Ratings based on 1,831 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted May 20, 2017
Great facility, great staff! Valet people were friendly and fast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2017
Nice property but still have trouble accepting that the hotel does not have bellman to help with luggage. I can't recall another hotel/casino anywhere in the country without bellman service. They also have the worst linens and most poorly made beds of any hotel I've ever been to. No fitted sheets are the main problem. Cutting costs on linens and bellman cut hurt my rating for this hotel but if you are OK with this, the rest of the ratings are very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very very nice hotel

Posted May 6, 2017
Great hotel. Very quite and clean. Was impressed and Will be back
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Argosy Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa, we truly value your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Nice rooms

Posted May 1, 2017
The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. Had Valet issues but I think it was because it rained the whole weekend and everyone was using it!! We never went into the casino. Can only speak about hotel. Family visit for the weekend. I'd stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Argosy Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa, we truly value your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Totally Top End Facility

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Just about everything at this place if top notch.
Cons: A couple minor tweaks to make it more business friendly: *Needs Complimentary Morning Coffee if they want business travel in addition to the Casino ac
Location: There is an on-site Casino
Who would have thought Kansas City would have such a nice hotel. I ended up in Kansas City on a target of opportunity business wise so I drove in after flying through St. Louis. I booked the Argosy through Expedia because they had a discounted rate during the dates of my stay (odd dates Wed-Sat) and I guess they had a room. Room is highly elegant nicest Hotel Room around probably and better than I've stayed in; normally I would have expected a 3x multiple on the price. Better room than many 5 star resorts I've been too in terms of appearance and comfort. Also features the best SteakHouse for miles on-site. A couple minor tweaks to make it more business friendly: *Needs Complimentary Morning Coffee if they want business travel in addition to the Casino action *Front staff needs to be more expedient and better staffed at peak hours waited in line far too long to check in or resolve minor guest needs
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Argosy Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa, we truly value your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could have been so much better.

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Very Vegas-Esque
Cons: Room Maintenance, Mattress Replacement, and a Cleaner, Non-Smoking Casino
This hotel had so much potential. When you walk in, the hotel appears very Vegas-esque - Lots of Interesting details that take you to another place. I liked it a lot. And when we first walked into our room, I had the same feeling; the bathroom was especially nice. But after settling in a bit and looking at things a little closer, you begin to notice all the little things that they've let deteriorate: Every lampshade had little holes in them and was caked in dust. All of the wood furniture had little scratches and nicks in them that made them look old and worn. And the mattress.... Ugh. That mattress was like sleeping in a bowl. It was so broke down that it made it virtually impossible to find a comfortable position. My room-mate said his bed was okay, but mine was awful. All I kept saying was that this room could have been so nice. All it needed was a little TLC. If they'd replace the lamp shades, take a stain-pen and touch up those scratches, and replace the broke down mattress, it would have made that a 4 star room. Unfortunately it was not. The rest of the hotel was very nice. The only other complaint I had was with how smokey the Casino was. I realize some people smoke, but we shouldn't all have to, just because we want to gamble. This isn't a problem unique to this hotel, but it's something they all need to address. Have a smoking side and a non-smoking side if you want, but keep them and install a good air filtration system.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Disappointed

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The casino was fun! We love 99 Hops House!
Cons: Please make the amenities fee optional or get rid of it. The water is of low quality and quantity. Please refinish furniture. They are worn.
Location: A few minutes from downtown KC, including the River Market that we enjoyed so much.
I wrote a review earlier this month with nothing but great things to say about Argosy Casino Hotel and Spa based on a stay last Fall. My husband and I were so excited to stay again this past weekend. I am very sad to report that our stay was a complete 180 from last time. Here is what you need to know: A) There is a now a $10 daily amenities fee for 2 bottles of water (very small, maybe 8 oz. and poor quality-tastes like plastic), wi-fi (which we did not use), and a $5 restaurant discount if you bill to your room. Argosy, please get rid of this fee-or at least make it optional. I felt like they were just trying to squeeze more money out of us for services that were not worth the money and something we did not even want. B) You are not guaranteed the room you book online. We reserved a room with a king bed for our two night stay. We did happen to arrive early and understood that the room we wanted would not be available. But the front desk concierge was not the most accommodating to upgrade as soon as a room became available. So, we stayed in the double queen room that was available for our entire stay. Other fun facts: Walls are very thin. I heard my neighbor using the bathroom in the middle of the night and their TV was on full blast most of the nights, too! I wish I had the energy to party with them, but I needed sleep. Comforter had a cigarette burn in it. Lamp did not turn on nor did their outlets work to charge phones. Bottom line: Overpriced. Never again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017
We had a nice time. Museums in the day and casino in the evening. Hotel, casino and restaurants all in one place.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Argosy Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa, we truly value your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B, Topeka KS

Nice hotel, good for a short stay

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Room was clean and comfortable. Shower needs instructions, too complicated. Couldn't figure out how to adjust it . The desk staff was very friendly and helpful, but we requested another waste basket for bathroom, there wasn't one there, and extra towels. The desk clerk wrote it down, very friendly, but housekeeping never brought them. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Great stay, smell of cigarettes could be addressed
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Argosy Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5-Star Review! We are glad that you had a great stay. We are continually monitoring and working to enhance our guests experience and appreciate the feedback about the cigarette smoke during your stay. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Argosy Management