Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Nice environment.. for nature lovers

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: The room was nice as well as the surroundings......
Cons: Customer service and security needs
Location: Not much
Beautiful surroundings.. loved the animals.... Staff was not helpful. Internet services are poor and very noisy at night. A lot of drinking by other guest nothing was done by hotel staff. Was not able to sleep for two nights...
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2017 by westgate customer care, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We certainly do our best to ensure our guests’ overall satisfaction. We know how many choices you have when staying in this city and we are glad you chose our facility. We always try to provide our guests with a valuable stay and we will share your comments with our team to ensure our quality of service meets our guests' expectations. We hope when you visit the area again you will give us another chance to meet your needs. Luna
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
The only complaint I can even say is that the pulled pork sandwich was not as good as I would have expected. Other than that, it the place is awesome. Our room was really nice, very clean and the beds were comfortable. Very importantly, the animals on the property seemed well cared for. We will go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by westgate customer care, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed a wonderful vacation with us and that you were able to experience our lovely resort staff and service. It is also delightful to hear that you were able to take advantage of lovely amenities. We certainly hope that you and your family have another chance to visit us again soon. Luna
3 out of 5
by Sara

Not for an Overnight Stay

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel itself was nice and seemed to have a lot going on if you stayed more than 1 night. However, we stayed for only one night and arrived at 4:30PM to find out that all the activities closed at 4:00 and the pool closed at 5:00. Check-out is 10:00am so they really do not allow you time to use the facilities or the property at all, since everything was closed upon arrival. Very disappointing to spend all that money on a hotel and not use any of it but the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We have a firm commitment to all of our valued owners and guests to make your vacation as wonderful as possible. We very much appreciate all the feedback our guests provide us because we know it will only make us better. We hope when you visit the area again you will give us another chance to meet your needs. Luna
1 out of 5
by Neville

Awful

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
Sorry, but the place was awful. The photos shown on the site for the rooms are incorrect and do not represent the rooms given. Staff were not very welcoming and frankly rude at times. The water in the rooms smelt and the stay has put me off any Westgate resort. My advice would be to stay away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest. We appreciate all feedback received from our guests as it allows us to see if there is need for improvement in any area of our service, products, or facilities. We trust you will continue to stay with us, enjoy more of our services, and Westgate Resorts hospitality. Luna
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Arrived to a very smelly mildewed room... asked front desk if they could take care of it and they said they would. Left for my concert to come back at midnight and the room smelled worse, roaches on the floor, bed bugs in my friends bed, my bad had sand between the sheets. I think housekeeping did not change the sheets from the past guest. There was also a ring in the tub. I thought about sleeping in my car or leaving but it was late and raining outside. I have NEVER experienced a room this dirty and stinky.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry that you experienced these issues with cleanliness of your room. Our housekeeping team is there to ensure that each unit is spotless and ready for our guest’s arrival. Customer satisfaction is our main concern. We have taken note of this issue and will let the resorts housekeeping manager know. We would like to apologize if this caused any inconvenience during your stay. Anja
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south florida

Glamping for first time campers

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: That there were many things to do on property. Staff was friendly. Restaurant food decent. Glamping provided everything needed. The rodeo was fun!
Cons: The activities are great, but add up and get expensive quickly.
Location: Rodeo, horseback riding, tennis, basketball, dancing, mini golf, mechanical bull, boating, swamp buggy, petting zoo.
We stayed at tent #5 and had an amazing experience! We are a family with young boys that have begged to go camping for a while now, as "city folk" my husband and I aren't too comfortable in nature, but the glamping experience was perfect for us. First the tent is very spacious with comfortable beds, ac, fans, electrical outlets, mini fridge, microwave and safe. Secondly there are dressers, board games, a separate area with seating and a table. Outside the tent a gas lit grill and picnic table. Additionally you get a key to your own private bathroom and shower that is equipped with towels and soap. At night they light a campfire and in the morning a basket with hot cinnamon buns, fruit and coffee is delivered to your tent. Absolutely delightful! When we checked in we received a s'mores kit, but I'm glad we brought marshmallows with us too because the kit lasted only one night. We rented a golf cart which is a must and a lot of fun too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Westgate Resorts, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your Glamping experience with us. “Glamorous Camping” is ideal for those who want to camp and enjoy the outdoors, but still prefer some of the comforts of home such as a full bathroom, air conditioning, and a cozy bed. We are thrilled to hear your family was able to enjoy themselves and glad you were able to take part in many of our onsite activities. Thank you again for your lovely review. We hope to see you all again soon! Anja
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome stay!

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
I booked 2 rooms here for my parents, daughter and I to evacuate Hurricane Matthew. The staff were extremely welcoming to us and our rooms were very comfortable. In between storms my daughter and I took a walk around to check things out and the groundskeepers made sure to ask if We were ok. We didn't get to do any of the activities because of the weather but looking at the list of activities you definitely will not be bored there! I am glad we stayed and we definitely will be back (for fun next time!)
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are so very happy you chose to come stay with us during the hurricane. The safety of our guests as well as the community is always our number one concern. We are glad everyone is safe and sound. As you noticed during your walk around the property, we do offer a lot of fun and exciting onsite amenities. It would be a pleasure to have you and your family return and enjoy some of them with us. Anja
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to visit the Westgate River Ranch Resort. We trust you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon! Anja
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Something different for the kids

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
We loved the rodeo. It was the highlight of my trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time from your busy schedule to share such positive feedback. We look forward to serving you in the future. Ray
5 out of 5
by Mary Ann

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by GuestRelations, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a rating of our resort. We look forward to hosting your vacation again soon. Ray