Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Heavenly staff and property

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Genuinely warm hospitality and beauty of location and property and drinks and views. Everything. Just everything.
Cons: Only thing we found a little bothersome was morning noise of truck outside our window.
Location: Beautiful location right on the beach.
Wowed by the level of hospitality of this property. Welcomed by a lovely woman by the name of Veronica I believe. After a stressful stay in Holbox at a horrible property. (see my review for Villas HM Palapas del Mar in Holbox), this was like a taste of pure heaven. Veronica had our welcome drinks delivered to our room by a kind staff member. Delicious they were and made to order. My husband had a caipirinha, our son a gingerale and me a delicious mojito. Our room was beautiful and spacious. The view from the restaurant amazing. The drinks were delicious! AND you don't have to worry about tipping as they want you to relax and not worry about a thing! Tips are included in your price! Anything I needed or any requests were always met with, "of course!" The housecleaner was so sweet and helped me out in a moment of need. The gentlemen at the restaurant gave such classy service with such warmth. This level of hospitality is truly expert and I know it comes from vigorous training by management. We also enjoyed our private cabanas on the beach and drinks delivered to us whenever we wished. They also provide a complimentary drink at 12pm each day! We loved it here. The waters are not calm like Holbox but the place and staff are beyond my expectations. Among properties I've had the luxury of staying at include Ritz Carlton, and their motto is "We are Ladies and Gentleman serving Ladies and Gentlemen." Al Cielo made me think of that. Oh and the young man who opens the gate was A+!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Pros: The staff was absolutely great!
Cons: A radio in the room would be nice.
Location: The hotel is secluded so not much around.
My experience at this hotel was good. The room was clean and tidy. The staff was absolutely wonderful. They were extremely accommodating and very friendly. The hotel itself was nice with extremely close access to the beach (it's basically the front yard). It was quiet and nicely secluded. I must note there are no TV's in the rooms, which is fine, however a radio would have been nice, especially since there's also no WiFi access in the rooms. If you need to use any device that requires WiFi you must go to the restaurant to do so. If you're there for romance only, this is the perfect place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Awesome gem by a quiet beach

Posted Sep 2, 2015
The minute we got to El Cielo we felt incredibly welcomed. Our room was out of this world...bungalow by the sea with hammmocks galore. That's all I would really need. But the staff was over the top excellent to make sure we had everything just perfect. The drinks the food were excellent. Housekeeping excellent. I didn't realize the treat I was in for. Relaxation at its finest. I don't even want to mention the seaweed because it wasn't a problem at all. The beach was beautiful. We had the best time and couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Go...go now!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mexican Paradise

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Location & atmosphere.
Cons: Mattresses and A/C throughout the villas.
Location: We highly recommend to visit Laguna Miyul.
If you are looking for a quite, clean, small, casual and chic place to stay by the Mexican Caribbean, this is the place. It is far enough from 'American-Style' Cancun or busy PlayaCar. We even got to see several sea turtles coming ashore to lay their eggs! We brought our own champagne and the hotel did not charge corkage. Apart from the location, the best of this hotel is the staff! The only down side was the hard beds and not A/C in the living room of our villa. We didn't mind, though! Everything else made up for these 2 inconveniences!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LES

Paradise

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Great place on the beach with no large crowds. Perfect for family or a romantic getaway. Breakfast was included and was amazing. Lunch and dinner are good however a little pricey. Don't miss the 2/1 happy hour from 4-6 where you can drink frozen margaritas on the beach. I would go back tomorrow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Supe cute hotel, I would definitely recommend it

Posted Jun 20, 2014
The localization is perfect, rooms are absolutely wonderful, they all have a little pool where you can soak your body when it's hot and a nice hammock next to it. Everything is very private and the food is great .
2 out of 5
by Iain from New Zealand

Failed to live up to first impressions

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Cons: Snorkel gear, kayaks, books, music could all be made available for a better experience. An improved electric supply and and no sewage smells.
Sewage smell present throughout our stay. Electricity very variable with frequent dimming of lights. Friendly welcome raising expectations. Indication that complimentary tapas and cocktails would be served to our chosen plapa, which would be ours for the duration of our stay. Nothing complimentary was delivered and, when we were challenged by another guest as to our right to a particular plapa, management failed to uphold the "rules" because the other party was with a group that had booked 5 rooms. Beach in front of resort clean and tidy but large part of rest of beach littered with mainly plastic rubbish. Also rubbish in sea making swimming uncomfortable. Restaurant food mostly very good but atmosphere lacking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2014
Hello. All Al Cielo Staff would like to thank you for your stay with us, and we are trying to improve our service every day. It is the first time we heard that the beach around is dirty, so we are doing an effort with all the hotels in the area to make it cleaner. The sewage smell is already taken care off, since the moment you told us this we arranged with a company to come and take care of it. Complimentary tapas and drinks are served at least once a day to our guests at the beach, we are really sorry that you missed that. Starting on the 1st of march, we are going to have a thematic night every day for our guests, like mexican dinner, caribbean party, etc. We are really sorry that we could not live to your expectations, hoping that you give us another chance in the future. Andrew Olavarrieta. Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anna from Berkeley

Al Cielo has a lot of sky

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Pros: I liked the location on a beautiful, not crowded beach with a lot of pelicans to watch.
Cons: The structures need to be better maintained and I would have liked TV in my room.
Location: You would need a car to get to any attraction except for one small local restaurant about one mile walk down the beach.
The location and proximity to snorkling off shore is very good. The restaurant is very good, although I was disappointed in the lack of a swimming pool or TV. The buildings are wood and appear to have taken a beating from the weather and hurricanes. Signage from the road to the hotel was very inadequate and not lit at night. However, the staff was very friendly and eager to please.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect and quiet

Posted Jan 26, 2014
I had the best time in Al Cielo. I've to Tulum before and liked it but nothing compare to this trip in Xpu-Ha and our stay un Al Cielo. We will definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simply Beautiful

Posted Jan 17, 2014
My wife and I ate at the Al Cielo restaurant at sunset 4 years ago, and swore the next time we came to the Riviera Maya, we would stay here instead of the city. We definitely made the right decision. A bit more rustic than your mega-resort, not pre-packaged, just laid back and beautiful.