Ratings based on 2,042 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from d

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Lovely hotel, very comfortable, beautiful pool. Only issue was people above us were very loud, minimal sound proofing in ceiling.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Exquisite Hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Friendliness and efficiency of the staff, the grounds, the ambiance, the historical interest, the cleanliness, and the food.
Cons: I don't see how anything could have been any better. I would think the challenge would be to maintain the quality of the stay.
Location: An interesting pedestrian mall was next door. As we were only there for only one night, we did not have an opportunity to do much exploring.
Room was beautiful and comfortable and the grounds are breathtaking. The historical aspects of this hotel also make it extremely interesting. But out of all, my wife and I were more impressed with the quality of their dining establishments and the wait staff. The bread pudding was unbelievable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Hidden Gem

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Truly unique experience.
Cons: Complimentary wifi for guests is not offered. I was surprised at the $9.95 a day charge as most hotels provide this now free to guests.
This is an absolutely beautiful hotel! We only stayed for one night but had such a great time exploring the hotel. There are small staircases that take you to the top of the hotel, the Mission Inn Restaurant courtyard is gorgeous, kids enjoy the talking birds that greet you upon your arrival, and the relaxing pool takes you back in time. The minute you enter the hotel you feel as though you have traveled far away rather than just a quick trip to Riverside. We were able to get a great rate with Expedia and would highly recommend staying. Looking forward to visiting during Christmas as I hear the Festival Lights are something you don't want to miss.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Short stay

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Stayed one night with colleagues for conference. Convenient location with restaurants. Did not get to explore the area. Ate at the Mexican restaurant below. Had the fish taco. It was ok but the chips were really good. Friendly and helpful staff. Very pretty historic building.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Comfortable and NICE

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Historic Value
Cons: They are good the way they are :)
Location: Plenty to do and everything you would need is close by
The staff was excellent the rooms were very clean and old school not like your modern day hotels but that's not bad it was very "historic" and comfortable... Great Close by RELAXING SPA treatments and very good Food. Worth every penny to stay and enjoy it :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El Centro, CA

Beautiful hotel! Absolutely loved it!

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: The room was comfortable, the grounds were beautiful, the hotel restaurants were great!
Cons: Can't think of anything that needs improvement.
Location: Very close to the Convention Center and lots of restaurants. There is a really great Farmer's Market on Saturday!
I absolutely loved this hotel! The grounds are beautiful, the room is very comfy and was very clean, the pool area was very nice, and all of the historical information was just the cherry on top. We stayed here for one night on my birthday. Check in was very easy, room was easy to find, and my husband and I were very happy with the whole experience. We ate dinner at the Mission Inn Restaurant and sat outside in the patio area. It really is breathtaking! We also ate breakfast at the Mission Inn Restaurant the next morning and really enjoyed it. We took advantage of the pool and Jacuzzi and spent a little bit of time in the Presidential Lounge. I have heard that this hotel is spectacular at Christmas time so I am hoping to make a return trip to see the decorations. I cannot say enough good things about the Mission Inn!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2016
I recomended this hotel 100% I will back soon with friends and family
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2016
The hotel was beautiful, very historic with so much detail. Duane's restaurant was delicious and my fiance loved the spa. Would definitely stay there again or recommend to a friend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa ana, california

Pretended I was in Spain!

Posted Jul 14, 2016
The Mission Inn is absolutely breathtaking. I posted pictures and completely fooled my friends for being in Spain! The staff was super friendly and striked short and sweet conversations with us. Our room was on the third floor and it gave an amazing view of the pool. The room was very spacious, had a couch, surprisingly no fridge or microwave but it had pretty much everything else we needed. The back window also opened up to a view of downtown riverside. My friend and I sat on the edge of the window which had a flat surface and we drank coffee and talked in the morning. It was an amazing feeling. There were also birds (Josephine and Napoleon) who greeted us while we went in and out of the lobby! We spent hours exploring the hotel and we wish we had more time. Every floor of the hotel had something special to discover. Overall, our stay was well worth the money and I will definitely go back again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Relaxed in a historical atmosphere

Posted Jul 13, 2016
I've stayed at the Mission inn several times, both during the Christmas holidays and in the summer after visits to the Riverside National Cemetery in respect and love to my deceased husband. The hotel was always warm and welcoming, giving me a large, comfortable room, enjoying all of the history around the hotel, and excellent food in all of the restaurants.