Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close To Beach but did not Get Ocean Front

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Roof Top Pool
Cons: Needs Elevator to 3rd Floor
Location: Construction going on a lot of Dust in the area for now
Good Place but Far from Good Restaurants but close to the beach it was a nice Pool Area to hang out with bar.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

They are very sketchy...

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: clean and nice
The hotel is beautiful and clean, the staff is very nice HOWEVER- they will charge your card with random things. They told me they had to swipe my card to "hold" it, they assured me my card would not be charged. Not only did they charge my card $1,500 for nothing but they won't reverse the charge. I had to get my credit card company involved- all the while- aldea thai is telling me they reversed the charge. They are very sketchy. They give you plastic bracelets to wear while you stay there and they don't tell you that they need to cut them off personally or they'll charge you. 2 of my friends left for the airport and surprise! $30 is on my credit card for something they never tell you about. and let me be honest, it's a little plastic bracelet you get when you're 21 and allowed to drink at a bar. its in a garbage can at the airport but it cost me $30. unbelievable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TEXAS

December inPlaya Del Carmen

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Third time we have stayed at Aldea Thai. It has the best value for your money. Location is excellent as the Kool Beach Club is next door. The pool is wonderful to hang out at during the day at Aldea Thai. Comfortable bed and everything you would want in a good relaxed vacation rental.
2 out of 5
by Ramiro

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scottsdale, AZ

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Everything was great except the mattress was way too firm for my liking
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Conveniently located within a block of the beach and walking distance to shopping/dining/nightlife. Room was clean and everything was in working order. The staff was friendly and the bellhop(s) provided nice tips on the best eateries.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Orbitz
Bad coustomer service . Was asking for towels. Ever got it . The place need to be renovated.A/c was off one day for 5 hours and never dot any compensation for it . Wouldn't go there again .
3 out of 5
by Adrian from Phoenix

Not recommended.

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel did not have keys to the room for two days. Every time we wanted to get into our room we had to go find a maintenance person. If you have a guest they charge you $30 or $60 if they stay over night. The hotel does not have beach access, you would need to pay $45 extra if you want to use the beach.
3 out of 5
by John Cyrus from Santa Monica

Beware of over-charges

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
Clean, modern room but TWO GLARING flaws... Clearly the front desk wanted to give us a tour at check-in, IE, time-share, but quickly stopped when I shut them down. What really ticked me off though, are the stupid plastic bracelets they make you wear at check-in, like you're in a hospital or something. They said we HAD to wear them tpo get access to the hotel. THEN they charged us $15 bucks each for a "replacement" bracelet saying we did not have it on at check-out. We had just cut them off when we left our room for the airport. I don't like petty hotels that pad their bill with false charges. There are too many other choices than this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great hotel, Excellent location and great price!!

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: I loved the location, the cleanliness and the price.
Cons: The staff isn't as helpful as they should be. They turned the lights off on us while we were in the pool without advising they would.
Location: Everything is nearby so staying here was the best decision for Playa Del Carmen!
This hotel is very nice and in a perfect location. Do not think you can add anyone into your room because they do not accept any additional guests into the room nor facilities.