Ratings based on 2,088 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Great facilities. Bland food.

Posted Jul 28, 2016
We stayed close to the pool/beach. Transportation to the clubs/shops was frustrating. Pool staff was excellent. They really go out of their way. Food was bland. It won't make you sick, but it won't make you ecstatic. Very nice facilities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Japan

広くていいが、、

Posted Jul 26, 2016
フロントから部屋までが遠くカート移動が大変で膝の悪い義理母と一緒だったが、カートのサービスは時間制限があって、歩けない方には不便さを感じました。しかし最終日にわかったのが、24時間対応するってことで、スタッフ同士がサービス自体把握していないし、本来予約していたオーシャンビューも違う部屋を渡されたり手違いがいっぱいでした。でも広くて開放的な施設でした。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl.

Nice hotel, good food, great employees!!

Posted Jul 26, 2016
We really enjoyed our vacations at this hotel! The room was clean and spacious. Needed some more furniture, like a small sofa or a table with 2 chairs. The food at the restaurants buffet, was fresh and well presented. For dinner, we could pick each night, a different a la carte restaurant , without any limitations or numbers of nights! Great! The best , the French one. The cream of mango soup was a delicates! The only thing that this hotel needs to improve, is somehow , try to get some fresh air at the lobby area! The check in and out is a nightmare , because of the heat. Felt really bad about the employees working at the front. In general, satisfied for the money we paid!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Screw Bee Do says Blue Bay is an aging property

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: The food was pretty good.
Cons: The buildings are old. The beach is really bad. The pool needs to be re-tiled.
Location: Xplor Playa Del Carmen Xcaret
I've left a review on Youtube. So if you want to actually see some footage of the property and food then search for Screw Bee Do and Blue Bay. I give the resort 3.5 stars. I wasn't able to split the star on this review and it's closer to a 3 star than a 4 star. The property is getting old and it shows. I stayed in building 1 and building 5. Both were disappointing. The grounds were nice but nothing stood out as grand...except the entry structure off the highway and the lobby. I liked the food my family didn't. There is a 24 hour pizza bar that was pretty good. Buffets had lots of variety. Ala carte restaurants require a reservation and they will only book 1 day in advance. There is a burger stand near the pool. Meh...it's ok. My favorite place to eat was the steak house. I tried the Italian and it was ok. The pool needs to be re-tiled. The beach is awful. From the beach, walk about 10 minutes north to find the lagoon. It's natural spring water and it's awesome. It's a large property so there's plenty of walking or waiting for a tram. I prefer to walk. Service was friendly, but don't expect 5 star service. I tip a dollar here and there. The staff never seemed to expect a tip, unlike some resorts.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

review

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Cons: Air conditioning in rooms
the hotel overall was great , great food, great staff, very helpful and polite. the only issue we had with the hotel was the air conditioning in our room. It was'nt working. We were there 5 days and everyday they would say someone will come and see what the problem is. they finally fixed it a day before we had to check out. That was the only upsetting part of the trip. Everything else was great. Would recommend this hotel but stay away from building 1.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome facility....

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Overall everything was good. The service was great and the animation staff were great as well!! We were disappointed with the beach, and the room air conditioning definitely needs to be upgraded!! Looking forward to coming back...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Great place to vacation.

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: Food, pools, staff, bars
Cons: beach
Location: The town of Playa Del Carmen was great, we loved 5th Avenue We had so much fun, we barely left the resort
Loved the entire place, clean, well groomed, great staff, happy people, very convenient bars and restaurants. Great food, we had a blast
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2016 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City MO

Great Resort with however much you want to do

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: The room, grounds, pools, food, bars, staff.
Cons: The beach, I know its from the River flowing in, but was not much of a beach. Plenty of other things to do and the pools were wonderful
Location: Located on the ocean, was a 20 minute ride to shopping on 5th Ave. We had lunch out a couple times to try the local fair, and it was great
Great rooms, always found carts to get us from one part to another. The food was great. We loved the pools and the bars by the pools. People were always happy and staff was very friendly. Wonderful place for a vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2016 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando Fl

Nice hotel close to the beach and nature green

Posted Jun 25, 2016
It was a Wonderful experince, excellent attention by the staff members good facilities and food, entertainment all the time. My only concern need to improve souvenirs and other items prices, are little high.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2016 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great vacation

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Overall had amazing experience at Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda resort. Very pleasant and nice, always ready to help stuff. Delicious food....Definitely worth going)