Ratings based on 1,086 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

Perfect honeymoon!

Posted Feb 4, 2016
We stayed at this resort for 5 days. It was our first trip to Mexico and it won't be our last! The hotel is beautiful and the beach is too! The drinks were delicious and so was the food (at most of the restaurants). I do agree with a lot if other reviews that the activities are pretty much only asked to be done if your European but that didn't bother me to much cause none of them looked very fun. We got roped into the timeshare meeting unfortunately on our first morning there. We arrived late the night before so our first look at the hotel was with the timeshare people which was annoying. I definitely think they are targeting the wrong audience with there timeshare proposal (my husband and I are young with no children and just starting out). Other than the timeshare meeting the staff was GREAT everyone was very nice and knew good english. This was a dream vacation to escape cold Wisconsin winter and overall this hotel did not disappoint me one bit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Wonderful Resort - Great Vacation

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: This resort had one path down the center which made it very simple to get around. It was small but not too small. It's very eco friendly!
Cons: Could use a swim up bar but it did have constant wait staff taking drink orders and bringing them to you on the beach or pool!
Location: Your right between Tulum Mayan Ruins and Playa Del Carmen. You can get on the shuttle for $3 per person per way and go to both!
This resort was wonderful. The adults only made it quiet and relaxing but still made you feel perfectly comfortable to let loose and have fun! The rooms were nice, tons of restaurants, nice pool, relaxing hot tub, AMAZING BEACH, great bars and an overall wonderful experience! I would highly recommend this resort to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lexie, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your vacation at our Resort. It is nice to know that you had a spectacular trip! We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future; it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again! Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Nice Resort Overall

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: No wait times for seating at any restaurants. Not crowded. Nice smaller size resort. Nice beach.
Cons: Service in B-Loved was very slow. "Buy-up" to preferred status is not worth the extra money.
Nice facilities with reasonable variety of food options. Enjoyed the fact that it was not too large and did not seem at all crowded. No wait times at any restaurants, though service was especially slow at B-Loved restaurant. Would strongly recommend that you do not waste any of your vacation time on their sales pitch. Although they claim it is a 90 minute no pressure presentation, it was closer to 2.5 hours and there was an uncomfortable amount of pressure at the end. The coupons they provided were essentially worthless, and the credit for services not terribly valuable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jim, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your vacation at our Resort. Let us apologize for not exceeding your expectations in some aspects of your stay with us. All your comments have been shared with the head departments involved. We hope to welcome you back and pamper you in our little slice of paradise. Regards
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jim, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your vacation at our Resort. Let us apologize for not exceeding your expectations in some aspects of your stay with us. All your comments have been shared with the head departments involved. We hope to welcome you back and pamper you in our little slice of paradise. Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Very Relaxing Vacation

Posted Jan 27, 2016
I would recommend this hotel to couples looking to just relax and enjoy time together. The rooms were very nice and so was the pool and beach. I am disappointed there was no swim up bar in the pool area. We did upgrade the last 4 days we were there so we could go to B-loved restaurant and the food was amazing. I will say the food is the Mexican restaurant was disgusting. We actually got up and left during the meal. All of the other restaurants were excellent and great portion sizes. I did have two spa services. The first couples massage was amazing. The second hot stone massage was awful. The rocks were so hot that it burnt my skin. I was refunded the amount of the massage but it still doesn't make up for the burn marks I still have. If it rains there isn't much to do at the hotel so I would recommend putting some movies on a flash drive so you can plug it into the tv. There aren't many English speaking channels. The activity staff is Amazing!!! So friendly and energetic. Try get everyone involved. Overall I would go back In a heartbeat!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Michelle, We would like to thank you for choosing our Resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. Let us apologize for not exceeding your expectations in some aspects of your stay with us. All your comments have been shared with the head departments involved. We hope to welcome you back and pamper you in our little slice of paradise. Best Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Cons: It would be nice if they heated the pool. It's way too cold to enjoy.
Very nice service & friendly staff. We were greeted with a friendly 'hola' by everyone. This is vastly different from the big hotels in Cancun. Those places lack the true meaning of hospitality. The pool was cold, but besides that everything was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing us your comments regarding your recent visit to our Resort. We are glad to know you had a good experience with us. Please be assured that all your comments and suggestions will be taken into consideration and that we will do our utmost to improve wherever we can. We hope to have you with us again Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, On

