Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Home away from home

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Location: It is 1/2 block off 5th Avenue and 3 blocks from the beach, so endless opportunities to do whatever you want, or stay back and relax by the pool.
I stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks, and would go back in a heartbeat. It is a very small hotel, so when you are there, it is like you are a part of the family. There are many people there who return year after year. The staff all take pride in their hotel, so work very hard at keeping it clean and comfortable for the guests. Maria and her staff serve an excellent breakfast every morning in the outdoor kitchen next to the pool. I loved relaxing in my hammock on the balcony, shaded by the palm trees.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Close to 5th Ave

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Cons: More sturdy hooks in room and bathroom would be helpful for hanging towels, clothing, snorkels and dive gear.
Location: Best bet for a more authentic (& much cheaper) experience is to go several blocks away from 5th Ave and to side streets. LOTS of great food and shops.
Boutique hotel with excellent staff 0.5 block from 5th Ave which is very tourist centered. 5th Ave is like a (much) smaller version of NYC's Times Square. Many restaurants, shops and street hawkers. We were there over New Year's. Celebrating was audible outside of room (direct access to private baloncy) till nearly 6am. Fortunately, room was relatively quiet. Time of year was too crowded for us but at other times of year, Playa del Carmen is lovely, albeit touristy. Staff was amazing: So friendly and helpful. Included breakfast each morning was different each day with 3 courses and excellent. Pool is idyllic, centered in courtyard with balconies overlooking. Room was spartan but pefectly fine and clean. We aren't in Mexico to stay in the room afterall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Holyoke, Massachusetts USA

Great spot, close to everything.

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Second year staying at the Bric! The staff is wonderful--starting with Abriel, who made the details of stay perfect; Carlos, who was helpful with all questions about the Bric and the surroundings; the housekeeping staff were always there and never, ever in the way and especially the woman who ran the cocina and made the most delicious breakfast every morning. Out 3 week stay was just perfect.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I don't recommend.

Posted Oct 19, 2016
The room was smaller than I expected Every night I found a cantipede in a bathroom. The terrible thing was that the woman cook at the restaurant only speak Spanish. She even cannot understand easy words in English. I had a worst time whenever I eat a breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016
We enjoy coming back to this hotel....it is small, quiet and quaint.....close to restaurants. The staff are wonderful!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bc, canada

Great location but noisy a/c

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Located right in the middle of playa and just a couple of blocks from the beach. The rooms were clean but the a/c and fan were so noisy that we had trouble sleeping. The staff was not as friendly as other people had mentioned before, in fact they treated gursts as they were a nuisance and the breakfast was tiny for anyone's standards. I would only recommend this hotel because of it's location and price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Supposed to be all inclusive and extremely small room with no working air conditioning
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Holyoke, MA, USA

Very nice, budget friendly, boutique hotel.

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Pros: The staff! Abriel, at the front desk was exceptional. Carlos was also very welcoming & helpful. They all were pleasant, friendly & spoke english.
Cons: The air conditioning was a tad bit noisy, but we got used to it quickly.
Location: Fabulous location near 5th & 10th avenues, but not to close as to hear the nighttime noise. A very short 5 minute walk to Mamita's beach area.
A fabulous 3 week stay in paradise. The hotel was perfect. We stayed in room 28 on the second floor in the back corner of the grounds. The room overlooked the gorgeous gardens and pool. The room itself was comfortable with a great bed, spacious bathroom, flat screen TV, small refrigerator, ceiling fan and a lovely deck with hammock, 2 chairs and a generous size coffee table. We utilized the deck for morning breakfasts and the occasional take home dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Traverse City, MI

Great staff, close to the beach.

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Pros: Location, the staff, the smallness. bottled water, toiletries. You are treated like family and everyone has an authentic smile and welcome.
Cons: The only thing was the pool was not cleaned very frequently. However when I asked, it was immediately taken care of. We did get some good wind/rain.
Location: Walking to the beach: 3 minutes. Authentic restaurants in walking distance for real Mexican food. Stay away from 5th avenue food.
All of the staff I encountered were great! From the front desk to maintenance and housekeeping, as well as the gal that created exquisite breakfasts.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Mosquitoes and Cold Water

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Nice Location
Cons: Mosquitoes in rooms. Please use a spray
This is a nice hotel close to 5th Avenue and is very convenient. My only complaint would be the mosquitoes in my room that drove me nuts and the cold water in the shower that required to be fixed.