Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Lisa from Salt Lake City, UT

Boutique style villa

Posted Jul 19, 2015 on Hotels
I was told by a friend who vacations to Italy yearly that seeing Venice and staying in Venice is not what she recommended. I looked around for areas close by and located Mira, Italy. It is within 20 minutes to either a bus or ferry to Venice. Villa Alberti Hotel was a beautiful mansion-type hotel with a unique boutique atmosphere. The rooms were very clean and roomy and the air conditioning was a great benefit as we were visiting in July during a heat wave. The staff were very accommodating and the dinner we had in the dining area was superb. This was a much better option than carrying luggage around Venice trying to get from hotel to bus, taxi or ferry - we saw this while touring around Venice. Villa Alberti Hotel was quiet, beautiful, clean in Mira, Italy and I would highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, Canada

Good accomodations

Posted Sep 9, 2009
It was a great location for the traveling we wanted to do in the area. There are a couple of staff who speak English, but there in the mornings only. Internet was free, which was terrific. Breakfast was continental with some cold cuts. Wine on the patio was terrific, we had this three nights out of five. Hotel was very clean, lots of hot water, no complaints at all. Not a good place to plan to walk to with luggage, we had a car, free parking. We had a shower, bidet, no tub.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, Ca

Beautiful garden, room like prison

Posted Aug 6, 2009
This room was so spare I felt as if I was in prison. The lobby had beautiful oriental rugs. Imagine my surprise when we went to the room to see only linoleum and no rugs at all. The room was devoid of decoration completely. Strangely enough, the bathroom was brand new, ultra modern and luxurious. But I don't live in a bathroom. Breakfast was fine, and the garden in book is gorgeous. They need to buy rugs for all the rooms!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Davis, CA

Darling Italian Villa

Posted Oct 17, 2007
The six of us in our group were completely smitten with the Villa Alberti. Wonderful decor, spacious rooms, gorgeous grounds, and a great continental breakfast. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Granby, CT

Lovely Hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2007
Villa Alberti was a beautiful, comfortable hotel in a town located about 40 minutes (by bus) outside of Venice. The staff was incredibly helpful, the breakfast was delicious, the room and view were beautiful, the hotel was very well maintained. We stayed there for three nights in October 2007. Our only problem was finding it. Villa Alberti is close to, but not on, a main road. It is a brisk 15 minute walk to the bus station. We arrived in Venice by train, checked our baggage for the remainder of the day, and walked around Venice. We retrieved our luggage to find we had to lug it across three bridges to reach the bus station. Buses left frequently, but we had no directions to go by. We left the bus about 2 miles too soon and had to carry it all the way to Mira along busy roads with no streetlights and no shoulder. Finally asked a local man for help who spoke no english. He ended up calling the hotel and getting directions. We arrived at 11:30 at night. Staff was very sympathetic to our journey. So the hotel was fabulous, but took a bit to locate. Not really hard to find once you know where it is. MIra also appeared to be a pleasant town and if we had more time we would have spent a day walking around. Chose this hotel so we would not be in the center of Venice, for noise and smell. Very affordable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

October 2007 Visit

Posted Oct 10, 2007
We had a very enjoyable trip to Venice and the hotel stay added to our enjoyment. The service was excellent! The room was spacious, including a very large bathroom with a powerful shower. The decor was basic but comfortable. A TV was provided in the room with cable service - including several English speaking channels which was lucky since our Italian was certainly not up to scratch. The room was clean but a few cobwebs remained - but this could be expected considering the the hotel forms part of an acre of gardens. The staff were all friendly especially the owners! A few of them spoke good English but some did not speak any. I suggest you master a couple of basic Italian phrases and key words, prior to your trip. The breakfast was simple but certainly enough to start your day with. The evening meal was tasty and the hotel offering a varied Italian based menu. A very good aspect of the hotel was the bar! Open until 1am with someone always on hand to cater to our needs whether we wanted a hot drink, alcoholic drink or another dessert! Overall, a very good hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

quiet hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2007
set in a lovely garden in countryside but only a short drive to Dolo or Mira for dining; also, not too far from Venice by car; the breakfast was adequate and the room was comfortable, well decorated, the bathroom was spacious, with two windows opening to a quiet courtyard/garden. Price was very reasonable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Aug 26, 2007
Our family stayed at the Villa Alberti for 2 nights while we toured Italy. It was our favourite hotel, with wonderful service and a very quaint atmosphere. The town of Mira was lovelt, we ate at a pizzeria nearby. We had rented a car, and the drive from Mira to Venice was quick and easy, about a 20 minute drive. We would definitely stay there again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not impressed

Posted Jul 9, 2007
This hotel seemed generally in need of more of everything! More staff (one spoke English), more breakfast/dinner options, as it is a good distance away from anything, rooms need to be better cleaned and furnished as well. Faulty plumbing rendered our showers useless for a night and we were charged for food that we hadn't consumed from the 'minibar'.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not impressed!

Posted Jun 4, 2007
The hotel was very isolated from the key sights and restaurants, which was a problem as you could only have a hotel dinner with a reservation before 8pm. Our room location was changed without our knowlege upon our arrival.Soap was not provided for the showers. No hot water in showers on the last two nights. Bottles in mini bars needed openers - none were provided and the room was filled with insects of different species!