Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NYC

Good but needs some finer touches.

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: The pool suite is gorgeous and the beach is nice.
Cons: I almost left before even checking in because of how depressing the lobby was. On Jan 6 they were still playing Christmas songs. Food sub par.
Location: Its in between Mayakoba and Playa del Carmen. Lots of wildlife on property and ~25 min from downtown by cab.
This hotel was beautiful and comparable to others in much higher hotel classes. The rooms were immaculate. However I found the staff unhelpful and at times annoying. The butter which came with the room, for example, answered the phone to help with my needs about 1/10 times. Rooms service took over an hour. And the desk was unable to provide necessities (ex, condoms) at 1 AM because it was "too late."
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

One of the best

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Excellent experience will go to this place again supper staff, food is excellent, amenities 5star
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful Hotel with Great Food and Amazing Staff

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: The food, the jungle, the beach, the views, the bikes, and the wonderful staff. Special thanks to Jonni, Jesus, Cesar, Raul, Jose Luiz, so many more..
Cons: The WiFi isn't always great in the room, but, i mean, you're in a jungle...
Location: We went to Río Secreto one of the days and would recommend! Very close to the hotel and you can float through the waters of underground caves!
We just got back from our honeymoon at Blue Diamond and we had such a wonderful time. We stayed in a Patio Suite with a private pool. The suite we stayed in was a pretty far walk from the beach, but bicycles were provided, and we're bicycle people so that was a big plus (also we ate a lot and needed the exercise). The room itself was beautiful and felt like it was secluded in the jungle, which was so nice and relaxing. We even saw a few Coati's outside the room! There was a fully stocked mini bar when we arrived and the staff restocked it whenever we asked and brought ice. They even put rose petals in the bath/ on the bed for when we arrived. The food was fantastic. Breakfast came with tiny croissants, a variety of different juices, great coffee, and so many delicious egg options! For lunch, you could eat at the nicer aguamarina restaurant or get more sandwich/pub like food at ceviche (which they'll deliver to you on the beach). And for dinner there was Ambar - a fancy restaurant only open for dinner, which in my opinion had the best food (but long pants required for men), or back at the aguamarina restaurant, where they do 3 different themes for dinner (casual wear allowed). The beach was wonderful and the staff was always coming around to bring you drinks/food. The staff was probably the best part of this place. Everyone was so nice and accommodating. Everyone would say hola when you passed and went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time. Can't wait to go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Overall good experience. Limited but good food, no buffet style dining. Bring your laptop if you may need to do something as they have no business center. The facilities may need some upgrade, the restaurant had a roof leak and the same can be said about the room windows. But with all this said, staff was great, good booze, the beach was great as no-one was on it. You caould stay on the beach the entire day as the drinks and food are brough to you. Some activities are included but the extas are a bit.pricey, but this is expected given the price of the stay. If you are staying in one of the rooms overlooking a laguna, feed the turtles. They will be hanging around your deck all day long.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

N

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Condition of the property Condition of the property Condition of the property
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful, clean and quiet

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: For a break from relaxation, head over to Playa del Carmen for nightlife. Only a 15min cab ride
If you're looking for a place to party this is not the one. Blue Diamond is a beautiful resort surrounded by mangroves and nature abounds. The staff is more than eager to please but fall a little short at times. Service by the pool is excellent. On the beach there could be a wait. Plenty of spaces for the guests and doesn't seem crowded. Very peaceful. For an all-inclusive resort I was impressed with the food, the ceviches and the sashimi dishes were very fresh. There are only 2 restaurants and I recommend the fancier one for dinner. On the negative side, they could use a little entertainment at night. Nothing crazy but some music or a little dancing wouldn't hurt. The cigar lounge has potential but was a snooze fest. The spa staff although nice were not very good. I would recommend visiting this resort if you need a relaxing vacation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

It's the small things that make all the difference

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Agree with other reviews, if you want a small, quiet place to recharge this is the place. Always chairs at the pool. Beach closed due to bad weather.
Cons: Not personal - only 68 quests at the hotel, one waiter served us every single day and couldn't remember our names (told him each time)-food often cold
The resort -- grounds and rooms are as seen in the advertisement. PROS: Cenote Laguna Deluxe was beautiful. Suite is very large with separate entry, huge bathroom and bedroom/seating area. The grounds kept beautifully. CONS: After reading numerous reviews, we had high expectations for Blue Diamond. As stated in the title, it's the small things that make ALL the difference. Most resorts can do the big things pretty easily -- room, grounds, pool, etc., but what sets apart a great resort is the attention to detail. This is what we found, unfortunately, missing at the Blue Diamond. Room ~ upon arrival toilet wasn't working (pretty critical item). Took two calls to get someone to repair it. Light in the closet would never go out, as the doors were not aligned to the sensor. Was to be fixed, never was. First night slept with pot lights (around the room) turned down as low as possible, because couldn't get them to turn off. When they were finally turned off, never turned them on again. Phone/TV went out for approx. 18 hours...again, not usually a big deal, but you need to call for everything from getting ice (should be able to do on our own), filling up the bathtub outside (again, should be able to do on our own), to arranging a lift, so you need the phone. Coffee was not replaced the last two days of our stay, and the coffee cups were still dirty after being washed. Food ~ soups were only luke warm. Only one restaurant open for dinner - not a great selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bronx, United States of America

Food and service was excellent

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Stayed 5. Days. A small hotel not like the big party places. Quite, relaxing with 1st rate staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Olympic Peninsula Washington

Fabulous, would return in a heart beat

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Food was great. accommodated select vegetarian changes. Privacy and smaller size facility.
Cons: Concierge should not be steering guests to only a few select activities. Researching on line makes it easy to find other local tours that were great
Location: Great views of caribbean sea, felt private, very quiet. Tours to ruins, biodiversity park, scuba diving, snorkeling, cenotes, shopping, golf, & more
Staff was a lot of fun, food was great, pool was fun, able to relax. Attentive staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fl

Is not about the location is about their staff .

Posted Sep 10, 2016
It's a pretty hotel, rooms are comfy but the ac doesn't work correctly in any area, the don't allow the ac to be less than 73 and Mexico u very hot . The pool are is okay. A little murky and greenish , but the staff is fenomenal. Rosita the hostes of the restaurant is the diamond of the place . Gilberto at the beach will make you feel in heaven, best service ever . Oscar at the bar will always get you what you want , and Martin oversees all this hard workers , Darwin the bellman is amazing always in a good mood. So basically they make you feel at home . Hotel needs maintance for sure . But the food was really good .