art, if that's your thing, and some nice bars and restaurants within a short walk. Highly recommend!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Try something else

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
Really not the money worth very expensive for what you get this hotel should be cheaper paid EUR 225 for a room that is worth not more than EUR 100 Not even a free bottle of water
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Nice hotel in good location.

Posted Apr 11, 2016
The hotel is very nice with an excellent breakfast and a good location close to great restaurants, nightlife and the beach. Service at the pool bar was a bit slow at times, but otherwise the facilities and hotel were very nice.
4 out of 5
by Adam from Cherry Hill, NJ

Only one of a few boutique hotels in Salvador

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
Zank is located in a relatively quiet residential area that has some great restaurants and a beach a short walk away. The staff was very nice and helpful in getting taxis when needed. I would definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Comfortable Renovated Rooms

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Rooms were renovated, comfortable, and nicely decorated. The location was not ideal - stay closer to the restaurants and old town if you like to walk - however, cabs are pretty inexpensive if need be. The air conditioning for our room was not working and the water was not hot enough. The concierges spoke great English and were very helpful and accommodating. Bartender not so much; he really did not want to make me a mojito. The food was pretty good - for lunch. Decent gym - don't be put off because it's in the basement - nice walkout room with big corner windows with a beach view - they need water and towels though. 
4 out of 5
by Prathima from Boston

Wonderful hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Hotels
We had a relaxing two day stay. The staff is extremely helpful and accommodating. They arranged for an early check-in and late check-out to fit in with our flight times and also helped with a tour of the city, giving us directions and tips on places to go to and places to avoid. The hotel is itself is wonderful, a right balance between chic and historic. Great view of the beach from the room and rooftop pool/jacuzzi. The food (both breakfast and dinner) were delicious. Even the massages we got at their mini spa were great. They have a wonderful reading room with a hammock underneath the coconut trees just outside. It's located on a very steep slope though, and the neighborhood needs you to be a little extra careful at night. But otherwise, a great place to stay.
3 out of 5
by Elise from stockholm

quiet area

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
Nice little hotel in a quiet and a bit dull part of the city. Very few places to eat at walking distance, but the hotel restaurant is decent.