Ratings based on 845 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

old but done up. NOISY room

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: sound proofing in the rooms (1302) breakfast.
Location: near the center of D1 so close to most things.
if you get room 1302...turn it down! It has a nice view but it comes with a lot of outside noise. Hard to sleep. Breakfast (western) very poor. surprised this is ranked as being 5 star.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

good hotel, great location

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: location
Location: shops, restaurant, harbour, opera house. walking distance to a few main attractions
Arrived at Hotel late at night, booking wasn't right. we had 3 people but the room was for 2. The staff never apologised but keep saying we can add another bed. We asked them to leave it as we were too tired. we asked for 1 king and 1 single but we had 2 single/double. Buffet breakfast was very good. lots of choices. location is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Beautiful hotel in great location.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Historic yet modern facilities, location, breakfast buffet, excellent service
Location: Perfect sightseeing location.
Very elegant hotel near the major tourist attractions in Ho Chi Minh City. Large rooms, comfortable beds and fantastic service. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Great hotel!

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Big rooms. Very clean. Plenty of choice at breakfast. Check-in staff were very helpful. Hotel is in a great position. Can walk to everything around HCM. Pool is really cute and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Hotel close to everything

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Great stay, quiet, clean, fantastic breakfasts and close to shops, markets, restaurants and massages. Overall excellent stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

Lovely central location, excellent service

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The Grand is a lovely hotel still retaining some period charm. It has a great selection at breakfast and the staff are eager to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly Staff, close to town

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Great rooms with very friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Most attractions and places of interest were within walking distance
The hotel and amenities were fantastic. We had a great time exploring the nearby attractions and relaxing in the comfortable rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Nice hotel in great district

Posted Aug 22, 2017
We enjoyed our stay nice hotel in excellent location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Always my choice of hotel in Ho Chi Minh City.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Room by the pool. Buffet breakfast. Staff efforts.
Cons: Sound insulation. When you have a room facing the pool, it is very tranquil. If facing the street, then be prepared for bad Karaoke until around 10pm.
Location: Location of the hotel in Dong Khoi street is good for shopping, drinking and dining and used to be convenient for the hydrofoil ferry to Vung Tau.
Since 2003, I always try to stay at the Grand when passing through Saigon. I lived in Vietnam for 6 years, married a Vietnamese lady, and we go back every year or two to visit family and friends in Vung Tau ( a city ( along with Dalat and Nha Trang ) which you MUST visit! ) We used the Grand at the beginning and end of our trip to Vietnam this year. Don't risk traveling by road between Vung Tau and Saigon in the dark! The breakfast buffet is the highlight of our stay. I usually start with a bowl of Pho, followed up by a freshly prepared omelette with multiple accoutrements and end with a bowl of cereal and some fruit. I don't need to eat again until a late dinner. Rooms are good and I prefer the old wing around the swimming pool, where we can have a bedroom and sitting room for the price of a mediocre motel in Southern California. If you book with Expedia around 3 months in advance, as we did this time, you can get a great deal on the room rate. Vietnamese hotel prices have leapt up in recent years, but are still very reasonable by US and European standards. I've stayed at several other hotels in Saigon over the years ( both cheap and expensive ( the Caravelle for example ), but still think the Grand is the best choice overall.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fullerton, ca

Extra pay

Posted Aug 17, 2017
I have to pay extra $20 for my wife to stay with me.