Ratings based on 1,309 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from ohio

great room

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: beach, room, views, pool, staff, laid back
Cons: food
Location: didn't do anything
everything was great, except for the food was ok. difficult to sleep in, due to birds and constant work going on
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Excellent Hotel and Value in between PDC and Tulum

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Everything was great.
Cons: Only negative thing would be a few of the extras that were included in the room that we did not receive. We didn't get our "free gift,photo,ortequila"
Location: Location is excellent halfway between Tulum and PDC. Akumal and some of the best cenotes are only a few miles away.
We had a fantastic time there, the staff and room service were amazing. Also the spa was very nice. The location of this hotel was a perfect launching spot for us, as we visited tulum and PDC as well as many of the cenotes in the area. The only ruins we managed to visit were in Tulum. Evem though we will defintely see Coba next time. There was so much to do at the resort, we wanted to just hang out there for several days instead of going offsite. The resort was so nice and there are many food options to choose from. I think expedia had mentioned 4-5 restaurantes but there are many more as Some of them are converted to offer different types of cuisine at different times of the day. For instance the large pvaillion restaurante is a very nice buffet during lunch but will change into a much more quaint a la carte steakhouse at night both of which were very good. If you can, make sure to do the candlelight beach dinner in the evenings, it was included in our room but I think can be added for a fee. It was by far the best food of the resort. I think they only set up 2-3 tables per hour time slot and it is very private and secluded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maine

Nice mix of jungle and beach

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Lots to do every day. Very kind staff. Food was awesome and the drinks were good too. Very limited beer selection though. It was very windy all the 5 days we were there so we weren't able to partake in any of the included water activities and there was seaweed everywhere on the beach so it wasn't like the pristine beach you see in everyone's photos. Nothing you can do about Mother Nature. I do wish the air conditioning was a little colder in the rooms but not a huge deal. All in all it was an awesome time and an awesome staff. Very hardworking people. I would certainly recommend it to anyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, MA

Quiet relaxing stay

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Location, beach, service
Cons: The common bathrooms were not kept up with as well as you might expect. Some of them were actually not usable.
Location: beautiful beach and easy access to Tulum
The beach is gorgeous although while we were there all 5 days were really windy and the surf was high so swimming and other ocean activities were not allowed. We were able to walk the beach which was wonderful. The restaurants were good but we loved the Bloved restaurant for the privileged upgrade which was well worth it. The staff there was the best. Extremely good service and food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver bc

Beautiful resort

Posted Apr 7, 2017
One of nicest places we've ever stayed, mid sized resort but that's way better than some of the mega resorts on Maya Riviera, incredible good food and service in restaurants, beautiful spacious and spotless rooms, beautiful beach, staff always checking if you want a drink, wonderful tropical forest in middle walk way, just loved it, would go back tomorrow, also nightly entertainment quite good,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from MO

Buetiful destination.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: The personal attention. The staff was always there for us. It was hard to not always choose Bloved, but the other eating choices were awesome.
Cons: Electric leaf blowers.
Location: The dinner show was great. The beach is one of the nicest in the world. Many options of things to do within kilometers of the resort.
Enjoyed a wonderful time at this lovely place in the world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2017
It's such a beautiful hotel and everything about it is perfect. It gives you a jungly outdoor vibe the beach is very beautiful. You will never want to leave. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The only downside i could think of is the food, it isnt all that but its all inclusive so it makes up for it. It's a lot more of a couples retreat in my opinion but eitherway im sure anyone who goes will have an amazing time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Nice clean resort!

Posted Mar 28, 2017
A group of 4 of us stayed at this resort from march 15-20 2017. We were incredibly pleased with everyone at this resort. The rooms are spacious and clean and staff came regularly to refill the drinks and snacks in the fridge, replenish toiletries, and clean the rooms, even leaving behind a towel animal daily. The food was excellent. Our least favorite surprisingly was the Mexican restaurant but we enjoyed the others immensely and the staff was more than accommodating and friendly. While lounging by the pool or sitting in the hot tub, there was always staff circulating to see if we needed anything and readily bringing drinks around. The gym was much warmed than a gym should be but this was literally the only downside we found during our stay. Though others commented on the fact that there aren't any ocean view rooms as the rooms are set back from the water, we enjoyed walking along the jungle like bridge to get to the pool and beach. We will definitely be returning to this resort as we have tried others that weren't nearly as nice. Thanks for a great relaxing stay!! :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Beautiful grounds, clean rooms. Excellent food.

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: The food, Rosa and Argel (in the BLoved restaurant).
Location: Don't do any cancun catamaran tours from here. The ride is incredibly long and you'll never see a fish when you snorkel!
We had a great experience. The food was fabulous! Everyone was extremely friendly. There is a girl named Rosa who is sort of a "cruise director" who is very fun! Just a great place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Very nice beach

Posted Mar 21, 2017
One of the best beaches we ever been in Riviera Maya . Snorkeling is perfect. A lot of different species of fish. Hotel kind of old, but ok. Food is really good with a lot of choices in buffet. Restaurants could be better. Still only one beach towel per person per day. If you are looking for luxury it is not your hotel. Overall it is really 4 star hotel, but the beach is 5 and food is 5
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Catalonia Royal Tulum, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and the beauty of the Caribbean. We highly value your observations regarding our services, as we believe that they are the key to the continuing process of improvement. Thank you a lot for recommending us. We'll be waiting for your return. Best Regards.