Ratings based on 1,192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Great Hotel, very nice beach, clean friendly peopl

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Food, Workers very friendly, beach was nice, daily entertainment.
Cons: Need a "Smokers Area" for the beach and one side for non smokers so people can enjoy the fresh air instead of the tobacco.
Location: Many different parks and activities available but its a 20-30 minute travel if not more.
Really liked this place, this was my first time here but my wife has been here before. We enjoyed our stay with constant entertainment/light shows during the evening time and the food was great, there was variety from day to day. Streak restaurant was the best though, steak was cooked perfect and was soft and juicy, definitely delicious. The beach was clean, crisp see through water most of the days, other days we had seaweed wash in but that's normal. We had one of the modern rooms Im guessing they were remodeled, was very comfortable and nice. One bad thing though is there were a lot of smokers, since the hotel beach is small all the smoke would end up in the air around you creating a very bad atmosphere. There was no "smokers" area so everyone was smoking all around the beach which was terrible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Get Away!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Amazing!!!!!! Excellent customer service. We had a Blast, we didn't want to leave there. 😊
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Our warmest thanks for your fantastic and kind comment, we are very grateful to hear that you had a pleasant and gratifying experience with us. We'll be waiting for you for your next trip, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again. Best Regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Quiet adult only hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 17, 2016
We had a great stay. This is perfect for a quiet beach getaway for couples. The food was good but not great. The quality of the beach, privacy at the beach, and the cleanliness of the hotel were all perfect. We enjoyed making short excursions in a rental car from the property and had great access to a lot of activities. Perfect sand and no vendors on the beach.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So far, the best beach !!! Pretty nice and clean

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Our experience was wonderful, excelent customer service. All the team of the hotel are friendly!!! Every body must be there. Unforgettable vacation
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wayne, NJ

Great Relaxing Resort

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness of the overall facility. The walk through the mangroves was stunning. Beach was amazing.
Cons: Nightlife could be better
Location: Not sure what was to do nearby. We did not do any excursions this year.
We stayed last year at another Catalonia in Riviera Maya and decided to try Tulum this year. The grounds are spectacular, food was delicious. Staff, one was nicer than the other. Could not complain about anything. The only downfall was the activities. The Catalonia Resort & Spa had much more activities and entertainment. Night life was not that great, however would not stop me from returning. Definitely get a bang for the buck. Definitely going back.
Comment from Hotel Management
by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Doreen, Thank you for your review and for staying at Catalonia. We are very grateful to hear that you had a nice experience with us and that you enjoyed the services and facilities. We'll be waiting for you for your next trip, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again. Best Regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Perfect Relaxing Getaway!

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Service, beach, pool, food. Service. Did I mention the service?!?!
Cons: I think the towel service could be tweaked so people can have more than one beach towel. I think that one more server for the beach would be helpful.
I read review after review before deciding to stay at the CRT. It is very much a couples retreat (though I went with a dear friend....I'm sure people thought we were a couple, oh well). There is not much night life, nor are there strollers, kids, or young adult partiers. Exactly what I wanted (I'm in my late 30's). A quiet, relaxing vacation. The beach is exquisite! White powder sand. Clear water. There are workers continuously cleaning to make sure it stays that way. Beach chairs and pool chairs are plentiful. Lots of shade on the beach provided by palm trees. Each day you get a towel, which is exchanged in your room in the evening. My only real complaint is that I would have liked to have 2 towels per person: two towels to completely cover the lounge chair or one to lay on and one to dry with. Regarding the service: I have never seen workers at a resort/hotel work so hard to make sure that everything is perfect. Giovanni in particular made us feel very welcome upon arrival. Clean stone pathways, drinks, amazing dining experiences. The food is hands down the best I've had at a resort/hotel. So much to choose from! There were so many dining options for dinner that none of the restaurants felt crowded and we only once had a short wait (for the Tapas restaurant, but that's because there are so few tables). I would definitely stay at the CRT if I return to this part of Mexico. Well done!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kim, On behalf of the Staff and Management of our Resort, we would like to thank the time you are taking to share your feedback. We are very grateful to hear that you had a good experience with us and that you enjoyed the services and facilities. We'll be waiting for you for your next trip, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again. Best Regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from philadelphia, PA

A quiet beach getaway...

Posted Jun 30, 2016
My boyfriend and I were looking for a place we could relax together and get away from the world- we found it! I had such a wonderful time even though the first two days of our stay were rainy. The staff truly tries to make your stay as comfortable as possible and they were all so friendly and warm. It was a trip that I'll never forget and I was fully satisfied with every aspect of my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Chelsea, A warm thank you for your amazing review and for choosing us. It is nice to know that you had a nice trip and that you enjoyed our facilities and services. We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future; it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again! Best Regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Small resort with plenty of beachfront.

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: beach and drinks were great. The staff for activities were fun.
Cons: Need to address the dangerously slippery floors when it rains.
The major problem that we had was because of rain. The floor were so slippery. My daughter fell down the steps. We witness another guest falling outside the pizza place. The other members of our party had near misses for falling. I felt like I was walking on ice. The walks and floors looked beautiful. However, they were very slippery. Why would you paint floors to make them more slippery. Otherwise, our visit was nice. Getting towels for the beach was a challenge too. The beach and the drinks were great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Babs, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your vacation at our Resort. It is nice to know that you had a spectacular trip and that you enjoyed our facilities and services. We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future; it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again! Best Regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eagle Mountain, Utah

Loved the beach!

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Enjoyed our stay at Catalonia. I'm a beach person who was looking for a great beach when trying to find a hotel in Mexico. I think I found it. The beach here did not disappoint. Very beautiful! Staff was very nice, service was good. Overall a great place to stay. The only complaint I have is, they close the pool and hot tub at 8pm to treat them with the necessary chemicals for cleaning. What hotel does that? I would think an adults only resort would have their pool and hot tub open late for couples to enjoy. Also, the hot tub was cool, which felt great during the day when it was hot, but it would be nice to have it warm at night. Other that that, I think this is a great resort for the value. Oh, one more thing, the bed was so comfortable! And, I read a lot of reviews before my trip that said the time share people where really pushy. Wasn't even a problem with us. Nothing was ever said to us about time shares. The location of the hotel it also great. Not too far from Playa Del Carmen, or Tulum.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for staying at Catalonia. We are very grateful to hear that you had a pleasant and gratifying experience with us and that you enjoyed the services and facilities. We'll be waiting for you for your next trip, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again. Best Regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice resort with a beautiful secluded beach

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Resort staff very hospitable. Room service accomadating. Rooms clean and quiet. The balcony has a superior view of the jungle with a variety of wildlife to observe. A wide variety of food choices Italian, Latin/Mexican, Steakhouse, buffet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, What a fabulous memories! We really appreciated your glowing compliments regarding our Resort. We are very grateful to hear that you had a pleasant and gratifying experience with us and that you enjoyed the services and facilities. We'll be waiting for you for your next trip, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again. Best Regards