Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby, UK

Location better than facilities and service

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: The suite originally allocated (which we'd paid for) fell well short of expectations and should not have been allocated. Service needs a big shake up!
Location: The ancient town of Hoi An is very picturesque and historic. Good choice of eating places.
The hotel has a superb location on the riverside with very nice garden area. It's looking a bit tired and we were initially allocated a room (junior suite) overlooking the road with a large terraced area containing 2 scruffy sun loungers (one broken). This balcony area had no shelter (a problem since it rained most days) No WiFi in the room (as advertised) so informed reception who said they'd fix it. After 3 days of chasing the WiFi resolution we asked for a room change, which we did - to a much better garden room. Breakfast quality and service was poor.
4 out of 5
by Wai Yee from Hong kong

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
The view is good....services is good .....the most important is there so many message next to hotel..you can try whatever you want
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Victoria Park Western Australia

River Beach Hotel - Hoi An luxury.

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel with great staff, beautiful grounds and amazing breakfasts. An upgrade was given without asking and staff could not have been more friendly and helpful with giving advice. The only downside was the availability of the free shuttle, limited trips to town. The upside was free bicycle use. This was just a little hot during this time of the year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Good 3 star hotel

Posted May 25, 2016
Pros: We used the free bikes often and the pool was lovely (although beds could use a bit of a scrub). The kingsize bed was comfy and the rooms spacious.
Cons: The buffet food could use an overhaul, fruit was good though. Shower is too short and bathroom kept flooding every shower.
Location: Just a hop to the beach but unfortunately it has massive sandbags protecting the land so had to get on bikes to go to Ang Bang (which was great).
For the amount you pay for this hotel, it's excellent value for money. Don't expect chocolates on the pillow but you will find it tidy and the staff are really nice. There was a horrible rubbish smell wafting up through the hallways to the rooms when we first arrived, whether we just got used to it or it dissipated, I'm not sure (it wasn't inside the room). Overall we were pleased.
5 out of 5
by Danielle from Edinburgh

Very relaxing, food delicious!

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
We booked here for 5 nights to telex after a big adventure trip around China and Hanoi! It was brilliant!! So relaxing and the area was lovely meaning that you could have food locally nearby or within the hotel. The breakfast was the best we have ever had!!
4 out of 5
by Karen from Barnsley

Great location

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in the older part of the hotel which wasn't as nice as the newer part, but the location was great we borrowed bicycles from the hotel and travelled further afield.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west australia

River Beach Resort and Residences

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: The staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Cons: Wifi connectivity, aircon, roofing.
Location: Hoi An old town is lovely. Beach is ok, tours available.
Olde worlde charm. Main building has French colonial influence, my room was in another building away from the main. Entry hall smelt dank and musty. First room faced the road, at a T junction. Sleep was impossible due to traffic's habit of beeping horn to warn other road users of their approach. Requested move to another room, facing river. Much quieter and bigger. Was a little alarmed to see vanity had huge crack in it, inexpertly repaired with silicone, and tile grout was mouldy. Could not connect to wifi despite sitting under wifi router. Had to call desk to get aircon fixed as I could not reach it to adjust it or turn it off and the hand set was not working. As the air con was fixed high up on the wall, the janitor had to use a long pole to turn it off. I had two choices: freeze with the air con on, swelter with it off. Final straw was when I ventured out through French doors to balcony and discovered half the hotel appeared not to have a roof. Hoarding had been put up on poolside of building so that this lack was not obvious to pool users or breakfast eaters. I stayed one night, then moved out. Can I please have my money back?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Interesting place

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: Grounds
Cons: Extend the shuttle times
Location: Plenty to do - just explore it's all good
A good hotel with a nice location although you do have to make sure you're in the main block not the annex (no wi-fi and lower standard rooms). The grounds are lovely and the views along the river excellent. They offer a shuttle into Hoi An which takes about 10/15 minutes and free bikes. The beach that was once 100 yards away has now been eroded by the wave and so you do need to go about 2 miles north where there are great beaches - that's where the bikes come in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great !!

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Great location, clean, quiet, satisfying breakfast, helpful staff, free bicycle, free shuttle to town, walk to beach. Nothing to complain about. Hoi An town is awesome.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Could have been better

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Unfortunately the hotel was booked out by an innerpeace/healing group so despite my initial request of staying in a river view room, we were shoved in a top floor shabby room (broken tiles/no hot water at night/thin dirty ripped curtains) and were unable to swap rooms for first 2 nights but were finally rewarded with a much nicer room for the rest of our stay. Breakfast was overcrowded, staff were non existent at pool bar etc as continually too busy preparing table settings for b'fast/lunch/dinner for other 200 guests. Would have preferred to stay elsewhere