Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent Boutique Hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: We loved the setting and the location and that it was small.
Cons: I think it is time to invest in some of the infrastructure - the room was lovely and clean, but the shower needed attention to the tile work.
Location: We enjoyed a privileged tour of the Rio Secreto very much.
We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Belmond Maroma. We wanted a small luxury boutique hotel and that is what we found at Belmond Maroma. The staff was excellent. The setting is very romantic. You enter from a very obscure driveway (contrast this with the signs at the mega-resorts and the wide roads and you will know what I mean) and you drive down a long narrow road through the jungle to a rustic stone entryway that is from another time. The staff was attentive, but not intrusive. The food was excellent and the bar was fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2016 by Federico Echaiz, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate your time in sharing your kind comments about your recent stay with us through this platform. I am so glad to know that your experience at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa was fantastic and that you had the opportunity to visit the marvelous sites in the area. Know that your constructive input has been taken in consideration and special attention will be paid to the detailing of the tile work in our short term future investment plans. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to our little paradise. Best regards, Federico Echaiz Managing Director
4 out of 5
by joseph from New York

Go to maroma

Posted Jan 24, 2016 on Hotels
Great old style hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2016 by Federico Echaiz, Hotel Management
Dear Joseph, Thank you for sharing your kind review through this platform. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our unique and authentic style while being embraced by the magical atmosphere our little paradise, Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa is well known for. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon in the not distant future. Best regards, Federico Echaiz Managing Director
5 out of 5
by Marina from New York

Absolute paradise

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
If I could give this hotel 6 stars in every category, I would! We spent 7 days at this property, and every day was perfect! Service was top notch - friendly, professional, knowledgeable, accommodating. The beach was absolutely amazing. The food was tasty. Treatments at the spa were relaxing and extremely good. The hotel was quiet, an absolute getaway. We will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2016
Dear Marina, We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you in our little paradise, Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa. We are glad to know that your experience at our hotel was truly fantastic, while enjoying our traditional handmade hospitality we are well known for. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon to this, your new paradise home away from home. Sincerely, Federico Echaiz Managing Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Belmond Paradise away from home.

Posted Sep 23, 2015
Pros: The intimate setting, staff guest ratio.
Cons: Resturants were not all open, should have told guest before hand.
Location: hotel is great about planning & reserving excursions.
The service was excellent throughout the hotel. All the staff especially Moises in the resturant & Sergio by the beach. Rafa at the hospitality desk.
5 out of 5
by David from Houston

Maroma rocks!

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
I love this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Denver

Nice and quiet, right on the beach.

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, pools, great place to relax. and do very little.
Cons: Restaurants, + a few small sailing boats.
Location: The usual, visit Playa de Carmen (not much there anymore, same shops as in Miami or Chicago, and non-descript food), go to Cozumel, Tulum, etc..
Very pleasant hotel, right on the beach. We could not swim in the ocean that much, due to algae proliferation, but had a good time anyway. The pools are very attractive, 20+ meters long for swimming, and an excellent purification system with no chlorine taste. The restaurants could be improved, given the somewhat isolated location, with daily grilled fish or specials. The menu gets repetitive after a few evenings. I thought that the price point was high given the overall comfort and amenities.
5 out of 5
by Liana from Chicago

Amazing Experience

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel is a dream come true. They all make you feel welcome and have incredible attention to detail. The food is delicious, the atmosphere relaxing and luxurious. Can't ask for more.
5 out of 5
by Peter from New York

Amazing place and fantastic service

Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels
The beach is beautiful. The rooms are great. The food is amazing. The staff do a great job of learning your name and being very helpful. It can get expensive, but you get what you pay for (in a good way). I'd love to come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rhonda from boca raton

Beautiful beach front hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Pools just because most people use beach and there is no action around pools.
Location: Location is very private . The town though is a quick cab away.
I have traveled all over the world and have never have experienced some wonderful care & service. I felt like I was home. The staff were so caring and friendly. The hotel was amazingly gorgeous. They have kept the mexican tradition alive in this hotel. They have a lady that comes on a daily basis and makes tortillas for the guests. The food was five star. I can go on and on. Amazing!