Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, United Kingdom

Nice hotel in great location!

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Great location only one street from 5th Ave.
Location: One street from 5th Ave where u will find lots of restaurants, bars & shops... Location of hotel is ideal for beach, shopping & eating out.
Lovely family friendly hotel with very friendly welcoming staff...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Paul, MN

Great Value, Location and Staff

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Location, staff and value.
We booked the hotel sight unseen based on reviews and we were not disappointed. The location is on the north side of the strip, making it a great starting point for all activities. The staff was beyond helpful, the room was big, clean and maid service was excellent. We would go back without hesitation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Québec quebec

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2015
this is a nice hotel, good situation, small pool but clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Great location

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Easy access to the quinta avenida. Clean and great air conditioner system for hot days. Not a resort and perfect for those who prefer to experience their vacation outside the hotel scene. Internet was not working during the whole trip and it took them some time to fix the cold showers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LinLou from Iowa

Perfect on a budget!

Posted Nov 26, 2012
Pros: Nice rooftop for lounging in case you don't want to go to the beach. Large refrig. In rooms.
Cons: A lot of dogs in the area heard a lot of barking from them.
Location: Well at the end of 5th St. But didn't prove to be a problem. Lots of good choices for eating close to the hotel- an easy walk.
Pictures of the hotel are accurate. Nice sized rooms.Good value for the price.Although an additional TV in the living area would be nice.Staff was accommodating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DON'T STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Jul 26, 2012
Pros: DON'T STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: DON'T STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Location: DON'T STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Everyday there was an issue-unsanitary room, debris in water, no air conditioning, rust, mildew, water from shower running into room, no hot water, damaged furniture, early morning noise disturbances, inattentive/unconcerned/lackadaisical staff. This hotel is only 3 years old with all of these issues of a 23 year old hotel. Deplorable and appalling!!!!!!!!!!!1
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Feb 29, 2012
Very nice and clean hotel. Nice staff. 10 minutes walk to town center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Excellent home away from home

Posted Mar 28, 2011
Bambu Suites is just off the north end of Quinta, the main street where everything happens in Playa. It's also an easy 2-block walk to the beach. The two full beds seemed a little short for our over 5'10" selves, but otherwise the room was very comfortable. The kitchen had a big fridge and a microwave - very handy for making our own brealfasts and lunches sometimes, and keeping drinks cool. The living room area chairs could perhaps have been cosier, but I'm getting picky now. We were able to walk out to the small dipping pool, with sunbeds that always had a choice of sun or shade due to their courtyard location. Ideal spot for using the wi-fi and reading. The neighborhood was quiet, except when the mariarchi band began it's evening round at the fish restaurant across the road and woke us up from an afternoon nap or two. Incidentally, that same restaurant was often packed with locals in the afternoons. (We didn't eat there because we're vegetarian.) The supermarket, a few blocks away from the beach, is well worth the walk for low prices and a slice of local life. The beach is long golden sand, and always has an onshore breeze. We were never too hot, but the sea was always warm. I swam in the sea more than I have in years. It wasn't a great beach for snorkelling, though. You can see the high-rises of Cozumel on the horizon. We would definitely recommend Bambu Suites. The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. We had a great vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

A little gem amongst giants

Posted Feb 24, 2011
Fantastic apart/hotel with a boutique feel to it. A wee bit off the main drag of 5th Avenue, but literally only by a few minutes stroll which we welcomed after eating out etc. The rooms are huge and Lopita and the cleaning staff ensured that everything was spotlessly clean every single day. Aldo and the reception staff are there to help and are very friendly. The beach is literally a few hundred yards away, so the pool at Bambu is rarely used. We stayed for 15 nights and would have happily stayed for 15 more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Great Boutique Hotel, just a bit far from all the action

Posted Sep 29, 2010
This is a new small and modern hotel, the staff was extremely nice, the hotel has 3 hot tubs on the roof, which you can use up until 1AM. The only drawback was the location of the hotel. If you walk down to 5th Ave. which is where 80% of the action is, it will take you 10-15 mins walking. This normally wouldn't be an issue, but when it's 92 degrees and the humidity is close to 70% it can be quite a trek. At the rate Playa Del Carmen is growing, I'm sure this hotel won't be on the outskirts anymore within 18 months.