Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Home away from home

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Location: It is 1/2 block off 5th Avenue and 3 blocks from the beach, so endless opportunities to do whatever you want, or stay back and relax by the pool.
I stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks, and would go back in a heartbeat. It is a very small hotel, so when you are there, it is like you are a part of the family. There are many people there who return year after year. The staff all take pride in their hotel, so work very hard at keeping it clean and comfortable for the guests. Maria and her staff serve an excellent breakfast every morning in the outdoor kitchen next to the pool. I loved relaxing in my hammock on the balcony, shaded by the palm trees.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Colleen

Beautiful property off Quinta Ave

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
I had a wonderful stay at Bric Hotel. It's a beautiful and well managed property just off of Quinta Ave. and a few short blocks to the beach. The staff were all very friendly and went out of their way to help guests and make us feel welcome. The morning breakfasts are amazing, everything you could want to start the morning with a different hot entree every day. The rooms are a decent size and are kept very clean. The only reason I didn't give Bric 5 stars is because their proximity to very loud bars which had super loud bassy music pulsing late into the night (this was during the BPM festival week) and the sound came right into my room (I had a streetside balcony). But the rooms that weren't on the street side were much quieter and have lovely balconies and views of the pool and garden area. I'd still highly recommend this hotel--but maybe bring some ear plugs.
5 out of 5
by irma

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
loved my stay, i wish i could have stayed longer. cute, quaint hotel with friendly staff, especially Arturo at the front desk. Bric hotel is a great place to stay- you're only a few short feet from the main shopping street and in walkable distance to the beach. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by Harriett

Clean small hotel but noisy bar area

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
The breakfast every morning was made to order, with a rotating menu. The front desk service is kind. The room however is extremely small. The air conditioning is loud and breaking after a few days. The hot water pressure is weak and takes a while to get hot. The location is very centralized, but on the weekends, the music from bars nearby is deafening and don't stop till past 2am, not the most ideal for family stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Close to 5th Ave

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Cons: More sturdy hooks in room and bathroom would be helpful for hanging towels, clothing, snorkels and dive gear.
Location: Best bet for a more authentic (& much cheaper) experience is to go several blocks away from 5th Ave and to side streets. LOTS of great food and shops.
Boutique hotel with excellent staff 0.5 block from 5th Ave which is very tourist centered. 5th Ave is like a (much) smaller version of NYC's Times Square. Many restaurants, shops and street hawkers. We were there over New Year's. Celebrating was audible outside of room (direct access to private baloncy) till nearly 6am. Fortunately, room was relatively quiet. Time of year was too crowded for us but at other times of year, Playa del Carmen is lovely, albeit touristy. Staff was amazing: So friendly and helpful. Included breakfast each morning was different each day with 3 courses and excellent. Pool is idyllic, centered in courtyard with balconies overlooking. Room was spartan but pefectly fine and clean. We aren't in Mexico to stay in the room afterall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Holyoke, Massachusetts USA

Great spot, close to everything.

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Second year staying at the Bric! The staff is wonderful--starting with Abriel, who made the details of stay perfect; Carlos, who was helpful with all questions about the Bric and the surroundings; the housekeeping staff were always there and never, ever in the way and especially the woman who ran the cocina and made the most delicious breakfast every morning. Out 3 week stay was just perfect.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I don't recommend.

Posted Oct 19, 2016
The room was smaller than I expected Every night I found a cantipede in a bathroom. The terrible thing was that the woman cook at the restaurant only speak Spanish. She even cannot understand easy words in English. I had a worst time whenever I eat a breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016
We enjoy coming back to this hotel....it is small, quiet and quaint.....close to restaurants. The staff are wonderful!