Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Super hotel, spectacular, peaceful coastal locatio

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: The relaxing yet luxurious ambience, superb spa and delicious breakfasts and dinners. Delightful extra touches - complimentary tea/cocktail snacks!
Cons: The pool side and beach club bars were nice but pricey. A pebble beach/huge boulders going out to sea make swimming risky for all but the brave.
Location: Located between Bordighera and Ospedaletti- so you definitely need a car! San Remo - fabulous old school resort nearby!
We very much enjoyed our relaxing stay. The hotel was an unusual mix of fine antique furnishings and art within a sixties building in very pretty gardens which all overlook the sea. The view from our room, which had a spacious sea-view balcony was terrific. We were glad we took a travel kettle - the Brits like their tea - but there was a well stocked mini bar. The staff were all really helpful and professional, especially at the reception desk - where it was never too much trouble to advise on the many local beauty spots and restaurants. Breakfast was amazing, taken around the pool, with a wonderful selection of foods, and a short-order chef making omelettes, pancakes and waffles to order! We hired a car, so enjoyed touring the area and so never needed to tackle the fairly long and uninteresting walk along the main coastal road into Bordighera.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Great hotel,out of town.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Beautiful hotel,if you do not speak Italian I would advise a phrase book as no one within a 5 mile radius seems to know any English yet strangely we found that quite nice. Not the cheapest hotel we've stayed at but when you arrive you'll realise that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Glasgow ,

A hidden oasis, classy, stylish and sea views.

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: The bed, the views, The food, the Spa, the staff, the quality of fittings, parking.
Cons: Tea and coffee making facilities in the room, and a faster internet connection are my only 2 small observations.
Location: The beauty of this Hotel is that it sits on a headland making it feel exclusive, yet is only a 10min walk to town and its many restaurants and shops.
This hotel is a hidden gem of a hotel and we genuinely were sad to be leaving after our fabulous week there . From the road you'd never know it was there, and your arrival by car is via an access road which is actually underneath the hotel, so it's all a bit like driving into an underground car park and not that impressive really. However, persevere and you will arrive at a drop off/ small car parking area, with a very grand marble reception hall adorned with sculptures and oil paintings. The reception staff were warm and welcoming. Elizabetta answered the few questions we had and within minutes we were walking into our classically styled room with floor to ceiling glass sliding doors that lead to a decent sized terrace with amazing sea views. The queen sized bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The only thing that wasn't in our room was any tea or coffee making facilities, however a kettle was supplied by the ever helpful reception staff. The hotel has charming old school style and values, staff in smart uniforms who spoke many languages, catered for our every need without being in any way obtrusive. The restaurant is very nice indeed whether sitting inside or outside by the pool and the food was amazing. I had one of the best fillet steaks I've ever had, in a mushroom and truffle sauce which was recommended to me by the Restaurant Manager Antonio who was just great. There are quality loungers and rattan seating around the ample grounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

Good hotel let down by catering staff

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: Facilities, gardens
Cons: Training of the catering staff especially the waiting staff
Location: Near a pleasant town (Bordighera) but was slightly too far away (approx. 1.5 miles) to walk at night. The town has some excellent restaurants.
Our experience started off badly as the room allocated to Expedia had no view - ie it faced a wall. The hotel tried to charge us to upgrade but eventually offered us a very good room. The hotel facilities are excellent, the reception staff, cleaners, porters were excellent the gardens and loungers were very good......BUT breakfast was like Fawlty Towers! With very few exceptions the staff hadn't got a clue. Dirty dishes remained on your table until you, the guest, removed them. Staff stood around talking or disappeared in the back rather than attending to guests. Not once were we asked if everything was fine or if we needed anything. This all goes back to poor training on the part of the managers. They completely let the hotel down. Given that there are such good restaurants in the local town we didn't risk an evening meal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Springtime treat

Posted May 15, 2015
Cons: The lobby decoration is a little dated.
We had a wonderful experience. The hotel sits on a beautiful spot overlooking the Sea. The rooms had a balcony overlooking the sea. THe pool area and the grounds are well kept. Andre is very knowledgeable about the area. THe hotel is perfect for seeing France and Italy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2014
beautiful views, excellent service, very helpful staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

