Ratings based on 268 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago IL

The best resort in Playa

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Everything that you can expect was perfect The room was AMAZING The food Was great The staff was super friendly & helpful Definitely worth the money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a wonderful stay....great staff

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Thank you for a Most memorable vacation. We look forward to our next return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Hotel is OK, but not a 5-Star

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Hotel is very clean and staff are friendly.
Cons: Decoration and furniture are tired and due for upgrade e.g. the sun umbrella in my room was broken.
This was the third time we stayed at Mayakoba, but our first time with Banyan Tree. We were looking forward to staying with Banyan Tree as it has a good reputation in Asia. The staff are friendly and very responsive to the requests....however to be qualified for 5-Star they need to be more proactive and pay attention to details. For example, we travelled with our daughter so I booked the hotel for 3 adults and paid extra charge for the 3 third person....but none of the amenities allowed for the 3rd person. When we checked in, the receptionist told me that they noticed there were 3 of us, therefore they would set up an extra bed. They communicated as though they were doing us a favor, meanwhile I expected this had been done before we arrived. During the stay, they only gave us two bathrobes, two amenities kits, two sets of towels, only two lounge chairs in the patio etc....I gave up asking after the third asks...although they responded very timely, I was just tired of repeating the requests. In addition, I was asked the timing for the turndown service in the evening....even I specified 7pm, the housekeeper showed up at different time (except 7pm). We felt bad asking them to come back later but at the same time it did not feel right to have a "stranger" in the room while we were changing for dinner. We were also disappointed that there was no sauna facilities in the resort. In summary, this is an expensive hotel without the "wow" factor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of my favorite beach destinations!

Posted Jan 3, 2017
We had a terrific experience. We had some minor issues with our villa but the management was very quick to handle anything that aroze. Service was generally excellent. Service was a little slow at a couple of the restaurants. The Mayakoba area is amazing and unique. We enjoyed taking the boats through the waterways and seeing all the wildlife.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Peter Hechler., Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your wonderful review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from rye, new york

More than home away home

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Staff. Architectural design. Understated beauty. Bike for each room.
Location: In a complex that has one golf course and several high end hotels.
As soon as you enter the property, you feel you are relaxed. Architectural success and wonderful service by the staffs that are very well trained. Room was just great. It was like living in a interior design magazine property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by Peter Hechler., Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the beauty of our natural surroundings and the service provided by our people. The Banyan Tree family look forward to your next visit where we will be waiting to welcome you to your home away from home! Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

If you want a romantic vacation experience

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Absolutely beautiful resort destination . Staff wonderful . Privacy wonderful . Food and cocktails , wine , champagne overpriced but is what it is . Resteraunt venues gorgeous views and staff . Bikes at all villas fun and a great way to roll around otherwise golf carts will pick you up . A must visit .
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by Peter Hechler, Hotel Management
Dear Greg Frank, Many thanks for your review, I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a great hotel with luxury facilities and this is all enhanced by the quality of our service and the level of excellence from our staff. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington state

Loved everything about it! Had an amazing time!

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Had an amazing time! Loved everything about it! Stayed for our 21 wedding anniversary! The staff took wonderful care of us from the start! David, Raul, Armando, Victor, Ismel and many more I can't remember names I can't wait to come back
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by Peter Hechler, Hotel Management
Dear Michele, Thank you for your review, I thoroughly enjoy reading your feedback. We’re so glad that you enjoyed your 21st wedding anniversary at Banyan Tree Mayakoba. Truly, we cannot thank you enough for choosing to spend this very important moment in your lives at our resort. I hope that you will return again in the future to experience another excellent vacation with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very serene

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Serene jungle like setting
Location: 15-20 minute taxi ride to Playa Del Carmen for restaurants, shopping and nightlife. Took a half day tour to Tulum ruins.
Hotel villas are beautiful, exceptionally clean and relaxing. The best features are the privacy and quiet environment as well as the eco friendly design and setting. The villa pool was unlike anything we had experienced - wonderfully private. We stayed for four nights over the Thanksgiving holiday for a relaxing vacation - mission accomplished. Easy transit to the beach 1 km away via hotel supplied bikes or golf buggy. The beach was uncrowded with beautiful white sand. Like much of the Riviera Maya coastline there are large sandbags placed along the beach to prevent erosion - not very pretty, but necessary. Ate at the Sands restaurant and La Copa bar as well as used room service. Overall, food and service is quite good. Would definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by Peter Hechler, Hotel Management
Dear guest, It is indeed a pleasure to receive such a nice review highlighting our facilities and services. It was an honor to host your holiday and I hope to see you again soon at Banyan Tree Mayakoba.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Amazing luxury beach resort.

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Rooms and the service.
Location: 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen. Many thing to do in the area from Golf, Cenotes or sinkholes where you can swim, eco parks, diving.
This is one of the most luxurious and amazing hotels in the Riviera Maya - Cancun area. Service is top - the public areas are spectacular as well as the water canals. The villas are quite big and spacious and have a private pool. It has 3 restaurants, one is Thai and quite good. The Spa is very very nice. For the Golf lovers the hotel is located in the Mayakoba development - area, which has a PGA course.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by Peter Hechler, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. It is very rewarding to know that you have enjoyed every moment of your vacation at our Sanctuary for the Senses. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know about your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Most Romantic definitely for lovers

Posted Dec 1, 2016
I have traveled a lot and this was the best vacation ever! The villa was outstanding the food was 5 star and the staff always went out of their way to help us. It was the best experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by Peter Hechler, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, It was a pleasure to host your holiday and hopefully you will provide us an opportunity to host your holiday once again.