Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Empire Hotel Empresses

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Lovely hostess, Marsha and she was the perfect one to own this charming historic hotel. Clean, comfortable and with a magic view of the Ohio River. Our only sadness was the family of baby elephants that got up at 4h40 on Saturday morning to play and shout until 9h when they (finally) went for a walk. Without the baby elephants the experience would have been pure bliss. Come on down and see the sights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2017 by empire house, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind words and come back again!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just OK Just OK!!!

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Needs to be updated, completely.
Bed was to small. Suppose to be a queen bed, but it was the size of a double bed. No continental breakfast as advertised by hotel.
5 out of 5
by James

Wonderful place to stay. Marsha, owner, wonderful!

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing place!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017
Thank you for the kind words
5 out of 5
by Mike

Posted Sep 30, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017
Thanks for the great rating!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
Great location with good view of Ohio River. Host, Marsha, is welcoming and gracious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017
Thanks for the great ratings!!!
5 out of 5
by Brian from Springfield, MI

Very quaint hotel in a quiet city

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
As this is a very small hotel, service was provided by the innkeeper herself. From a pre-stay phone call to confirm my arrival to check-in, it all was very courteous. The room I had provided a great view of the river, and the amenities were all good considering the age of the property. This will be a place where I'll make a point to book again should I return to the area. This provides a nice getaway from the bustling city life and a nice alternative to the standard suburban hotels patronized by many.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich, Ontario

Beautiful hotel along the river.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: View of the river, friendliness of the people, place to relax, interesting town to walk through.
Cons: Things were fine.
Location: You can shop, walk along the river front, do some gambling at the nearby casino, do water sports, good place to explore the surroundings.
It was a beautiful place to be with an excellent view on the river from the balcony or the veranda. People stopped by for a chat. The river front is well designed for a nice long walk along the river. We very much enjoyed it. The room itself was good, the bed excellent.
5 out of 5
by Nicole

Best Kept Secret

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
It was a great place to get away and feel like you're on vacation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful

Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
This is the 4th time we have stayed there. Sitting on the deck and watching Ohio River at day or night is peaceful!!!! Walking distance to Rising Star casino and an American Legion that made us feel very welcomed. Built in 1800's it's not a condo but clean and accommodating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Posted Jul 26, 2017
This hotel was wonderful in every respect. We will definitely be coming back and recommending this hotel to others.