5 star facilities, 4 star service, 3 star food

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Beautiful grounds.Stunning views.Restaurant set around a very nice pool.Spa - first class.Public areas gorgeous.Lovely suite with 2 large balconies.
Cons: Food was satisfactory no more - certainly not up to the standard of a 5 star. Reception staff were poor
Location: Hotel's beach is gravel (as is most of the Italian Riveira's coast) Pretty village/town with some lovely nearby restaurants
Overall we had a very good time, although the food certainly let down the experience, we had far better meals in local cafes/restaurants/hotels. Not up to the standard of a 5star hotel and overpriced for the quality. The restaurant had two very good singers/pianists although most evenings it was virtually empty. The highlight was Antonio the Maitre'd who was exceptional. Hotel facilities and grounds were lovely, very nice pool, service on the whole was good although the Reception staff were very poor. We were actually asked to visit the local information bureau to have our question answered and much of the information we were given was incorrect. The italian riveira beaches are mostly gravel, as is the hotel's private beach, which was disappointing although we probably should have researched before we left. Overall, a lovely looking hotel with great facilities although we wouldn't visit the Italian Riveiera again due to a lack of sandy beaches, good but not great food and lack of buzz. The area is living on past glories imo. Cote d'azur is still streets ahead... We were actually asked to visit the town
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, England

Our stay at Grand Hotel Del Mare

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was good, especially, when I found out on the second day, that you could have a hot breakfast.
Cons: The receptionist (Christina) clearly does not enjoy her job or give you the feeling that you are made a welcome guest.
Location: You can walk along the pebble, stony beach, no sand. A walk into town will take you approximately half an hour.
Caveat Emptor (let the buyer be aware) room was booked was with a balcony, that you had to peer through the side to see any view, bad location. Absolutely nothing to do at hotel. Not a 5 star, as stated, more like a 3 star. Iv stayed in 5 star hotels previously and know what to expect. Receptionist needs training, especially in customer service. A customer was being served as we arrived, whilst we were waiting, the customer then left and the receptionist then stated to us "you've probably already heard me talking to the customer previously, so if you need to know anything else then let me know". It was clearly too much trouble for her to explain the benefits/amenities of the hotel that were included in our stay at the hotel. The internet connection, although free, is as slow as a snail. Balcony was not cleaned. No tea or coffee making facilities. Small bottle of water 4.5 Euro's, walk into the town is a good half an hour. If you want a hot breakfast, you have to ask, this is not made clear. Would not stay at this hotel again. We booked this hotel after reading other reviews, however, our experience was not a pleasant one. We felt that we had wasted our money on this hotel booking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Large hotel with little within walking distance

Posted Aug 5, 2014
What a pompous hotel. The staff are rude unless you look like you have money. The maître de deserves special recognition for rudeness. The guests looked bored. Perhaps it was the dull breakfast with little choice unless you paid extra that got things off to a bad start to the day. Perhaps it was because you could be anywhere as there is nothing close. All the men looked like they'd just had an argument and the women just remainde silent. Look out for the singer in the evening who has a restricted vocal range - or enjoy the pianist who repeats the same songs every evening. Our dinner was accompanied by a more expensive wine we didn't order. On checkout they wanted to charge for a beer we didn't drink. It was our honeymoon. They knew it and made no effort. In addition we asked them for written confirmation of our stay date and they refused saying that the manager was in a meeting and could not be contacted - for two days. They promised to email and at the time of writing still haven't sent us the requested information. On the plus side, good pool side attendants and one good breakfast waiter. Save your money unless you have more money than you need. Oh by the way, they don't have irons in the hotel but take a Kleenex. They charge 2 euros to iron a hankey or 12 for a polo shirt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carlos from Switzerland

Peaceful hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: The private beach was a plus after seeing how busy the beaches can get around there. Even though is a small gravel beach, as many in the area.
Cons: the service at the restaurant could be faster. there were not many people and the service was quite slow.
We stayed only one night in our way back home and had a wonderful, relaxing and restauring night. People at the front desk was very nice and we were up-graded to a suite: great room, very nice mattres, the bathroom was top. Really a great place.