Ratings based on 1,131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bologna

Ottimo resort

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Piscine e estrema cura di ogni particolare
Cons: Assurdo fare pagare il collegamento Wi-Fi,ritengo stupido far pagare un servizio che anche i bar danno gratuito.E assolutamente da .........
Location: Ottima posizione non lontano da rovine Maya è abbastanza vicino a Cancun
Splendido resort,personale attento e gentile,le splendide ed immense piscine permettono un piacevole soggiorno nei casi il mare sia mosso. Spazi enormi e perfettamenti attrezzati ad ospitare molti clienti
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Terrible service

Posted Jan 18, 2016
The all inclusive detail states clearly that the room service is included but they trick you and charge extra fees and when you try to explain it they don't understand english so terrible
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: La comida, las instalaciones y en general la atención.
Cons: El show del 31 de diciembre, aunque le echan muchas ganas, considero que pueden mejorarlo.
Location: Lugar muy bien aunque algo alejado del aeropuerto sobre todo por el tráfico de Playa del Carmen. Recomendable rentar coche para aprovechar alrededores
En general muy bien. En general muy bien. En general muy bien. En general muy bien. En general muy bien. En general muy bien.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Beach

Amazing family Hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: All amenities, Water Park, the Spa is absolutely Amazing!
Location: You will have a lot of things to do just inside the Hotel complex, this is like a City Complex, all you need is inside de Barceló Complex
We went for NYE and I just have to said... that was incredible! My 10 years old son was so happy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Well appointed and maintained junior suites

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: Spacious, well-maintained rooms. Good meal options. Access to multiple resorts. Friendly staff.
Cons: Guest assistance should be offered via phone vs requiring guests to wait in long lines at main bldg. for dinner reservations, resort questions, etc.
Location: Xcaret (awesome park, and 20 mins away). Chitchen Itza (fantastic ruins) Tulum ruins (less than 1/2 hr away. Visit early before crowds and heat
We really enjoyed our experiences at this resort. The junior suites were very comfortable and spacious enough for a family of 4 to enjoy without getting in each other's way. Grounds and facilities are well maintained. We liked our ability as Barceló Maya Palace guests to use the resort amenities across all of the adjoining Barceló properties. The pools are large and don't feel crowded even at max resort occupancy. Requested resort improvements: 1) Offer guest services via phone rather than requiring all guests to walk to the main building and wait in long lines for things like making/changing dining reservations, asking resort questions, etc. 2) Offer an optional resort tour rather than just providing a resort map. Alternatively, a resort guide book should be offered in each room to answer resort questions, amenities, and offerings (restaurants, kid's club, pool hours, resort transportation, shows, special programs, etc.). Currently, this information has to be found by walking around the resort and reading signs or by waiting in line at the regular or premium/VIP customer service desk. 3) Offer more vegetarian options on the buffets. Most buffet offerings have seafood, meat and/or meat stock in the preparation. NYE buffet = no cooked veg options 4) Find a way to monitor and disallow guests saving pool loungers when they are not using the pool facilities. People reserve chairs at 7, 8 and 9 am even when they are not actively at pool-- leaving no chairs for pool guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Great activities, Restraunt and almost everything are great. Except the beach has lots of sea weeds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Great trip

Posted Dec 20, 2015
This resort is wonderful. The staff is so friendly & helpful. If we needed anything, the staff attended to right away. The food was great, the rooms are large & very clean, and the pools are wonderful. The pool entertainment staff is very friendly. Luis played almost daily with our kids in the pool! The complex does have "the Pirate Pool & surf", which is an additional $20/pp. The resort does give you a $5 coupon, so make sure you have it with you when you go there, otherwise they will not deduct the coupon later from your bill. The boys loved the slides & surfing at that park. There is a dolphinarium but we did not go to it. The beach is rocky in some spots but there is quite a bit of marine life to see (turtles, sting rays, tropical fish). Bring your snorkel gear! We had a wonderful time & we can't wait to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Staff and Facilities

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Pros: Clean and updated facilities, helpful and friendly staff, beautiful location, lots to do.
Cons: The volume of the shows in the evening could be reduced.
Location: So many wonderful archaeological sites and natural wonders nearby - a great location to start day trips from.
My husband and I stayed at the Barcelo Palace this November/December for our honeymoon. We had a garden view room with no upgrades. This has been our third time to the Barcelo Maya resort (first time at the Palace) and every time has been excellent. The biggest upgrade that we noticed was in the a la carte restaurants. They really are amazing at the Palace. The food was varied and of great quality at the buffets and snack bar. The facilities are clean and updated, with something for everyone from couples to families. The staff are always extremely friendly, helpful, and courteous. The beach off of the resort is also amazing - white sand for those that like to swim and bob and some areas with wonderful reefs for those that like to snorkel. There activities throughout the day to engage those that don't care to leave the resort and fun shows in the evening. I think our only complaint the whole stay was that the volume of the speakers in the evening shows was too loud - painful to the ears in fact (my thought: the trumpets probably do not need microphones). We had to leave several shows due to the volume and feedback being so loud (and we seated ourselves at the back of the theater). It is a disservice to the performers who are working really hard and whose work cannot be appreciated. I would recommend Barcelo Maya to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Wonderful property with so much to do for all ages

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Lots to do. Nice facilities. Well kept. Really allowed me to have a vacation.
Cons: Make dinner reservations online or earlier. Better work out facility. More vegetarian choices at the buffets. Better and easier wifi access.
Location: We did not leave the resort.
This was our second visit to Barcelo Maya Palace. This time we celebrated our parents' 60th wedding anniversary with 4 generations of our family - there was something to do for everyone. The facility is beautiful, the rooms at the Barcelo Palace are a good size, the bathroom is a big size and nicely set up. The food was very good - the buffets have a nice variety each day. There are entertaining shows with beautiful costumes every night. The only complaint I have is that it was difficult to get reservations at the restaurants - I recommend doing it immediately upon arrival - it's much easier for smaller groups so splitting up was better, but we often couldn't get a reservation until after 9pm. Also, the gym at the palace is small and has very few machines, 2 of the 4 treadmills were not working. They are opening a very large new facility in December so it should be better then.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from California

What a treat!

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Staff was friendly, knowledgeable, professional, bilingual. Rooms were modern, clean. French & Spanish restaurants were very good, great service!
Cons: Free internet access! Went to caverns of Aktunchen in the jungle and even they had free wifi! Free access at lobby 2 hr/day not enough.Not acceptable.
Location: Driving distance: Aktunchen, caverns. Xel-ha, float down river, zip line, encounters, snorkel. Tulum, pyramids, best photo ops.
Booked a week long stay. First time visitors. Friends had recommended Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe. Lots of activities on the grounds. Plenty of food and drinks all day long! Staff is very kind.