A royal treatment at the Catalonia Royal

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: Everything!! I loved being surrounded by jungle and seeing local wildlife.
Cons: For the vegetarian diner, beware that if a dish is labled vegetable that it may contain meat.
Location: The resort is an hour away from the Cancun airport, but it's an easy direct drive getting there. You're not far from Playa del Carmen.
A superb relaxing environment set within a jungle setting with a quiet Caribbean white beach and a turquoise blue ocean beckoning you to unwind. The hotel grounds are spacious, the staff attentive yet respectful, the food and deserts are to die for. There's no lining up for reservations, a fresh beach towel is brought to your room each evening, the pool lounge chairs are padded and comfortable and the drinks are all made with premium liquor. There's nightly entertainment and if I can offer a criticism, it's that the venues were not well advertised. There's nothing here to disappoint. Playa del Carmen is only 25 minutes away for those seeking a shopping experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and sharing your photos about your vacation at our Resort. It is nice to know that you had a spectacular trip! It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future; it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again! Best Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and excellent beach

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Overall we had a great stay at the Catalonia Royal Tulum. The buffet was incredible we pretty much had dinner there every night. The Mexican restaurant was our least favorite it definitely didn't taste like authentic Mexican cuisine. The steakhouse (the Grill) was great all of the appetizers were delicious and my steak was perfectly cooked. The tapas restaurant was really nice and a great place to take pictures. The rooms were really well kept. I think the highlight of this resort is definitely the beach it's beautiful and the water is crystal clear. The only think I didn't like was that there really isn't much entertainment it's pretty boring. The resort definitely caters more toward Italians because they had their own entertainment team. A big shout out to Gabriel from the buffet he is INCREDIBLE so sweet and gave the best service everyday for breakfast and lunch and he never stops smiling. Overall we definitely recommend this resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, My warmest thanks for your fantastic and kind comment, we are very grateful to hear that you had a pleasant and gratifying experience with us. We are happy that you enjoyed the beauty of the Mexican Caribbean. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and we are grateful you took the time to specify the highlights of your trip: our beautiful beach. our restaurants and facilities. Once again, thank you for visiting us! We would love the opportunity to welcome you and your loved ones again in our little slice of paradise. Best Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington

Relaxing All Inclusive

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: The resort is small and quiet in comparison to its larger counterparts in Cancun. However, you do not have to sacrifice interesting dining.
Cons: The climate controls in the room seem to only allow a very chilly temperature setting.
Location: Akumal has sea turtles and sting rays. Dos Ojos is an amazing cenote and Rio Secreto is a unique experience.
The Catalonia Royal Tulum is a lovely place to relax and recharge. Despite some rainy weather we were able to enjoy ourselves and take advantage of the beautiful setting. We dined at a different restaurant every night and enjoyed meals that were beautifully presented and delicious. The staff are friendly and helpful. Tell us about the location and things to do nearby 150 characters Share your trip photos Reviews with room and hotel photos help other travelers the most Add Photos Max. of 6 photos, 5 MB or less each Who might get the most out of your review? Everyone Couples Business Travelers Students Families Other Tell your fellow travelers a little about yourself. This will appear next to your review. First Name or Nickname Last Initial Your Location Thanks for taking the time to complete your review! By submitting this review I acknowledge that I have read and accept the terms & conditions. Submit your review Tip: Use complete sentences See more tips & guidelines
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Eric, Thank you very much for sharing us your comments regarding your recent visit to our Resort. We are glad to know you had a good experience with us. We hope to have you with us again soon. Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great smaller all inclusive resort

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Amazing staff, great location and accommodations. Loved the little animals in the jungle among the rooms, and great food, especially at the tapas.
Cons: Surprisingly, the food at the Mexican food restaurant. Also, the selection in the minibar could have been much less soda and maybe a beer or two more
Location: The area was so beautiful we mostly stayed near the resort on the beach but the town of Tulum is very cool and there are cenotes and ruins close.
My husband and I picked Catalonia Royal Tulum for a mid winter beach trip and couldn't have been happier! We were looking for a relaxing all inclusive trip on a beautiful beach and made a great choice. We decided to upgrade to the "privileged" package and felt that it was worth it. We had great breakfasts everyday at the beachfront restaurant and then spent the majority of the day on the beach and in the ocean. Many activities were provided along with gear to kayak, snorkel and canoe. There were many great restaurant options, and we enjoyed the majority of the food. The service everywhere was great, everyone greeted each other and we felt very welcome. Would definitely recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Casey, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your vacation at our Resort. Please be assured that all your comments and suggestions will be taken into consideration and that we will do our utmost to improve wherever we can. Moreover, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Privileged upgrade, our delicious restaurants and amazing beach. We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future; and please do not hesitate to contact us for future reservations or any special requests for your next stay. It will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again! Best Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Californian

Great place to relax

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Small, adult only resort. The beach is near, clean and comfortable. Plenty of space on beach and at pool during the December stay. PRO: great buffet, I mean really great; green canopy all the way from the hotel to the beach - looks and feels really nice; nicely priced spa services; CON: no elevators, ended up carrying suitcase to the top floor; a la carte restaurants are mediocre, better food at buffet; no spare beach towels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your vacation at our Resort. Please be assured that all your comments and suggestions will be taken into consideration and that we will do our utmost to improve wherever we can. We hope to have you with us again Best Regards