Ratings based on 1,279 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

this resort exceeded our expectations

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: i love the grand decor, beach front, the pool had water arobics and it was a fun atnosphere
Cons: nothing
Location: we stayed on the premises, because it felt safe
we had so much fun. there was a lot of activities and the dining out each night was a bonus.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from plymouth

Beautiful hotel simply stunning

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Everything except captive dolphins
Cons: Set the Dolphins free it is so cruel .
Location: Wonderful location close to a lot of attractions and stunning beaches . Also list of cenotes nearby .
Everything about this hotel was stunning ,but ...they have enclosed dolphins for so called entertainment and so I will not be going back . Surely if people want to see dolphins organise boat trips to go and see them in the wild and not in something not much bigger than a bath !!its outrageous that people find this entertaining .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gj, co

Best vacation ever

Posted Sep 18, 2016
The resort is absolutely beautiful and the food was amazing! So much to do and very relaxing. The staff were phenomenal and went way out of their way to make this a great experience for us. I'd heard that all inclusive places can be stingy on their alcohol but that's not the case here! They bring you whatever you want-even top shelf- and are always asking if they can get you more. We ordered three drinks per person at a time! Best vacation ever! We will be back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dayton, OH

Beautiful Beach and Exceptional Grounds

Posted Sep 11, 2016
This was our 4th visit. The property is huge and they keep expanding to offer different experiences. I want the peaceful retreat with lovely tropical music and views with soft sandy beaches and a sea I can swim 100 yards and see marine life! Incredible. One day was not so peaceful and the staff quickly responded to our concern and corrected it for the rest of our stay. I hope further expansion will keep the ambience that is my attraction. Great for families and large groups. Would honeymoon at an adult only.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great family hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Variety and number of restaurants to choose from. Hotel grounds amazing. Activities for the kids. Location.
Cons: Snorkeling equipment being lent for the duration of the stay, naturally upon payment of a reasonable deposit.
Location: Very well located. Roughly an hour's drive from the airport, 15 minutes from Xplore and Xcaret, 20 minutes from Xel-Há and 35 minutes from Tulum.
Excellent resort with amazing facilities for kids to enjoy. The meals at the "à lá carte" restaurants are a must (just book enough time in advance). The various buffet restaurants are also very good. Don't miss the spareribs at Strikers! The hotel grounds are stunning, everything is immaculate and very well kept. Lush greens, local fauna occasionally pop their heads out (we saw squirrels, raccoons, and deers). The not-so-shy iguanas are always walking around the grounds. I definitely recommend this hotel. My only gripe is that they saw snorkeling equipment is offered free of charge, but they neglect to say that it is offered by an independent diving company located on hotel grounds that loans the equipment upon payment of a deposit per set and only for one hour per day. Not hardly enough time especially considering that you have a family of sea turtles, mantras and a numbers of coral reefs you can explore right off the hotel beach. Take your own equipment if you intend to snorkel. Other than that, my family had an awesome time and really liked the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I expend a fan time during my extend in this Hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2016
I expend a fan time in this Hotel. The food was great, staff is very friendly, the places is clean and with a great view, facilities are great. I love this hotel, my only recommendation Is the steak restaurantsa has a not really, great food, please you should improve the food
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2016
It was amazing experience. Huge resort. The food was ok. The only thing that we didn't like was the distance between the rooms and everything else
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from o.

Nice hotel to enjoy perfect vacation

Posted Sep 9, 2016
This resort has everithing , perfect for family vacations.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

3rd visit, Still a good place to go.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: The organization of the hotel, the friendly staff, the clean place, good food, nice pools, reasonable beach to get to the ocean, and entertainment.
Cons: More frequent bus service connecting other hotels.
Location: Xelha, Coba, town of Rivera Maya (which has a sam's club), cenote, So many swimming, horse back riding, water parks, 4 wheeling adventure ect.
Been to many hotels in the Riviera Maya area in QR province Mexico. Like this hotel the most. First and foremost all the noisy part of the hotel is located in one area which is further away from the rooms are. Big pool that is not chlorinated. The music around the pool is not really loud. We always eat at the buffet as one can mix and match seafood, meats, veg ect to custom create what suits a person's wish. We are a family of four and one person only eats seafood, one person doesn't eat any seafood and other two eat both seafood and meat. We also like food spicy and can easily custom make to how spicy we want it. There are speciality restaurants if someone wants to go. There are plenty of things to do for a week of stay. Staying at Maya place gives one to use any facilities ( pool, restaurants, entertainments ect ) in all the other 4 hotels that are built along the same beach. Dive shop is good but diving is best at Cozumel ( everything is big in Cozumel ). Beach is rocky but there are places it is free of rock so can get into the ocean. If you have a cell phone with a plan that covers Mexico without charges no need to buy hotel wifi. We had verizon and there is pretty much coverage everywhere in the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Barcelo Maya place deluxe

Posted Sep 3, 2016
We really loved this resort. Second time there and more to come in the future. Staff is great. Food is great. The beach area is awesome. They have lots of kids activities. Overall cleanliness is great too.