Ratings based on 2,570 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: I like the classy atmosphere while preserving the historical feel.
Location: In the heart of Riverside, there are many shops and restaurants within walking distance.
Love this hotel. I have many fond memories of times here in the 70's. So glad to see how vibrant the hotel has become. Great bars and restaurants, and unique atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Orange, Ca

Excellent Staff

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Atmosphere was amazing. The chapel enabled me to take many beautiful pictures. As we visited in late October the lights were being put up..beautiful
Cons: Check out time was 12:00 but would be nicer to have check out at 1:00 so we could have enjoyed the pool.
Staff was amazing, friendly and always accommodating. Dining in the hotel was very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA, California

Beautiful hotel, unprofessional staff.

Posted Oct 23, 2017
The hotel is absolutely gorgeous but unfortunately the staff needs work. I had a few instances where I just felt like I was a guest at a Motel 6 instead of a guest at a reslet and spa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel friendly staff and great food.

Posted Oct 22, 2017
We had a great stay would recommend to anyone very romantic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

Classic Elegance

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: We generally think of hotels as just a place to sleep and shower as we travel. The Mission Inn is a destination all of it's own.
Cons: It took 30 minutes for room service to deliver ice on night 1. Service was much better for the remainder of our stay.
Location: We never left the hotel.
We booked a two day stay at the Mission Inn to celebrate our 4th anniversary and were surprised that the only rooms available on the days that we wanted were suites. Well, that only made our stay perfect when the hotel upgraded us to the Presidential Suite. If you ever have the opportunity to book the Presidential Suite, we highly recommend it for all of it's old world elegance. At least, go for one of the "Authors Row" suites. Riverside has a wonderful selection of things to do and see but we chose to stay in the hotel and enjoy it's restaurants, lounging areas and, what ever you do, don't miss the docent guided tour. Be sure to have dinner at Duane's. You will learn so much about the hotel and the visionary Frank Miller that built it. The Inn was on the verge of being torn down by the city when Duane and Kelly Roberts bought and restored her. The Inn was in terrible shape when Duane and Kelly bought it and the restoration cost $50 million.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Elegant living history

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Embodied the cultural history and aspirations of its place.
Cons: Time waiting for car delivery by valets.
Location: Surrounded by museums, coffee shop/ bakeries, close to Main Street pedestrian mall and convenient to city connecting freeway to anywhere else.
The Riverside Mission Inn represents the living myth that made Midwesterners move West - free oranges at check-in, Mexican music in the front patio open air cafe under belled arches, classical music in the inner patio, artwork in the halls, happy people throughout. Abundant flowers, super comfortable rooms, an immersion in Spanish Colonial Revival, heart of the Inland Empire.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Murrieta, Cal

Magnificent hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2017
This hotel is indeed grand; it’s huge, wonderfully decorated, old world charm, with spacious, clean, well maintained, and decorated rooms. It was a joy just wandering around. Every floor has wonderful views, surprising cubbyholes, and secluded patios. Also, there’s a wedding chapel, a must see.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Beautiful Setting

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Central location and restaurant options
Cons: More amenities in the room like a small refrigerator and better soudproofing
Location: Shopping, cafes, museum store, library, spa
The overall grounds are lovely. Plan on staying at least 2 days to soak up the ambiance as there is a full-service spa and pool onsite, several restaurants, shopping close by, and an optional tour of the Mission Inn conducted by the Mission Inn museum. The room was average with an odd configuration for a double bed. The TV was not easy to see from one of the beds. In addition, it was a little noisy as my room was overhead of the main courtyard leading to the main entrance, so soundproofing not great. I would, however, recommend a visit as i will be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasantly Surprised

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Rooms was very nice, and clean. Restaurants in Hotel was amazing!
We were going to the Fox Theater for a show which is located less then a block away and decided to reserve a room at the Mission Inn Hotel. Never stayed at this hotel before, and was not expecting a whole lot since I did not think Riverside had any nice hotels, but we were pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel was, and how amazing the restaurants were in the hotel. This has to be the nicest hotel in all of Riverside, and if you plan on visiting the area, this hotel is the place you want to stay at without any doubt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel. Train during the night was loud.

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Beautiful hotel inside and out.
Cons: Quiet down the trains.
The hotel is beautiful. Bring ear plugs. It's kind of close to a train station I came to find out. Through the night the trains would blow their whistles. Otherwise everything was amazing.