Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Five star look One star service

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed three nights in this hotel. The room was clean and the SPA of the hotel is great. However the service was way below expectation. We stayed in the property in November, so the number of guests was probably less then the number of staff, unfortunately that did not stop the restaurant personnel to disappear all the time. During breakfast you either had to stand up and walk around to find someone to get a coffee, or squeeze everything into one order because the guy never came back to ask if you need anything else. Also the variety of the food was pretty limited and you have to explicitly ask them refill the empty trays. For the half board dinner (tried once and cancelled afterwards) you can choose from the menu of the hotel restaurant. The starters are ok (but probably all from frozen ingredients), for the main, one meal was overcooked the other was not cooked and most annoyingly you have to wait 5+ minutes for a waiter to turn up and you can send back your food. In summary, this hotel is extremely overpriced for what they offer and you probably get the same service in a B&B and the fact that they have fancy looking rooms and a good SPA just does not offset that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel on the Italian Riviera own beach,

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Staff, facilities, food
Very welcoming Staff from Reception through to the rooms a great stay - we will be back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Could be so much better

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Location. Decor, Terrace.Beach.
Cons: Service at reception and restaurants in particular. Room service. Breakfast. The bathroom.
Location: Quiet spot beside the main shopping streets and steps away from the beach. Reasonable shopping experience close by. Good walks along the promenade.
The location is the best in Alassio- right on a private beach and near shops and restaurants. The decor is simple but charming however the rooms are small . The main problem is the service which, with few exception, we found lacklustre bordering on unhelpful. The noise from the kids club ( loud music and shouting) right beside the bar ( with a performing guitarist) is a cacophany in the evening . Room service was also a problem and the breakfast was poor eg juice from concentrate and lack of variety. We booked 5 stars and felt we received closer to 3 star .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gladgow

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Nice hotel, great location. Breakfast service a bit fawlty towers
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect stay

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely, with a relaxing spa, beach front access and a shirt walk to the old town and restaurants.
5 out of 5
by Alexander from Hartford, CT, USA

Best experience in Alassio

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Could not think of a better place to stay at Alassio
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Smart hotel, excellent beachside location

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Excellent location. Quiet rooms. Very comfortable rooms. Comfortable lounge area. Lovely breakfast conservatory/terrace.
Cons: See points 1 to 3 above!
Location: The location is central to Alassio - 6/7 minutes from the railway station, easy walking to the pier, shops and a multitude of restaurants.
It is well worth visiting this hotel. Very comfortable rooms, lovely outdoor terrace. It is right on the beach. The thalassotherapy spa is very comfortable and enjoyable, although can be very busy. The room was a hill view room, good size, simple but stylish furnishings. On the negative side: 1) information given by the reception regarding train times to Ventimiglia and Nice was incorrect. I found information re train times myself but was told adamantly my information was outdated and wrong and theirs was correct. We had to ask for ourselves at Alassio station and found out all our own train intimation WAS correct. 2) information from spa staff and reception staff was contradictory. We were told by reception at check in we could change in the spa or come down from room ready changed. The first time we changed in the spa with lockers no problem. The second time we were told as hotel guests we must change in our room and could not have a locker and were sent back to our room from the spa - this is not how we expect to be treated in a 5 star hotel. ALL STAFF SHOULD BE AWARE OF WHAT THE POLICY IS TO SAVE CONFUSION/EMBARRASSMENT. 3) half way through our stay there were no bananas at breakfast, I asked for one and after waiting for sometime was presented with the last banana in the hotel! The same occurred with apples on our last morning, again not what you expect from a 5 star hotel. In short well worth a visit, 5 star facilities with 4 star service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2015
Great location, walking distance to quality shops and restaurants and real sand on the beach. The rooms with a terrace are best.
5 out of 5
by Afnan from Jeddah

A place to return to

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
It was a great weekend, the hotel was as expected clean, great location and most importantly the level of service was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Very central and everything you expect from a 5*

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Very comfortable,We got a lovely sea view room.
Cons: Bar prices were a bit expensive.
Location: Town has lots of super shops and transport by train or busto nearby towns and villages very convenient.
Stayed for 1week and enjoyed every moment. Fantastic beach and Spa