Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Right in the middle of everything

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Nice old building just under the castle Close to lake old town and new shopping district
4 out of 5
by Amy Siu may from London

A little town in Alsace

Posted Aug 7, 2015 on Hotels
We had a really good time and the hotel was of great period character, set in the heart of an extremely picturesque town. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was excellent. The room was a little dark and a fan would have been appreciated in the hot weather. If arriving by car, drive boldly through the town gate, ignoring "no entry" signs, but proceed with care over the steep cobbled streets.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good staff, and OK rooms, but not luxurious at all

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Walls are very thin and rooms are quite small. But staff is great and rooms are clean. Great location. Overall good economy accommodation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: excellent location
Very friendly staff, good hotel, clean bathroom, small room, good breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 26, 2015 on Hotels
Unfortunately a heatwave during our stay, too hot, hotel did provide a fan. Excellent location in centre of the town, bit tricky to find, handy to have parking, although extra charge for that. Didn't have any problems with noise from other guests during our stay but clock tower/church nearby does chime nearby if you have to sleep with the windows open. Would stay here again as long as not super hot again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

In the centre of the old town

Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Wotif
Excellent hotel in the centre of the old town but with easy road access and parking. A great place to base yourself for travels in the area. Staff were pleasant and very helpful. Rooms full of character, quiet, clean and spacious. Breakfast was very good. Hope to return.
3 out of 5
by Jay from Bozeman, Montana USA

Nice location, bad room, good bed, kitschy town.

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
Riquewihr was a convenient stop along the Alsace wine route and an interesting town in itself. Unfortunately, it is a mainstay for tour groups and lone tourists who flood the main street, encouraging the establishment of restaurants, trinket and wine tasting shops, far beyond the capacity of this small place to absorb gracefully. The Couronne is a little difficult to get to because the signs guiding us to it were a bit ambiguous. The hotel building is part of the old town and not intrusive, being located back from the main street about half a block. We stayed in the annex, next to a large car park for which they charge 2 euros per night. The room itself was a garret in the attic, with sloping walls/ceilings and a few large beams obstructing movement about the room. I still have scabs on the head from hitting both the beams and the ceiling rather hard. We even resorted to taping tissue paper to the beams to alert us that they were there. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom spacious and the ambience quiet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Has to be a better place to stay!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
The hotel states that it accepts American Express but when you go to pay with that card they say it doesn't work on their machine. We are not the first to experience this issue because other reviews state the same issues. The front desk clerk speaks such broken English that you can not get directions or recommendations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Know what you are expecting

Posted Mar 5, 2015
This hotel is in one of the most enchanting little towns I have ever visited and is itself steeped in history and tradition. The beams themselves were around 500 years old. Given that there are some things you need to recognize coming in... Namely that it is 500 years old. You stay here for the charm and atmosphere and the feeling that you are stepping back into a fairy tale. Certain things are lacking but in some ways that is part of the experience. Pros: Friendly accommodating staff. Reasonable price for Europe. Good parking available. The optional breakfast was quite satisfactory. Charm and more charm. From the amazing doorway to the winding staircase to the old cupboard in the room this place delights lovers of history and authenticity. Cons: No soundproofing. None. This can be a bit embarrassing and unpleasant if you have neighbors. Up until I discovered this, I would have given this place 5 stars easily. The rustic feel is to be expected, but the lack of privacy and hearing ever word and action of my neighbors was uncomfortable. It is to be expected that a building this old has its quirks, but if this could somehow be fixed, what an improvement. That's about it. Anything else n gat ice is being nit picky. Overall, I still enjoyed my stay there.