Ratings based on 1,325 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mexico, df

Muy buen hotel para pasar las vacaciones

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Los servicios que incluye así como sus instalaciones y amenidades
Cons: El ruido que genera algún motor que por allí tiene, que se escuchaba del lado donde tenía mi ihabitacion
Location: Al incluir todo el hotel, no tuve necesidad de salir, pero muy cerca está Xcaret y otros cenotes
Experiencia muy grata que nos deja un buen sabor de boca para volver a regresar en las próximas vacaciones, felicidades Catalonia
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wayne, NJ

Great experience, superior service

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Great experience. Hotel staff upgraded is to sister property Catalonia Playa Maroma as they didn't have the bed type we had requested. Services from check in, to restaurants variety, and activities were diverse and excellent. This was one of our best family vacations. We will be exploring your other properties for our next vacation. Thank you Expedia for the recommendation and Catalonia for making our vacation a success
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Nice place,

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Need to improve some details to get four stars, no closet in rooms, plastic glasses?, additional fees for upgrades?, most of the personnel are friendly, not all of them.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Good hotel staff was ok

Posted Jul 24, 2016
The only thing I didn't like was that there was no enough chairs at the pool
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great hotel with kind staff and incredible view!

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Location: Puerto Aventuras is a great place to visit walking distance or by bike. Also the hotel have tours to visit different cultural sites.
This is the second time we visited Catalonia Riviera Maya and we were very happy with our time at the resort! The staff is very kind and friendly. The entertainment team is great. Israel from the entertainment team is a gentleman. The Lion King and the Mexican Show were our favorites! The staff at the restaurant are service oriented and have always a smile on their faces. Mayoli, Rebecca and other staff from El Mercado were great servers. Asai from the front desk was very welcoming and helpful. My brother and sister in law went with us and they were also impressed with the service they received from the staff. The food was delicious and the activities and water sports were great. Puerto Aventuras is a great place to walk to from the hotel. We have great memories from Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort and Spa!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san antonio tx

Nice hotel, beach front

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Nice staff, nice hotel, ( hacienda style) beach front, beach is a little rocky but still nice, very close to xcaret, playa del Carmen, tulum, very clean rooms. The Japanese restaurant is awesome and so is the steak restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OK

Our little piece of heaven.

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Love the improvements in the beach over the last year. The suites are spectacular, and the spa is a great luxury.
Cons: My ONLY recommendation would be to make the pool bars adults only. Just wish parents would do this on their own.
Location: Tons of things to do nearby, dolphins, cenotes, ruins, etc.
This is our 11-12? time at this hotel. We continue to return because we have found that this resort has everything we want. The location, amenities, and rooms are outstanding. But, it is the staff that makes us return every year, and sometimes more than once a year. They greet us just as we greet them, as loved family members. We have known some of them for 10 years. Love the relationships we have built. We take vacations to other places, but we will always return to The Cat!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Beautiful, friendly staff

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Well designed resort, everything is a quick walk from the rooms. The staff was amazing always helpful and friendly. We had some issues with our air conditioning and they worked very hard to get it working. The beach on the left is pretty rocky, but once you get past the rocks there are a lot of fish to see, lots of snorkeling right off the beach. Lots of thing to see on the lagoon side as well. The Japanese restaurant was great, everyone enjoyed it. We also enjoyed the steakhouse, the food was good. The buffets had something for everyone, you could always find something you liked. Town is a quick walk maybe 10 minutes. There are lots of little shops, restaurants, and a dolphin and manatee discovery.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Outstanding Experience

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Friendly staff, amazing food, fun bartenders, beautiful resort. The entertainment and nightlife were amazing. This resort surpassed my expectations by far.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Amazing stay. Clean, quite and very comfortable rooms. The staff goes out of their way to greet you and make you feel welcome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your vacation at our Resort. We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future; it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again! Best Regards