Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful!!!!!

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The room, the food, the people working there, the lap pool , the beach, the temascal Love it!!!!
Cons: Soft beds
Location: La Quinta avenida is 20 min from the hotel , there is a lot of things you can do around
Well it was great be pick up at the airport by from a company working direct with the hotel, the driver was very courteous and nice . the check in was very easy we didn't have to wait until 3 we arrive early and we continue to the the room immediately. The property is enormous so a golf car take us to the room.From the lobby to the beach is about a mile the hotel also have bikes that you can use to move around which is great. The room is incredible big very, clean the bathroom had a doble showers with a door in the middle that open to a little pool outside the room the bet was a little hard for me but was ok. The bar was well equipped unfortunately we don't drink hard liquor, but we did take advantage of the water in the refrigerator and the juices I love the room so much it was like to be in my own house with luxury. The restaurants are really good the food was delicious, from breakfast to diner it was like a work of art on a plate but enough food to be satisfied all the food in the three restaurants were excellent, the drinks also very good . But the best thing was the service all the people working there was the best!!!! Courteous, gentile really really great people !!!! The only downside is the insistence to buy a membership to the hotel , but it was ok they have to do their job !!! I will come back in a future
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Amazing place and nice people......................................."................"..........................
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fullerton, CA

Great staff & great value

Posted May 2, 2016
The location is great! There is so much value for what you pay for. My wife loves the room and view of the beach from the pools. The food is amazing as well. 2 years ago I stayed at Viceroy, I feel the the same for both.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely Disappointed

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: The people were all very friendly and the "jungle" setting is very pretty!
Cons: The level of service, the food options and quality (FRESH fruit is needed!!), hotel upkeep and attention to detail is lacking and it shows!
It's obvious the hotel is no longer under management from the Mandarin Hotel chain. The facility isn't being well maintained and it shows. The "snack bar" by the beach is in disrepair, the grounds by the ritual had not been cleaned in weeks. The beach area is small and cramped and was filthy with seaweed! The room was not cleaned until after 5:00pm and there was no turn down service at night. People who stay in 5-star hotels are used to a level of quality and service that this hotel no longer provides. We ordered nachos and the shrimp cocktail one day and both were disgusting! The nachos were cold, limp and the cheese was obviously from a can. The shrimp was swimming in a red, watery sauce! At breakfast, I was told the orange juice was fresh squeezed, but it clearly was not - it tasted like Tang! When I asked, the waiter said they ran out of oranges! For a tropical location, the fruit was horrible! All the berries were served in a wine sauce which was disgusting and when we asked for FRESH fruit, they brought us un-ripened melon slices. Almost the entire breakfast menu consists of eggs - there should be many more options at this type of hotel. I was very disappointed. I stayed at the Fairmont Mayakoba 2 years ago and absolutely LOVED it. The only reason I decided to try a different hotel this time was because of the Mandarin name and reputation. I was very disappointed in the overall lack of service and quality at the Blue Diamond. Stay at the Fairmont instead!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from jersey city, NJ

Nice quiet resort great for a relaxing getaway

Posted Apr 13, 2016
This resort is ideal if you just want to relax and get away. Beach was nice and facilities and very well maintained. Food was extremely good and staff always friendly. Was there for my honeymoon and thought it was ideal for the occasion.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Amazing privat me stay close to beach

Posted Apr 5, 2016
It was not a typical hotel or resort room.. Gives access to mangroves , beach , amazing food and infinity pool access and some of the best cocktails all served by smiling people!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sheffield

Not a five star hotel anymore

Posted Mar 12, 2016
We were disappointed with our stay at the blue diamond. The hotel did not seem to have been maintained very well over the last few years and a lot of the activities listed on the website were not available on site. The all inclusive package was good and the staff generally very nice, but this hotel has deffinately seen better days. I would only stay here if you are happy reading a book all week, and nothing else.
5 out of 5
by Lucy from San Francisco

Highly Recommend!! Five Stars!!!!

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
I loved our stay at the Blue Diamond Rivieria! The hotel staff was super friendly and we had the most relaxing vacation. Can't wait to visit resort next year!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denton TX

Relaxing!!

Posted Mar 5, 2016
The staff was awesome and the resort was relaxing. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Relaxing getaway with great food

Posted Mar 1, 2016
My wife and I have been to other resorts, but have always returned home dissatisfied with the food and the noise. That was not the case with Blue Diamond. This resort didn't have the crazy techno thing going at the pool. Rather, the beach and pool were relaxing. The food was all served in a la carte restaurants, and the food was excellently prepared. Overall, we returned home very pleased.