Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harrisburg, PA

Hotel "bumped" us out of our room.

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Rooms (after we finally got into the one we paid for) is spacious and clean. Pools are nice.
Cons: Hire new front desk management.
Location: Nothing to say.
Upon arrival at the resort, we were informed our reservation was not confirmed through Expedia and we were being bumped from our upgraded room, which was paid in full, to a much smaller room and the resort would try and put us into the upgraded room as soon as possible. They claimed it was all Expedia's fault even though we have confirmations from Expedia and the resort from reservations made five months ago. The resort even tried to make it up by giving us a two hundred dollar room credit that happened to change daily according the the value of the peso, which they did not inform us of. The management of this resort is "sneaky" and dishonest. We will contact Expedia later and get their side of the story.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Customer service - Karisma hotels, Hotel Management
Dear Tombel we are truly very sorry for your experiences on arrival, we can assure you that this is not a true reflection of the service and vacation experience we provide. we are truly very sorry if you did receive any changes to your original reservation ; please do not hesitate to contact the customer services at Karisma hotels and we will be more than happy to review your experiences
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Great food friendly staff. Everyone willing to help tons of dinner options very accommodating
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope our wonderful team were able to make your stay most comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again soon."
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel, good selection of restaurants.

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Beach area pretty packed, good selection of restaurants, we loved the fresh juice shop. Very picturesque Thai restaurant with outdoor wicker bulb seating. The sushi restaurant is included and quite good. There is a new section of condos and the units are smaller, but the finishes are modern. The older section has larger spaces, but room service tries to prohibit parties by sending only alcoholic drinks 6 (max) at a time with food (must order with food). The sky lounge would be amazing if they didn't blast classic rock all night, gin bar was cozy, but not the same beach vibe since it was further into the lobby area of the hotel. Overall, we had fun, the staff was quite nice and very attentive. We had a large group (50 people) for a wedding and everyone seemed to be relatively happy. I just wished we got a more modern suite or since we got the larger (older) suites, we could have had a party. The older suites are not necessarily very spectacular (a 3 star back home) and the jacuzzi in the sky suite was mainly inoperable, just a heads up if you were going to pay extra for that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Family Friendly All Inclusive

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and friendly service were top-notch. Food quality and service at breakfast and lunch were also perfect.
Cons: The dinners were OK. Food quality was fair and service was hit-or-miss.
Location: We did not leave the resort. Our stay was six nights, but if it were longer, we probably would have ventured out.
Really enjoyed the resort. We loved the pool at the beach and spent the most time there. But we also enjoyed the beach itself and some of the quieter pools nestled among the villas. Lots of different vibes to choose from to spend your days in the sun and water. A few things that really stood out: the service in the breakfast buffet was fantastic every morning; the women who worked in the kids club were wonderful - so friendly and cheerful and kind; the quality of food at breakfast and lunch was excellent; the lunch options on the beach (tacos, burgers, and the beach club with ceviche bar) were perfect. The fire show was wonderful entertainment!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sweet place to stay

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Fun, clean, happy resort with a great beach, great staff, great people overall and awesome food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, Florida

Azil Fives beautiful

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Orbitz
Beautiful surroundings, friendly beach, room, and restaurant staff. Front desk slow with providing service requests.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

The hotel sucked

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The wedding that I attended
Cons: We paid for double beds, they gave us king beds. The rooms were small
Location: That was awful as well
The shower water was cold and it ran out into the room. So our floor was constantly wet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

A pleasant stay with some draw backs

Posted Aug 19, 2016
we had a hard time regulating temperature. The glass door to the commode main bath fell off it's hinges - it was replaced quickly. ZKY Lounge was not water proof from outside eliments. Over all it was about a 3.5 out 5.0 from other places we have stayed before.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Castle Rock

Great Family Vacation

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: The variety of restaurants and great staff...enjoyed walking the grounds of the hotel and on the beach!
Location: Good location that is only a taxi ride from Playa del Carmen. Explor is 20 minutes away and is a don't miss if you like zip lining, ATVs and outdoors
Had a fantastic 8 day/7 night stay with the entire family...close to beach; great walks; beautiful 3 bedroom suite; variety of eating experiences and plenty of relaxation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Beautiful rooms, great food, loved the pool and beach. No complaints.