Ratings based on 562 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Beautiful resort

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Had a great experience. Everything is beautiful and well maintained. No need to go outside the resort since literally everything Is around from fine dinning to a whole mall to water sports to spa services.... Etc. Would deffinitly recommended it and would book again myself. Make sure to book premium package to enjoy it :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beaverton, MI

Awesome resort in the Mayan Riviera!

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Third stay at this resort and once again not disappointed. Great room, great food, great service. The beach is amazing and the pools are amazing. There is not one negative thing I can say about this Barcelo resort. Can't wait to return!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
The staff were friendly and service was great, and the resort had many things to do.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Nice hotel with a nice pool area and beach.

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Cons: Hot water for in-room showers would be nice.
We upgraded to Club Premium, so we had access to just about anything we needed. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The grounds are very clean. We enjoyed our stay and plan to come back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Des Moines Iowa

Nice Hotel.close to the beach

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Beach and Food
Cons: No
Location: Nice location
Very nice resort and clean. Nice room,Veru nice beach and clean.Varius and good Foods,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful hotel close to the beach.

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Gorgeous family friendly hotel! About one hour+ from airport. Amazing facilities - including multiple pools, restaurants and activities. Steps away from beach. Lots of walking, so definitely need stroller if traveling with children. No complimentary wifi.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madrid

Hotel bien situado

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Lo mejor a destacar del hotel: - Su playa, es una playa preciosa y muy extensa donde en algunos momentos incluso puedes estar solo en la arena. - Su localización: cerca de todo lo hay que ver en Riviera, los cenotes más bonitos, Akumal (santuario de las tortugas gigantes), Playa del Carmen, Tulum - Buena comida en los buffets y restaurantes - Trato muy amable del personal - Un centro comercial dentro del hotel con buenos precios respecto a la oferta en R. Maya A mejorar: - La limpieza de habitaciones - Dentro del complejo el Hotel Maya Colonial no ha sido reformado aún, así que vale la pena alojarse en los que ya han sufrido la reforma como el Maya Caribe o el Maya Beach
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Hot rooms, Limited Dinner choices & Horrible Check

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Pool and Staff
Cons: Customer service
Location: Great, Many activities
Waited 2 hours to check in, once I was checked in at 2pm I was told i needed to come back at 3pm for the room key because check in is then. I said no problem where do I go? He said I would have to wait in line again, after i doubled when I waited for 2 hours. Check out was horrible too, and the AC in the room basically does not exist. None of our rooms did it work good. I went to get wifi in the guest area and the lady working there told me they had sold out for the day! I didnt know they could sell out, it never mentioned it anywhere online. I had to work that weekend online and I had to beg and beg for her to call someone and she didn't, she emailed them. I came back 5 min later a diff lady was working she told me they had plenty of codes available.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St.Louis

Awesome resort

Posted Aug 29, 2016
I have been to Riviera Maya a few times and this resort is among the best. The food was amazing. 4 buffets and about a dozen restaurants to eat at with an amazing selection of food. There are lots of places to have fun from a bowling alley, to haunted house to dolphin visits. All be it, these places cost extra. The rooms were nice, aside from the AC not working properly at all times. The downside was that the drinks are waterdown and do not taste as good. It takes a while to get a nice buzz going, but there are stores on campus to buy legitimate liquor. The beach was filled with rocks for our first few days but once the staff removed the rocks, it became the best beach I have ever been to. It was great for snorkeling and swimming with the fishes. Do not fet the wifi as it rarely works and you will not get reimbursed for the horrible service. Be vary of the excursion staff as they cancled a trip 12 hours ahead of schedule, on my birthday nonetheless. I would recommend this resort for all couples and for groups of couples.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolutely beautiful

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Loved the beauty of the layout - the beautiful beach can be seen from everywhere. Pools were clean, so many pools to choose from.
Cons: Purchases had to be made with credit card or charged to room. Ok for me, but the teenage kids could not purchase without a grown-up present.
Location: No need to leave the resort - the mini mall and mall are like going downtown without leaving the resort.
Gorgeous property, excellent beach with turquoise water and no seaweed, beautiful pools, great entertainment, great restaurants. Lots to do. Definitely want to go back! Loved it!! Room was close to beach and pools. Buffet had everything you could ask for. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Very family oriented with great kiddie water parks.