Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk UK

Useful hotel on the edge of town

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: The staff, the well-functioning facilities.
Cons: The heating, the food and restaurant service.
Location: Three kilometres from the city centre; easily reached by taxi.
We stayed here for two nights in early January. A Chilean soccer team were also in residence, which put a bit of a strain on the staff. This ex-hacienda is on the outskirts of town rather than in the countryside, easily and cheaply within reach by taxi. Our room was enormous but rather cold. All facilities were fine, hot water, shower, wi-if, TV etc. Reception staff were very helpful, ready to assist with phone calls, calling taxis etc. Food was a bit disappointing, and restaurant service patchy. A useful place to stay if you're passing through, but not somewhere for an extended visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

charming hacienda

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Only stayed one night but everything was nice; updated rooms but still rustic; lovely grounds, food in the restaurant was good; great place for r and r
5 out of 5
by Paul from Ecuador

Awesome Hotel! (but WiFi needs an upgrade)

Posted Nov 26, 2015 on Hotels
Overall, best hotel I've stayed at in Ecuador. The triple room was huge and clean. The beautiful high ceilings gave it a great, spacious feel. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. They helped us book a bike tour on Chimborazo, and lit the wood burning stove in our room to take away the Andes chill. Good food in the restaurant. My only complaint is that the WiFi signal was very weak and erratic through the entire hotel. It was usable, but a bit bothersome at times. If they fixed that, this place couldn't be beat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Great hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Pros: staff, rooms, food, bar, shop selling local crafts - everything!
Cons: nothing.
Location: Centre of riobamba is fine for day. Banos and other places worth seeing.
Arrived after a long drive so were thrilled to see this beautiful hotel tucked away from the main road. The staff were brilliant and the rooms amazing. We had log fires burring in our rooms ech night. restaurant was fantastic. Liked it all so much we stayed an extra night. would recommend it to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: I like the rustic style of the hotel. Breakfast was excellent.
Location: It is near Riobamba city so it was easy to come an go as we pleased.
I liked the hotel very much. It is located near the city and the main road to go to different places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quito, Ecuador

Cozy hotel, beautiful bedroom, great breakfast

Posted May 18, 2015
Nice hotel, close to town, quiet and cozy. Great bed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mpls, MN

Very Nice Hotel in Rio Bamba

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Hotel is very clean. Food in Restaurant is Excellent. Service is Excellent.
Cons: Our room was excellent. My sister and her husband had another room, and they said that they had very little hot water for the shower.
Location: Location is 3 KM out of downtown Rio Bamba. Cabs must be taken between Rio Bamba and the Hotel. No restaurants, etc nearby.
We stayed two nights so that we could take the Nariz del Diablo (Devil's Nose) train ride out of Alausi. Our room had a small wood burning stove, and the hotel staff lit it for use each evening. Staff was very helpful for calling cabs, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Old world charm, gracious. Good restaurant. An oasis
Difficult to find (literally needed a police escort to find it)' but worth it once there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great gem

Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel staff was helpful right when we arrived. The restaurant stayed open late for us so that we could eat. The managers are fantastic and the place was extremely clean. I would definitely stay again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loud and not convenient

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels
Food was not good. Service was poor - no one around after 9 pm and rooms are loud. Crying baby next door and festival off property until 2 am