Ratings based on 1,417 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
Nice pool but room was not clean, hotel staff (front desk) needs more training. Room was not clean even after cleaning, too far from the restaurants so not recommended for families with toddlers and young kids despite it's a family-friendly hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Lily, We are sorry to read your feedback , we will send our housekeeper supervisor to check your room and share the feedback also with our front desk manager. We hope to change the bad image you have hoping you can change your evaluation about the hotel. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

A nice room

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and the staff is fabulous. The staff works extremely hard.
Cons: No children at the bars. Bigger adult only pool, and a just adult only area
Location: Centrally located, lots of different activities close to resort.
We booked an ocean view room it was a little hard to see through the palm trees, and a little far to really see the ocean. All in all not a huge complaint, beautiful place, it was our fourth trip there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2017 by The Management , Hotel Management
Dear Ellen, Thank you very much for your great review , we are glad that you liked the hotel overall and we hope to be able to satisfy all your expectations. Best Regards. The Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing experience

Posted Apr 29, 2017
The hotel is big, clean and the services amazing. They make you feel welcome and happy to help you. no complains. Can't wait to go back
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017 by EduardMOD, Hotel Management
Dear Daniela, Thank you very much for your great review , we are glad to know that you have enjoyed the services and facilities at the hotel. We also can´t wait to welcome you back soon!! Best Regards, The Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely Hotel but Reception Staff need training.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Facilities for children was amazing.Majority of staff were efficient & friendly.
Cons: Reception staff need to be better trained.
Location: Snorkling jet sking Banana Boat canoeing& Dolphinarium available at sister hotel accessed by a paved path or red bus runs every 15 mins.Bowling,games
The majority of our stay was lovely however the Reception staff place me in a room with a massive bed & my daughter & husband in single beds?? Their room had not been cleaned or beds made at 7pm & they had to wait for 1& 1/2 hours 4 room to be habitable.My room was clean & staff were friendly.We were not given cards for the towels & had to ask for them at reception.When My son in law cpmplained we were told our concerns would be reprted to management to see what they could do BUT nothing was done. So sad as it is a fabulous hotel. Oh! ensure you have special shoes for playing in kiddies pool & cement was so sharp it cut my Grandkids feet. Very little beach with lots of rocks so beach shoes are recommended.I had a fall & staff were so concerned & helpful so my review is very mixed. Restaurant staff fabulous & food was varied & well prepared.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Sharon, We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Barceló hotel for your holidays in Riviera Maya, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience among us. We want to apologize for not being able to make you feel supported when having an issue with the room assignation, we do our best to offer a caring and personalized service giving all the possible solutions to make sure you fully enjoy your stay among us. The high occupancy sometimes do not help us to give many options to our guests but we try to follow all our guest's requests. We also regret the lack of service for the towel cards this is an isolated case and we apologize because of that. On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the kindness and enthusiasm of our lifeguard staff, their friendliness and helpfulness being our hotels’ main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. We also would like to thank you for pointing out the professionalism of our waiting team, they indeed have a great impact on the overall dining experience of our guests and we are thrilled to read that their attentive service contributed to your wellbeing during mealtimes. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Top of the line staff service! The hotel can use a little better selection for the food menu but no complaints overall if ever stay here look for lucio chi the waiter for the buffet restaurant at the palace he'll make your breakfast or lunch experience wonderful 👌🏽With his service
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by The Management, Hotel Management
Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We also would like to thank you for pointing out the professionalism of our waiting team, they indeed have a great impact on the overall dining expérience of our guests and we are thrilled to read that their attentive service contributed to your wellbeing during mealtimes. Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lynden WA

2nd trip to Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe

Posted Apr 23, 2017
We stayed here 5 years ago and fell in love with the staff and the beautiful beach. Just came back from our 2nd trip there and everything was fabulous just as it was 5 years ago. Wonderful place!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by The Management, Hotel Management
Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Palace hotel once again for your holidays and for sharing this wonderful feedback of your recent stay among us, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we keep on meeting all your holiday needs and wishes year after year. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017
We loved this resort. Huge, friendly, tons of things for teens and adults to do. Food is excellent, snorkling with the turtles was amazing. Fabulous week!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by The Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in our Barceló Palace. It is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed. We also are very grateful for your highlight on the quality of the entertainment program during your stay and for mentioning the genuine friendliness of our team. At Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday expérience in our hotels, this is why our team of Chefs prepare for each service a wide variety of delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, we are therefore very pleased that we could satisfy yours. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Apr 20, 2017
This hotel is beautiful and the food at the buffets and restaurants is very good quality, but the rooms are quite far from the restaurants and the pool so there is a lot of walking. The rooms are fine but nothing spectacular. I also was surprised at the price of the new water park being $20 per person and it wasn't that great, but the smaller water park near the pool is nice and included in the price, although that one is only for younger children. Overall, a very nice hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Samantha, Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Palace hotel for your holidays in Riviera Maya and for the review you shared, all of your kind words about your stay with us are great to hear. We sincerely apologize for not being able to offer you the possibility to move your room due to high occupancy during your stay. We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moneta, VA

Beautiful hotel and grounds right on the beach

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Didn't know what to expect. My last all inclusive trip to Mexico was disappointing in all aspects. The Barcelo set the bar high. Staff, hotel, grounds, and the food were perfect. The only thing negative I could say is about the line at Premier check-in and the dinner reservation system could be more efficient. I'll definitely go back to that same facility and I'm looking forward to trying some of the other Barcelo properties.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by The Management, Hotel Management
Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló hotel for your holidays in Riviera Maya and for the review you shared, all of your kind words about your stay with us are great to hear. We have taken good note of your remarks related to the service you received upon check in and apologize for the exceptional wait you experienced upon your arrival, we will do our utmost to improve on this aspect of our services and extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you and your loved ones. Best regards!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodbury, Minnesota

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Food, scenery, Excellent staff, bus for transportation to other Barcelo resorts, atmosphere, immaculate grounds
Cons: Group the teen/college Spring breakers in one area if possible ! Very difficult to enjoy when their music is blasting into our room and we can't sleep
Location: Barcelo Maya Palace was amazing !! We pretty much stayed there being there was so much to do !
We had a very pleasant experience being it was our first time at your Barcelo Maya Palace resort ! Everywhere we looked the scenery was stunning ! All your staff could not be more pleasant and were extremely helpful. The food was delicious ! We would return if we plan another vacation. Loved that we could travel from one Barcelo resort to another per bus. The ONLY downside was the extreme loudness of the partying teen/college Spring breakers !!! We were right next door to some and had two nights of no sleep. Maybe you could possibly group the Spring breakers all in one area ? Away from us adults plus those who have young families ?? Overall, we enjoyed our stay ! This was the first time my husband had been out of the USA !!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by The Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics. We have taken good note of your comments on the music or loudness of other guestsand sincerely lament the disturbances caused and will not fail to share your comments with our head of security for information and further revision. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. thank you!