Ratings based on 2,180 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Beach was awful and no free activities

Posted May 25, 2017
No one warned us that the beach was absolutely disgusting before we booked the hotel. There were seaweed and debris spread ALL over and it was brown and gross. Also, every single fun activity costed money. So no, everyone, nothing is really included, even though they say snorkeling, kayaking, sailing, etc. is. AND THERE IS NO SWIM UP BAR. On a brighter note, if anyone has the opportunity to go on a snorkeling excursion (costs about $89 per person) or the Chichen Itza ruins excursion (about $239 per person---ridiculous price in my opinion), I would highly recommend. Your tour will be amazing if you have Cesar as your guide. Also, if you go sailing, get on the guy's good side because he will take you to another resort to go swimming in a nice ocean and natural cenotes that our resort didn't have to offer. Overall, don't stay here guys. Not worth it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't come back

Posted May 14, 2017
Rooms are outdated, food is not that good. Definitely not a 4 star resort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

The property/grounds are beautiful and well kept

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: It's 2 resorts in 1. If you're not VIP; you'll know it. However, if you are VIP; then you'll be treated as such. It's really SAD!
Cons: Treat ALL of your new customers with the same respect and grace as the ones who have chosen to return again; and your customer base might grow.
Location: Location is outside of Playa-del-Carmen but a $5 cab ride into the city area, there is always plenty to do/see.
Beware Dining Reservations – There are apparent specific dress criteria; but the Concierge staff does not state this to the guest(s) prior to making the reservation! Beware Spa/Gym Users – There is an apparent additional charge to use the pool or gym in the spa facility. I couldn’t locate this anywhere in the Guest services booklet, and was not notified of this during the check-in process. We were told by the concierge who brought us to our room; to explore and enjoy all of the resorts all-inclusive amenities/options. I thought this was amazing, before being promptly thrown out of the gym unless we paid an additional $35 per person/per day to use the facility…so the apparent touted all-inclusive resort, really isn’t all-inclusive; unless you’re a VIP. non-VIP members are not treated very well at this resort. Beware Breakfast Meetings – If the hotel concierge invites you to breakfast the morning after check-in, you might want to pay closer attention! This is the hotels marketing promotion/method of attempting to have you buy their referral/vacation-share setup. If you’re into this sort of thing; they by all means have at it…but if it’s not your thing – then you can’t say you haven’t been forewarned upfront. The Blue Bay marketing staff are not calling this a time-share; but you can put lipstick on the pig anyway you want it – it’s 90 minutes out of your day; for a $100 voucher you can use anywhere on the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice beach hotel

Posted May 8, 2017
Lovely hotel friendly staff excellent food especially a la carte. Entertainment excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N. Versailles PA

Very nice resort.

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: There's a lot to like--beautiful setting, nice rooms, activities and helpful staff.
Cons: Run all the ceiling fans during nightly shows! Sometimes the food seemed to cool pretty fast.
Location: I think their beach is the nicest of the neighboring resorts we saw walking the beach. We enjoyed snorkeling. We relaxed at the resort all week.
My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Blue Bay Grand. Our room was clean and comfortable and well stocked. The pool at the beach was great! From what we saw, Blue Bay has the nicest beach among neighboring resorts. Yeah, there was a lot of seaweed, but that's nature. We just rolled with it. The food quality and selection was very good. Some things are apparently culturally different, especially desserts, but we tried things anyway. You can always find something you like. There are plenty of activities. The shows are entertaining--although it got really hot in the room! The staff we interacted with were very pleasant and helpful. We especially want to thank Victor, our waiter at breakfast and lunch at Jaal-Ha. He remembered our drink preferences at both meals and didn't even have to ask! He set us up for a private lunch one day on the terrace outside overlooking the beach. I didn't get to tell him, but that day happened to be our 30th anniversary, so it was a special memory for us. We wouldn't hesitate to go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice all inclusive for the price

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Good place to take the family. Our kids are grown and we're empty nesters, so we'll probably try more of an adult only resort next time, like the Blue
Cons: The first two days, maid service was good, rooms were cleaned before noon. but after a few days, it was late afternoon/ early evening before someone c
Overall a nice place for the price. Staff were mostly friendly and helpful. Big shout out to Benjamin who worked in the outdoor dining by the pool and the French restaurant, friendly service was an A++. Krystal in the lounge and Victor Lopez are also exceptional people. Plenty of activities and entertainment throughout the day. Probably one of the longest beachfront of any resort in that area. About 30 minutes to get to Cancun or 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas nevada

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Very nice hotel food is excellent and so is the service We had a nice room close to the beach For sure will come back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Relaxing week by the pool

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: The staff was very friendly and the pool area was terrific.
Cons: Back-off on the time-share pressure.
Location: Xel-Ha and Tulum tour was great. Got a chance to explore the ruins of Tulum and then finish the day with snorkeling at Xel-ha.
The pools were fabulous! Lots of activities for kids and families. Plenty of chairs in the sun and shade. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We were disappointed with our room. It was located near the pool which was very convenient until evening when we were trying to sleep and could hear all the pedestrian traffic heading back to their buildings. It got pretty loud. We also narrowly avoided the time-share seminar. We did not enjoy being pressured into attending the 2.5 hour "breakfast" and felt harassed for the first few days of our stay to attend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, Texas

Not really a 4 star hotel, more like 3 stars.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Amazing service staff.
Cons: Not enough space to list everything. Lots of improvement needed. This is not a 4 star hotel.
Service staff was excellent, lobby not so much. Very disorganized, upon arrival we had to wait almost 4 hours because room was not ready. Management not available to answer any concerns. Food was so, so. Restaurants are not good, actually only 3 of them are restaurants; the other ones are same place as buffet just added white tablecloth and lighting was terrible so you couldn't really see what you are eating. Mexican restaurant was the only one I would recommend, Italian was awful. We have been to Playa Del Carmen for 12 years in a row, this was our first time at Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda and we are definitely not coming back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Couple's vacation

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Many things to do and the pool with the ledge was very nice if you wanted to cool off in the water but not get all the way in the pool.
Cons: Some of the food could have been better but still above average from what you'd expect at an all-inclusive resort.
Location: Good location with quick in and out access. Not far from airport, Cancun or Mayan Ruins
Very nice resort with a lot of activities on-site. The staff were all friendly and very helpful and polite.