Ratings based on 428 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dom. Rep

looks better on the outside

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: The concierge was nice but over worked. He was the only one there and had several people waiting to be checked in plus helping with parking, luggage
Cons: Needs an upgrade
It was ok, nothing special and it definitely needs some upgrading.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by hotel management, Hotel Management
Thabnk you for your comment. It will help. Upgrading is being done. Regards!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

Grand Old Hotel Sanremo

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: The great staff and the location next to our friend's residence.
Cons: The doors locks could be upgraded. Locks were flimsy.
Location: It was convient to the beach and the bicycle path along the the coast. It is a bit of a walk to the city center. Many restraunts nearby.
The hotel is in what must be a historic building with a very grand facade. The view from our balcony out over the Mediterranean was great. The hotel's rooms were just OK. There is only so much that can be done within the framework of an old building. The bathroom in our room had been remodeled sometime in the past and was just OK. As is fairly typical with older European hotels the rooms were small. My wife thought the mattress was lumpy. The TV was small but we didn't watch it because none of the channels we looked at were English language channels. The lobby and dinning rooms were very elegant. The staff was always very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. I had a bicycle and the had no issues with storing it away securely when I came back from my rides.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by hotel management, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback. it will help. We hope to see you again. Best regards!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lodon

Business trip one night

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Cons: See above.
Historic old hotel set back from the road. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The air conditioning system blew cold air away from the bed which made it easy to sleep. The breakfast was excellent. Pity that on arrival one has to climb a number of stairs and that the revolving door is so small that one has to hug a large suitcase to get into the hotel. Such a simple thing which I hope they will correct before my next stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
dear Guest, thank you for having stayed with us. We will take into consideration all the points mentionned. Kindest Regards!
4 out of 5
by Malcolm from Los Gatos

Belle Epoque Hotel in San Remo

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
Traditional hotel with classic design; very friendly and accommodating reception; European buffet breakfast with many choices; room furnishings could be updated but was very clean
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
Awful. The hotel was obviously grand in its hey day, but lack of expenditure has ensured that this is not now the case. Bedroom was huge and clean but sparse. Car parking could be very difficult if hotel full. The food produced in the restaurant was awful. A lesson needs to be learned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

2 Days in San Remo

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Good location. Pleasant, clean. Helpful staff Great breakfast.
Cons: An update to the room to restore the "Grand" to the hotel.
Location: Easy walking distance to the city centre with its numerous shops, restaurants and cafes, the casino and beaches.
Pleasant hotel in a lovely spot on the Italian Riveria. Hotel was somewhat dated, but excellent value regardless. Staff was pleasant and helpful throughout our 2 day visit. Hotel is located midway up a hill of the main road. Lovely view, but was a hike up the hill from the road. Even from the parking area, lots of steps up into the hotel. Off season, so hotel staff other than the front desk, for example a doorman to help with the suitcases, was not as present as one would expect. Excellent breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Stephen from Worthing

A very comfortable stay!

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
Just a short stay of three nights in San Remo in order to check out the casino, and this hotel is just a few minutes walk from it and the city centre. The staff are generally friendly at the hotel, and the buffet breakfast (included) is excellent. It is fair to say that it is in need of a little decoration, but don't let this put you off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

An amazing find. Deserves the high ratings.

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Can't think of anything that wouldn't drive the price up. Then, I wouldn't be able to afford to stay here again.
Location: Sanremon is still a very British summer destination to the Italian Riviera. It's small and built up with apartments and is less expensive than France.
Amazing hotel from the Grand Tour days, keeping much of that ambiance of luxury at an affordable price: the spa, the marble, the uniforms, bell rings, restaurant, period furniture, old keys, reception, view, marble stairs entry and lobby; yet, modern in comfort. I don't know how much more they could update without losing the lovely antique patina that permeates the entire hotel. (The marble/ceramic/tile bathroom is modernized leaving most of the original. Very comfortable modern beds.) Definitely tweaked my imagination and was was a highlight of the trip.