Ratings based on 987 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great vacation

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Great hotel with friendly staff. Good was very good and the hotel grounds were beautiful. I can't wait to go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice hotel and restaurants.

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: cleanliness, friendly staff.
Cons: Reception should be faster to check-in/out. Control unauthorized charge to the room with bar code instead of manual process.
Location: Xplorer are excellent, expensive but worth it. Everything else are expensive so we can't afford to do much.
Good big hotels but reception are very slow response. 45 minutes to check-in, 30 minutes to check-out due to unauthorized charge to the room by someone. Refrigerator are not cold in the room. Staff are nice and friendly. This is a big 5 hotels combination so prepare to do lot of walking. Do your research, some staff members explain good about the hotel, the person helped us didn't tell us anything, he could even tell us the location of our room correctly. Foods are excellent comparing with 4 hotels in the Barcelo group. Our favorites are France (ask for Jorge for service) and Japanese restaurants. Overall good hotel, beach are not good for us because lot of seaweeds but i think we were there at the wrong year, didn't hear any complain about the seaweeds before we arrived.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great family local with great service

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: The hotel was very clean and well maintained.
Location: Plenty to do and see. You just need to plan lots of time. We primarily stayed at or near the resorts. Next time we will venture off more.
The Barcelo resorts are all fantastic. The five resorts are all next to each other and are easily assessable, each with unique restaurants and themes. The Mayan Palace is where we stayed and by staying here you were able to access the other resorts with no charge. Great snorkeling area and pool areas for adults and kids at the Mayan Palace! Have fun!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2015
What a wonderful experience. Can't wait to go back. The service we received at this hotel was outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from DF

Vacaciones en familia

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: areas infantiles, albercas, playa
Cons: las camas de las habitaciones son muy incomodas
Location: no salimos del hotel su playa es espectacular
Pasamos unos dias increibles en familia, es muy reomendable para niños pues cuentan con muchas areas que en particular los niños disfrutan mucho, extraordinadio servicio por parte de todo el personal y deliciosa comida.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice and family oriented hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: Hotel staffs are friendly. Food is good. Beach and landscaping are wonderful.
Cons: Room cleanness, night shows (used to be very good), waiters and waitresses at the buffet are much nicer than the ones at formal restaurants.
Overall experience is good. This is my third time at this resort. This time I booked with the Club Premium, however, I was quite disappointed with the following: - During check-in, my friends and I didn't receive the coupon book as part of the premium package until a few days later when we had to ask for them. - We didn't receive the welcome champagne bottle as part of the premium package; we complained, still didn't receive it, complained again at the check-out, and the staff member just said sorry. - My room was not that clean. The was a bandage and a razor in the bathroom when I first checked-in. One day, my glass wasn't washed and put back as if it was clean. I noticed by my lipstick mark on the glass - meaning they didn't bother to replace or clean it. This is not "Palace Deluxe" quality. - Some staff at the bars and restaurants were not as friendly as they should have been.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Beautiful resort

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Resort was beautiful and offered great amenities to make for a great trip. Great beach, snorkeling, and food. Staff was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing property, something wonderful for everyone

Posted Jul 30, 2015
My husband and I took our children ages 3 and 5 to this property for the first time and had an amazing experience! We upgraded to the club premium and it was totally worth it! You receive private services in an air conditioned lounge where you check in and check out, make reservations, have a private bar/snacks and computer access. With this upgrade you avoid the long lines at the front desk, you get special discounts and you have access to all five properties. At the barcelo we bowled, played putt putt, went to the pirate island water park, swam with dolphins, went kayaking in the ocean, painted pottery, got our pictures takin with parrots and we even hired a private photographer who did a family photo shoot for us on the beach! It was awesome! The best part however was the kids pool. The barcelo maya palace deluxe has the best kids pool and my kids had a blast! We plan to return to this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Place

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Had a great time here. Would go back anytime. A wonderful place where the staff does anything they can to please you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to vacation.

Posted Jul 26, 2015
This is our 3rd time at the Barcelo Palace. We quite enjoy our stay here and that is why we come back. The rooms are clean. The beds are hard but nothing that a call to the housekeeping for a mattress topper doesn't fix. Air conditioning was working well this time. Last year it wasn't but again, we made a call to maintenance and it was fixed in no time at all. This resort is huge and well maintained. While people will complain about the long walk to the pool/beach, my family and I see it as an opportunity to burn off all those extra calories consumed at the wonderful buffets. The food is nothing short of amazing. Variety for the seafood lover, meat eater, vegetarian and of course the sweet tooth. The staff were always ready to please with a smile on their face. The only problem that could have been an issue for anyone's stay, in my opinion, is the amount of seaweed on the beach. We talked with other repeat visitors in the resort and the manager, and we all agreed that the seaweed hasn't ever been this bad. Now with that being said, the smell wasn't pleasant but the workers were out there working extra hard to clear it. This is not only a problem for the Barcelo, but all the hotels along the Mayan as well as in Cancun. Our weather is changing and with that, storm patterns play havoc with the sea and unfortunately the seaweed issue is something the government is going to have to deal with in a long term plan of action otherwise tourism will be affected abroad.