Ratings based on 1,381 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mn

Another awesome expirience

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Location, facilities, food, staff, spirit of excellence
Cons: Nothing
Location: Tulum
This was our third time going to the Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe. It showed yet again that this hotel is top notch in the area. We love the location, staff, food, drinks, facilities, and everything about it. We will be back again next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Beautiful Resort

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Beautiful grounds and great staff.
Cons: We did not like the amount of young spring breaker's on the resort they were rude to staff and other guests and the drank way too much!
Excellent resort, had everything we needed. Awesome snorkeling, food and drinks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DesMoines

Beautiful resort w large white sandy beach front

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Great food choices, incrediblily clean, beauitful view. There were plenty of chairs either on the beach, by the pool, or in the shade.
Cons: Please put up a tipping rate sheet. It would help the customers know what should be left.
Location: The boys when deep sea fishing off site and caught a 70lbs sail fish. It was catch and release but so exciting for them.
The resort was beautiful. Very clean and neat. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. The food buffet gave many choices for everyone : many prepared salads, main meals, little kid foods, cook to order :shrimp, salmon, white fish, calamari, red meat, chicken, pork; many prepared desserts, large fruit spread, large bread display. The restaurants were good and nice change from the buffet. We dined at the Italian, French, Japanese/Kyoto, Seafood/Capri, Brazilan restaurants. Make reservations the day you get there as they fill up quick. We went with our senior high school student and our adult children and had a great time. Don't go during spring break unless you are ready to deal with many teenagers. The kids when snorkeling and feed a turle. We viewed the dolphin show. Had a aftersun wrap at the spa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Great family vacation destination

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Great place for enjoying some time in the sun with our family
Location: Toured the ruins and local village
Great all inclusive for our families, including one baby and three toddler. Awesome food options. Great beach and water park for little ones.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naperville, IL

I can not say enough good things!

Posted Mar 17, 2017
We stayed at Barcelo Maya Grand for one week at the end of February, 2107 and it was amazing. The staff, food, property, beach, restaurant choices, activities, room, etc were all incredible. And, each day we snorkeled and swam with sea turtles right on our beach. How can you beat that?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Great hotel and awesome staff! Wasn't too impressed with the food at buffets. Shops were neat but very pricey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Yardley, PA

Riviera Maya Vacation

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Great beach. Plenty of pool or beach chairs. On site restaurants were great.
Cons: Would be nice to have more selection from the in-room mini bar.
Location: Went to Xcaret which was great and Kantun Chi across the street which was a real treat!
My wife, myself and our 2 children ages 5 and 7 had a wonderful stay at the Barceló Maya Palace. We opted for the Premium level which we felt was worth the price for the convenience of check in and check out as well as use of the Premium club which is a great source for a quick snack or drink with some nice choices available. We have stayed at Playa Mujeres and Cancun hotel zone and felt this was the best beach by far. The a la carte restaurants at Maya Palace were excellent. Unfortunately, the a la carte that we tried at an adjoining resort (the seafood style) was not nearly as good but I can't speak for the other restaurants. The surf was calm and the local reef had a lot to see. The daily turtle sightings was a lot of fun also for all of us! We plan on going back to Barcelo again next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Good value

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: The kids loved the pools and variety of things to do.
Cons: We tried to re-book but they no longer offer air+hotel packages. That makes it more difficult to book than other hotels so not sure we'll be back.
We had a great time on this trip. There was a lot to do and while there were lots of people it didn't feel crowded given the amount of space of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

VIP service needs to improve. Long check in time

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Overall it was a pleasant experience. Great sea food and fruits. Nice staff, very clean place. The VIP service at the VIP room needs strong improvement, the waiting time for check in and check out is very long. A bit noisy environment during spring break time due to college and high school spring breakers ( nothing you can do about it) Great swimming pool. A lot of activities for children and visitors
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Loved our stay at this beautiful resort

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Had a wonderful time. Room was nice. Food was great. Service was excellent.