Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

They are very sketchy...

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: clean and nice
The hotel is beautiful and clean, the staff is very nice HOWEVER- they will charge your card with random things. They told me they had to swipe my card to "hold" it, they assured me my card would not be charged. Not only did they charge my card $1,500 for nothing but they won't reverse the charge. I had to get my credit card company involved- all the while- aldea thai is telling me they reversed the charge. They are very sketchy. They give you plastic bracelets to wear while you stay there and they don't tell you that they need to cut them off personally or they'll charge you. 2 of my friends left for the airport and surprise! $30 is on my credit card for something they never tell you about. and let me be honest, it's a little plastic bracelet you get when you're 21 and allowed to drink at a bar. its in a garbage can at the airport but it cost me $30. unbelievable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TEXAS

December inPlaya Del Carmen

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Third time we have stayed at Aldea Thai. It has the best value for your money. Location is excellent as the Kool Beach Club is next door. The pool is wonderful to hang out at during the day at Aldea Thai. Comfortable bed and everything you would want in a good relaxed vacation rental.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scottsdale, AZ

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Everything was great except the mattress was way too firm for my liking
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Conveniently located within a block of the beach and walking distance to shopping/dining/nightlife. Room was clean and everything was in working order. The staff was friendly and the bellhop(s) provided nice tips on the best eateries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach. Very friendly staff

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: Nice clean room and hotel. Courteous staff. Close proximity to the beach and entertainment.
Cons: Hotel sign was not easy to see at night.
Stayed at Aldea Thai during spring break with the family. Nice clean hotel and spacious 2 bedroom suite. Lots of space. Very close to the beach and lots of bars/restaurants nearby. 5th avenue is 3-4 minutes walking from the hotel. Staff are very friendly, especially Keshi. Keshi went above and beyond to make sure our stay was enjoyable. He told us where to dine and gave us excellent information regarding the places that we wanted to visit in Playa Del Carmen. Thanks Keshi, keep up the good work.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

POOR Customer Service

Posted Apr 2, 2016
Pros: Closed to the beach (one block away) and 2 to 3 blocks away to 5th Ave (where the shops are located).
Cons: They need to learn and experience what really a good customer service is. (I told them I will give them a bad review and they don't care).
Location: You can walk to the beach and 5th Ave where the shops and restaurants are.
This hotel is nice, but it didn't earn our trust. Good customer service is about people and this hotel failed us. They are good talkers, but missing the importance of a good customer service. We lost our internet service for a day and half and they're not willing to provide a credit or SIM card (worth 150 Mxn Peso) so that we can get an internet connection. Comparing to what I paid for, the cost of the SIM card is nothing. (I was testing them and I failed and so I end up buying it myself). We also have broken microwave which took them close to 4 hours to replaced (the promise was 15 minutes). Our water did not have much pressure when taking a shower. We also asked for missing hand and 2 face towels on our second night and no one came to hand our towels. We have bad experiences and we will not be a repeat customers in this condotel. If you plan to go to sit down to one of the beach chairs own by Mamitas Beach (this is one block away to the right from Aldea Thai Condotel main entrance), be sure you get "half price or 50% off" coupon from Aldea Thai Condotel's Lounge. (They do not provide unless you ask them). Again, this is another sign of a poor customer service. Without the coupon it is 100 Mxn Peso per day fee (as of March 2016). We have so many bad experiences and we will definitely NOT be coming back to this place. We were overall disappointed as I spend my time calling and reporting issues and so the reason for my 1 star review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guilderland, NY

Obnoxiously crowded beach, loud, party atmosphere

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Pros: Nothing worth writing about
Cons: Entire new management and beefed up security to stop non-stop craziness
Found through Expedia/TripAdvisor. Room we got was nice, with kitchen, but no view at all. Large pool was uninspiring, but worse, hammering and sawing all day ruined it. Beach is obnoxiously loud and crowded. Not inviting at all. Worst was, all night long, non-stop yelling, screaming, singing with echos and no soundproofing made sleep impossible. Staff was unable or unwilling (or just gave up) on trying to stop as the noise continued endlessly (no exageration) from 11 pm to 7 am. Was told next day that the hotel had at least 30-35 bachelor parties there for long weekend. Lots of other smaller complaints (which, alone, would not have bothered me as I am slow to complain as I travel frequently and understand few hotel stays even approach being "perfect") but this was way over the top and my sense is that the hotel is known for its "party atmosphere" and may even encourage young partygoers as it has one of the oldest and most famous party beach areas in Playa del Carmen. So many other choices, this hotel should be avoided at all costs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from r

Convenient location

Posted Feb 27, 2016
The hotel is clean and spacious. Efficient check in and check out processes. Great location with restaurants very close.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Seemed like the entire place smelled of sewage.

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Cons: The check-in process was ridiculously long. I purchased cars in less time.
Location: It's very close to 5th avenue so local shops & restaurants are very close.
It didn't feel clean because the entire place smelled of raw sewage. I was glad we were only there for the night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA

A little more and it could have been 4 star rating

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Hotel was nice. Pool bar wasn't staffed. Hotel reception was not particularly pleasant (this doesn't include the VIP lounge). Grounds seemed a little unkept. The checklist for glasses, dishes, and other rules were a little off putting and not in line w 4-5 star hospitality. Balcony door didn't lock and fridge wasn't stocked as most other Playa hotels have.