Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Decent hotel, pool was amazing for children

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: The pool was very large and offered many areas to sit so that the guests were never crowded. I enjoyed all the walking between everything.
Cons: General upkeep. Everything is starting to look very run down. Pool tiles coming out while my kids were playing, leaves that could be swept up.
Location: The locations is amazing. Close to so many fun activities such as Xcaret, Tulum, Xelha.
Overall my family had a really great stay here. Most of the staff were super helpful especially Canido at the sushi bar, he went out of his way to make my children feel special with unique drinks and shooters for them. As well as Daniel in the pool area, he was always very helpful bringing drinks and checking if we were okay and needed to order any food or drinks. Sometimes in the main dining area there appears to not be enough staff as it can be quite slow to get drinks and the bill during busy times. However, if you don't have children that like to eat quickly this would not be an issue. The hotel in general is starting to look a little run down and could use some upkeep. For example my children made a game of how many loose tiles they could find in the swimming pool because there were so many. All of the abandoned cages look kind of weird perhaps take them down so the place doesn't look like people just stopped caring about it. My children had a blast in the pool. The pool was huge and never felt crowded. There childrens water park was fun and offered something for my kids to do when they got bored of swimming in the pool. Hector and the entertainment staff also provided quite a few laughs. We saw the Dance Evolution show one night, definitely worth watching!!! The resort should make sure to bring them back. We went kayaking and were lucky enough to see the manatee family. That will be an experience we will not forget as they were within a couple feet of our kayaks!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Not a pleasant stay. Hotel needs a lot of TLC. Close to the X parks but food and amenities were average.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Worst experience in Riviera Maya in 4 yrs

Posted Jan 26, 2017
This hotel looks like it was once a wonderful resort but now looks like it's waitIng to die. The photos on the website are deceiving and clearly taken years ago. The property is enormous but falling apart and very sad looking. Our checkin was disastrous and took forever to complete even tho they had rooms, and the staff was not helpful. We had no idea there was an on-site "zoo" which was so disturbing to see beautiful animals in dirty cages especially when the whole area is supposed to be eco-friendly. There's no beach, the pool area was not inviting, the lounge chairs dirty. The food is bad cafeteria style, we ate off property and I couldn't even eat the breakfast it was so poorly prepared. I'm glad we only stayed one night but it was big downer after 10 wonderful days in Costa Maya. I'm in the service industry and have been for years and this is a hotel experience I would never recommend. The Bel-Air needs some serious overhaul.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Courtenay

Jungle love

Posted Jan 23, 2017
We stayed for 7 days and absolutely loved it. The best part was that it wasn't a "white marble sterile" resort. We sat on our balcony and fed the birds while having coffee, watched Capybaras and Coati's run around, large iguanas sunning themselves on the rocks, just amazing to see! Staff was incredibly welcoming and great sense of humor.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

3.5 , Works well for those NOT going all inclusive

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Natural setting in mangrove. Friendly Staff. Restaurants fine but I didn't eat sushi so was limited.
Cons: Paint goes a long way, get rid of animal enclosures including all current animals. Limited bars for those going all inclusive.
Location: Busing to beach went well as advertised.
Like the natural setting. Sitting on balcony watching wildlife and for most part, quite private due to how buildings laid out. Wasn't expecting a 4 -5 star as this was a discounted resort and that's what we got on a Cyber Monday deal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2017 by Gerente de Atención al huésped:, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: We thank you for taking a few minutes of your valuable time, in the most attentive manner, we give an apology for the incidents that have come to pass, Likewise, you are grateful that you and your family have enjoyed this little paradise. We wish you an excellent day.
3 out of 5
by mario

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Ian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not stay here again

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Cons: Food needs improvement, pool area looks lonely and music was way too loud. No one offered us a bicycle to get around.
Location: Cenotes
All inclusive resorts usually have a very crappy food menu option like this hotel. I think the food was over salted, over sugared and no nutritional value at all. Left over dinner from the night before was served again during breakfast the next day. No salads or fresh vegetables offered. Very poor food quality. The rooms are set in the jungle so you do not get much sunlight at all. Rooms are very dark therefore. Staff seems uninterested especially cleaning lady gives you dirty looks and makes you feel uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by BEL AIR XPUHA, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks for sharing your opinion with us and let us know what made you feel uncomfortable and did not allow that your experiencie here in Bel Air Xpu Ha had been a terrific one. We will focus on this feedback that you are proving us with and we will improve our service in order to make you feel completely delighted. We extend an invitation to you to come back and give us a chance to do it better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Not good

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Best was the staff.
Cons: Think I covered that the hotel review.
Location: Don't know. Unfortunately we were not interested in nearby attractions. Thought we could have a complete vacation onsite and never leave.
It was very disappointing. Didn't know from the info given by Expedia that it was not all inclusive. Thank goodness the staff told us not to upgrade to all inclusive and that it would be less expensive to "pay as you go" . Food was hit or miss ranged from horrible to not bad. High points were: the Mexican buffet on the Saturday night we were there. The sax player was good entertainment that night. Also, high point was Gilberto Balam who waited on us several meals during our stay there. He comforted us and helped us navigate the eating situation. The rooms are rundown. The facility overall is rundown and needs help. The pool wasn't that clean we only went in there one time. If it rains, any outside activities are canceled and not rescheduled. Those poor animals! It was awful to see the badgers, raccoons and cats begging outside the restaurants for food. We could hear the birds in the aviary fighting, the chimps? fighting and being very unhappy. The wild cats should be sent to the nearest zoo or back to Africa. It was awful to have a badger in the restaurant stalking the tables. No air conditioning the restaurants -- I thought I would die there in the August heat trying to eat! The sushi restaurant was OK but it was not sushi as we know it. Don't go there. Expedia please don't offer this place anymore.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for not having exceeded your expectations in every aspect of your stay here with us. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the pertinent departments in order to be addressed and where possible improved. Our guests feedback is very valuable, and the key to allow the constant improvement in order to reach an enduring high quality level in services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and exceed your expectations. Kind Regards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

go somewhere else !

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
it was horrible. I did not have hot water. I called 3 times, they did not believe me, they even told me to wait 20 minutes with hot water on and that it should be warm after. Nothing, a guy came and he said indeed it is not hot but he did not do anything. I ordered room service and I got food poisoning. Because of food poisoning, the next day I ordered rice to feel better: 2 hours to have the rice delivered in my room. Unbelievable! When I left, I told me that about it but they did not care. They even tried to charge me for stuff I did not have (like breakfast, which I did not took because of food poisoning, double charged the room). Please avoid this place and please hotels.com, remove them from your partners !!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and your travel experience.. We are concerned to hear that we have not accomplished our main goal as is to provide the best experience to our guests. I would like to extend you an apology for the inconvenience you had during your stay, we will profit on your remarks as we have high standards in our Food and Bevarages department. Your feedback is very important for us and it helps us to place areas of improvement. Be assured that your comments and feedback are certainly being taken into consideration. We hope to have the honor to host you again, and experience our everyday improvements in our services. Kind Regards,