Ratings based on 1,339 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Has everything we like

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Great staff food is good beach is real nice can snorkel right there nightly shows
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Would love to go back

Posted Sep 1, 2016
My boyfriend and I stayed at the Catalonia for five nights in the end of August. Our stay was great. I have stayed at several Caribbean resorts before and this was one of my favorites. There is a variety of activities, countless pools and bars, and so much to do. We did upgrade to privileged upon arrival and it was definitely worth it. The entire staff was beyond friendly from check in right up to check out. Some restaurants were better than others but I was presently surprised by how good the a la carte was because I had read some bad reviews. The beach has very smooth rocks in the water but nothing you can't touch. Everything was clean and the drinks were great. Our view from our upgraded room was incredible. It is about an hour from the airport, but in my opinion completely worth it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from h

Nice hotel, small beach area

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Overall nice area conveniently located close to both Tulum and Playa del Carmen. The staff is very nice, room is cleaned daily, but food quality mediocre. The beach area is quite small and does not lend itself to many activities other than wading around in chest deep water (not a good area for snorkeling). Because of the location there are many excursions to be had within a 30min drive- highly recommend a cenote or two and Dolphinarius. Do not waste your time on a "special breakfast " to receive a coupon book-it's a sales pitch that wastes and entire morning ( not 90min).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome choice for resorts in Riviera Maya

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Our stay at Catalonia was absolutely incredible! The hotel is great because it's farther away from the tourist district so it's more authentic. The resort is in a gated community that has a marina. It's super safe to walk around the community and there is a dolphin discovery within minutes by foot. The resort is right on the beach and you can go snorkeling in the reefs or lagoon right on the ocean. There are a lot of fish and corals to look at while you're snorkeling. The catamaran ride was so much fun. We went really far out into the open ocean and back. I was worried about the reviews because they were fairly mixed about the food, but we loved the food! The buffets had a lot of choices and the Hibachi restaurant was amazing! I highly recommend this resort to anyone!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from V

Very nice hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2016
The only thing that I didn't like was the check in wait time from 10:30 am until 3:05 pm with 2 kids and no sleep on that date cause we left home from the date before at 7:30 pm. The entertainment is excellent most for French people but that's ok, we understand their money Value more in Mexico than ours. The food in every restaurant was excellent, kids club is excellent for parents to have some free time Irma took a great care of our daughter!!! The pools are very clean, bartenders are great big plus to Alfonso from the beach bar!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from capon bridge, West Virginia

Great resort with an awesome staff

Posted Aug 8, 2016
My wife and I celebrated our 10 year anniversary this past week and had a marvelous time. We upgraded to the honeymoon package, had a great room with lots of perks. The staff are all so friendly along with 5 pools and the beach, we will definitely be coming back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Wedding at CAT

Posted Aug 7, 2016
The staff is excellent, can't do enough for you. The AC in our room broke and they moved us immediately. Due to the kindness and attentiveness of the staff this mishap was no biggie.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This was second time to the resort

Posted Aug 7, 2016
At both stays we found the resort excellent clean friendly and very good. From the staff to the restaurants. We were at the busiest time and the slow times, both times there was no difference in service
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny, ny

Ok good the price

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Went there for the 9 days with my family. The kids they loved it. The food isn't that good. Seemed like the chef and cooks were brought from else where but Mexico. For the cheap price of this resort it wasn't bad, However if you can afford a different place, go to other place. Staff and all workers were great specially at the pool bar. Bar tender named Guadalupe he's was awesome.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great property with a lot of value

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Catalonia was a great experience, with excellent amenities and access to pools and beaches. The staff service was above and beyond. I would highly recommend. You get plenty of bang for your buck.