Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Amazing Staff & Baby Friendly

Posted Oct 1, 2016
As soon as we arrived at Azul Beach we were greeted with drinks and a fruit smoothie for my daughter. Thania from concierge was very informative, courteous, and helpful. We were able to chose a room scent from a variety of scents and were also able to chose from a variety of pillows to fit out comfort. We opted to upgrade for a swim up junior suit and we were very happy with our decision. When we arrived at our room, there were some item missing such as the coffee pot and room service menu but they were quickly brought to the room. All the baby amenities ( crib, changing table, bath tub, bath robe, monitor, bottle warmer, and bottle sanitizer) were also brought to our room quickly. I had some trouble with the AC but It was also addressed quickly, the remotes just needed to be changed out. Since we opted for the swim up junior suit, we were able to swim and access the swim up bar ( Gregorio at the bar was great!) while my daughter napped and we had the baby monitor handy. I can't say enough positive things about ALL the staff members, everyone was proffesional and polite, I am so grateful for the excellent service provided by all the staff members. I really wish I would've written down the names of all the waiters who assisted us, everyone went above and beyond to make sure we were well taken care of. All the restaurants were delicious and the margaritas were yummy! My daughter loved Azulitos kids club She was able to meet Sponge Bob, Patrick, and Boots which we all enjoyed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A must visit for families

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Beautiful hotel with a Kids Club but still maintains that exclusive feel. Staff goes out if their way to please you. All inclusive implies programming, but trust me, they customize things to please their guests. Wonderful food and wine. One of my best hotel experiences ever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga/Canada

Posted May 15, 2016
Pros: everything about food, location, hotel, people
Cons: not really
Location: location very good and everything just 20 to 40 min by Taxi
The Hotel was perfect and the food was excellent, close to the beach, 5 kind of restaurant, the Hotel staff is very friendly,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Great food, inconsistent service

Posted Jan 17, 2016
The food was great, the service was very inconsistent. Staff are generally very nice and friendly but often got orders wrong, forgot about requests or got us completely different items. This was a challenge given we were traveling with an infant. The front desk staff and concierge services were inconsistent and inflexible as well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philly, PA

Should Have Been Much Better

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Beautiful layout and scenery. The pools are great, especially the kiddie pool which is only 2 feet deep. Restaurants and their staff.
Cons: Management and front desk operations allow too many things to slip through the cracks.
Location: Secluded property so it would require a cab ride to visit any of other towns in the general area.
The front desk and management we dealt we were very poor. Every simple request required multiple phone calls, and they placed us in a room directly across from daily construction which lasted past 8pm on two occasions, even though we had an infant with us who needed to nap and go to bed early at night. When we asked a manager if we could change rooms, she declined and told us it would end at 5pm that day and there would be no more for the remainder of our trip. It lasted two more full days, and she conveniently had the next day off so we could not address it with her. Also, the check-in process was awful as they made us wait three hours in the hot and humid conditions for our room. However, the restaurants (and their staff) are excellent. I can't say enough about the staff at Blue, as they were extremely friendly and always went out of their way to put a smile on everyone's face. The food at all three dinner restaurants (as well as Chil for lunch) was very good, and service was mostly great throughout. Our room itself was very clean, and the pool areas are fantastic. Also, room service was very fast and was also delicious. It was a shame that the front desk dropped the ball on so many occasions because it really could have been an awesome trip, but it was unfortunately blemished by poor customer service on the front end.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from dallas

very upsacle

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: great to look at
Cons: staff shoudl not be looking for a tip
Location: nothing. very sleepy
The positives: Awesome lobby and checkin., resturants above average and 5 to choose from/ room service all hours/ beach is lovely and close/ very clean resort /close to cancun airport./ reasonable workout area Negatives: - staff always seems to be angling for a tip/ the cabana boy mafia controls all the ebacj spots and you have to play their tip game to get a spot/ clothing optional swingers beach is next resort down the beach/ no shuttles to airport or cars to rent to drive to nearby puerto morelos/ way too many kids and children over spring break. Not 1 16-18 year old boy for my daughter to socialize with./ expesive wi fi is not part of all inclusive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Azul on the Beach

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Where my room was located.
Cons: Maybe a few more varaities of places to eat.
Location: Lots of day trips that were close by that you could do. A little dissappointed not closer to a town of some kind.
Very positive experience. Could have not ask for a nicer facility with great amenities. Everyone was very nice and recommend for families for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandy from Indiana, USA

Great family vacation

Posted Nov 24, 2012
Pros: Staff, Rooms, Food
Location: Close to the Cancun airport. Convenient to transfer, but, far enough away to be isolated.
The hotel is outstanding. Exceptionally clean. All the restaurants had very high quality, gourmet restaurant level food. Staff was very friendly and always very accommodating. We wanted to watch the Thursday football games in the bar (with English commentary) and they went out of their way to arrange it. Beach was very nice. There was a kayak to take out and they give catamaran tours and arranged a snorkeling trip to the reef, which was not too far from the hotel. The food and beverages manager, Ernesto was omnipresent, always making sure that you were satisfied and making suggestions for food and even making things that were not on the menu. He is a great ambassador for the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TJ from New York, NY, USA

A PUERTO MORELOS PARADISE called AZUL BEACH HOTEL

Posted Oct 10, 2012
Pros: Oct.6-8: The Cuisine served at: the pool bar-restaurant, Wedding rehearsal dinner, wedding cocktail reception and the wedding dinner
Location: BEST DAY airport driver did not have directions to Puerto Morelos delaying our arrival by 3 hours; as he drove us to Azul Hotel in Playa del Carmen.
Our Oct.6-8, 2012 stay for the Paterson-Mosley destination wedding at The Azul Beach Hotel was wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Vlad from Jersey City, NJ

Great hotel to relax with family.

Posted Aug 29, 2012
Pros: Staff and quality of food - sensational
Cons: Beach could be better.
Location: Easy access to airport. Safe.
My family comrpised 2 adults and 2 kids, 6 and 3 years old. Staff was excellent as was the food. Rooms generous in size and bedding was fine - pillows a bit small - we had two queen beds. Bathroom is very spacious and awesome. Pools were great, though not as large as at the mega resorts but that comes with smaller and nicer hotels. My only negative is the beach - very little sand and lots of sea grass washing up, not sure if it's seasonal.