Ratings based on 1,867 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chile

Excelente para compartir en familia o en pareja

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Excelente hotel, exquisita comida y la playa está increíble!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los Angeles,Ca.

The best place in Cancun

Posted Sep 26, 2016
My experience was awesome because I enjoy all the time with my friends ......
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Todo muy bien

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Ningún inconveniente desde el momento que llegamos. El personal del hotel muy bueno, los cuartos, la comida, todo excelente. Gracias
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
My family and I had a wonderful experience. The facility and the staff were great and very friendly. The food was good over all. My only suggestion to the hotel would be to provide some type of option for food by the pool. But definitely would go back on my next trip to Rivera Maya.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice resort, able to enjoy all connected resorts

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: able to visit all other connected resorts
Cons: allow two people per room with wifi. make sure AC is on before check in to ovoid musty smell
Upon arrival, room smelled musty. AC was on motion sensor, so if not in room AC shut off, causing musty smell. Wish they would allow two people on WIFI from each room so we could keep in touch when separated. Otherwise good experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing resort can't wait to go back

Posted Aug 31, 2016
This resort was absolutely amazing. We stayed for 5 days and had a wonderful time. The beach was breath taking, the many pools were great and the food was delicious. The staff was very helpful. We can't wait to return to Barcelo Maya Beach!!
4 out of 5
by Carlos from Bloomfield

Fun in the Riviera Maya!

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Great time for my sister's 50th birthday reunion. Barceló hotel was great. They upgraded us to the premium Barceló Palace after reserving the Barceló Maya Beach. Only had small gripes: - soap, shampoo dispensers were clogged - so had to open the top of the unit and dip our hands - wifi was extra - didn't pay for it since Verizon offers a very decent global roaming plan with Mexico - I like walking - but if you have older family members or family with disabilities you want to make sure to reserve a room closer to the main lobby. Otherwise you could be in for lots of walking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

close to the beach, horrible food

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: workers were all friendly.
Cons: Nicer ladies at the Club Premium Check in
Location: Location very close to Playa Del Carmen - La Parilla is an authentic mexican girl in 5th avenue in PLAYA DEL CARMEN .. DELICIOUS FOOD..w
hotel was great, beach beautiful.. a bit wavy sometimes but beautiful. the food is the only real bad thing about the hotel. you can get a 3 $public bus to playa del carmen which is about 20-30 minutes away. Housekeeping isn't consistent with replacing towels / conditioner ( what you need the most during a beach vacation ) other than that everything was great. the shows are the typical chain hotel shows with the fake michael jackson and horrible karaoke. Mexican night was great. Would be better if the food was Authentic mexican instead of plain dull americanized food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Great hotel ! Just beautiful ! Amazing gym! But we hated the concrete pool for the Dolphins, Barcelo does not them for profit. Free the Dolphins
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, CAN

Great time at the beach

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Food is also very good
Cons: Patio door lock was mafunctioning
Location: Lots of day trip possibilities
Had a great time!...safe, clean and kind staff! The pools are clean, the beach is great. Beach volley is good, basketball court is ok and tennis is very good.