Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

A paradise. This hotel is a Must

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Beyond this world. Romantic. And amazing. I and my friend stay a night for her birthday. This my be one of the best hotel in the world.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Great location and room but noisey

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: The staff was very professional and we felt very safe there.
Cons: The music was very loud in the evening. I think it was coming from the restaurants. They need to place a mat in front of the doors.
Location: Very close to excellent restaurants, grocery stores and cenotes.
I recommend reading others reviews before booking to see if this resort is for you. Definitely bring mosquito repellent and a flashlight. We booked a Mayan Villa with a partial view of the water. We really couldn't see the water but that didn't matter. What I'll tell you is what other reviewers didn't. There is only one temperature for the water, cold in the morning and warmer in the evening. That means cold baths. The water in the sink and tub is salt water. But, that proved to be okay. It makes your skin soft. The resort provides glass bottles of water in your room. You will need this to brush your teeth. Do not drink or brush your teeth with salty water. You can refill the water at reception. You really can't use a blow dryer there so plan on looking natural. The resort provides wonderful shampoo, conditioner, bug repellent and soap made especially for the environment. We only had breakfast there and chose to venture out for our meals. Lots of choices. Check Yelp. The prices in that area are not inexpensive. Think New York prices. We thought that since it was Mexico we would be getting good deals. If you are into Yoga, definitely take in some classes. Oh, the hotel has bikes to rent. Easy to ride. We saved some money by hiring a taxi to take us to the cenotes. Great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Location: Right on the beach, close to the ruins, we biked over, and you can walk or very minimal cab to restaurants
We had an amazing time, you need to realize this is an adventure. A lot of open air, unique bathtubs in all rooms but no showers. Staff was great, we had an ocean view, beach was private so never crowded. Candles everywhere awesome atmosphere, very romantic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Magical, relaxing eco-Friendly Tulum Resort

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: We liked the calmness and tranquility it offered. It truly had a magical presence and allowed us to decompress. We LOVED the bath tub in the rooms!
Cons: The rates could be more reasonable for the Mystical Wander adventure packages. We decided to book an alternate company to enjoy some exploring.
Location: There are several restaurants nearby including a fantastic Vegan restaurant next door to dine at.
Wow.... words or pictures can't truly describe this gem of a place in magical Tulum. My best friend & I stayed in one of the lower Maya Villas with partial seaview, bottom floor with a lovely deck and hammock for 3 nights. We came from Playa Del Carmen after 3 days of non-stop parties and we arrived with the most welcoming arms willing to carry our 45lb suitcases along the wooden built path to our villa. We literally just about collapsed upon our arrival to our villa late in the evening beyond exhausted. The staff was beyond accommodating, kind and comforting letting us know that we have arrived 'home' and now is the time for pure relaxation. Indeed, IT WAS! Azulik is a wonderful place to decompress from everything and everyone. . . allowing you to integrate with the natural surroundings (minimal electricity, no tv) at this adult eco-friendly resort. You can lie on the beach to soak up the rays (clothing optional), read on your deck in the hammock, or enjoy morning yoga and/or some classes on healing and spiritual cleansing to wining/dining in their gorgeous new restaurant Kin/Toh. There was always a new path to explore when walking around the resort. Our stay included breakfast which was fantastic and a nice addition to the stay. The food was phenomenal as far as breakfast goes. We didn't eat on the property otherwise. I only wish we had more time to enjoy the additional features (spa, meditation/yoga/cleansing classes) offered by Azulik Resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Very nice romantic setting

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: The setting and the bungalow concept
Cons: The staff needs to be better prepared. The rulebook has some things stated that were not provided or were different. Better explanation.
Location: beach, tulum ruins, akumal monkey sanctuary is 30 min
The hotel is nice, the concept is excellent. I don't recommend anyone staying more than 1 night though. It is a nice thing to try it once and that is it. It is a trap to stay there with no amenities so you have to spend a fortune on buying everything from them. Their prices are 3 times what you pay anywhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2017
One of the most interesting and best hotels I've ever stayed in in a stunning location. I think that the restaurant that serves breakfast could do with being better organised. Food excellent and team extremely welcoming but all the care and attention often meant that some of the order was forgotten.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique experience with tree house type rooms

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: I like the feel of staying in a jungle ocean front in a tree house type of room
Cons: Kin Toh is overrated and too expensive for the small meals you receive.
I really enjoyed the uniqueness of the hotel and rooms. You have to be prepared for this type of tree house room. Restaurants and food were delicious. We had dinner at Kin Toh and its so expensive for the small portions and the food is okay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from zurich

Lovely hotel, great views

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Tulum is lovely and Azulik was a great hotel that has been very tastefully decorated. We had one of the sky villas, which was fantastic because the views are great since the water is crashing on to the rocks directly below you and you feel like you are walking onto the sea when you are in the balcony. The staff were pleasant but I cant say anything more about them because to be honest we didn't do a lot of stuff via the hotel since we had our own car, which I would recommend especially if you want to get to cenotes and ruins in the area. The one thing I would say that needs improving is that hotel has no public toilets- none at reception and neither in the spa, which is quite odd and a real oversight. We got there after a long drive and our room was not ready and I really needed to use the toilet so the staff took me to a room that had been recently checked out of but not cleaned! So in effect I had to use someone else's dirty toilet! For a hotel that is aiming to be high end, as I think Azulik is, judging by its prices, this is not really something I would expect. Also there are no signs for the hotel Azulik anywhere at the front of the hotel, which is confusing especially if you are driving. The only names at the front of the hotel are those of the restaurant and of Maya Spa. It took us some time to realise that there was a hotel hidden behind there somewhere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sewage, Squatter Camp with no hot water

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: The outdoor bathtub right above the crashing waves with a swinging couch were lovely and relaxing. The view of the ocean was uncompromising.
Cons: They need a general manager, a way to contact the front office, a lamp or two and they need to remove, relocate or cover up that open sewage pond.
Location: Restaurants and cafes are a 10 - 15 minute cab ride away. One of the best beaches "El Paraiso" is a 15 minute cab ride away.
It's amazing how quickly the romance of an amazing oiff-the-grid adventure on a beach by a jungle wears off once the reality of an exorbitantly expensive concept resort hotel sets in, with no electricity, no phones, limited hot water, non-existant service that neighbors a squatter camp and the ceaselessly nauseating stench of rotting sewage right next to where food is being prepared.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Change my perspective on how vacation should look!

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Location: Lots of cafes and restaurants around.. walking or biking distance.
Jaw dropping. Less is more. Excellent. Simplicity makes it perfect.