Ratings based on 1,142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Top Notch Experience

Posted Apr 27, 2016
We just returned from an amazing six days stay at the resort. We are not typically the type to go online and offer reviews, but we felt compelled to let others know about what they can expect during their stay. While at Catalonia Royal Tulum you will receive amazing service With a smile, great food, incredible amenities and unbelievable ocean views. The grounds are so lush in the jungle setting and they are so well kept. One of the best times you'll ever have! The activities held daily were engaging and the staff made it even more fun to participate. The food was excellent and had enough variety to allow for different options daily. We made many friends while lounging at the pool and loved the poolside service. We were so impressed and many of the people we met had been there several times before . We are already talking about when we will return . Well worth the visit!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albq, NM

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Everyone was so nice..
Cons: Hotel was perfect.....Expedia's service....with cancelled flights and rescheduling hotel reservations etc... was embarrassingly bad.
Location: The "Dos Ojos Cinote" was amazing dont bother with the "jaguar" cinote... try the "La Buena Vida" treehouse Bar.
Excellent food, excellent Massage, very nice everything.. Highly recommend
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Perfect for couples

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Food, drinks, staff.
Cons: Hard to say.
Location: Time to get from/to Cancun airport is 1 hour. A lot of cenotes aroud, nice scuba tours in the sea and in cenotes. Close to many Puerto Aventuras.
Very nice hotel for relaxing on the beach or pool side.The food (and drinks) was surprisingly good in the buffets and even better in specialty restaurants. The staff is very nice and friendly, they try to accomodate your every need. The beach is very well maintained and clean. There are couple of snorkeling spots close to the beach - no need to hire a boat or go to a snorkeling tour, a lot of wild marine life and coralls. Adults only. Very higly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property, very relaxing

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Cons: linens
Staff were very helpful. The beach was one of the best we've ever experienced. Very calm, quiet and relaxing stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice resort setting,below average food.

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Hotel and resort was better than average w/nice small beach.The food was definitely below average after visiting several other resorts in Mexico.Would have to recommend other adults only.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pennsylvania

best vaca ever!

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: beautiful beach and water fabulous pool with floaters secluded and adults only overall aesthetics all inclusive casual dinner dress code
Cons: price for sunscreen...since is a secluded resort and this is your only option
Location: we loved staying here, resting, relaxing, and enjoying the quiet-so we did not go any where else-long walks on the beach and cold drinks by pool best!
enjoyed our 7 day and 6 night stay. breakfast omelette is excellent and made to personal taste. lunch provided an amazing view and food was tasty with a good variety...enjoyed the fresh grilled option each day. dinner was casual dress...we like this much better than formal. there are a variety of choices...we liked the international option the best. again fresh grilled selections were available. staff was polite and overall wanting to meet your wants and needs. chairs were always available whether on the beautiful beach or fabulous pool with lots of daily activities throughout the day and into the night. drinks were brought to us throughout the day by sebastianani and monica...they were the best! may never book another vacation anywhere but here
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful hotel with a unique tropical feel

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: The staff !!!!!!!!!!!!! Nice mix of young and old couples. No kids
My wife and myself just spent 8 days at the Catalonia Royal Hotel.We have been to the Cancun area several times and placed this hotel at the top of the list. Great staff , pool area and food was excellent. The tropical feeling at the resort was pleasantly different and could have been taken for Hawaii . One of the best beaches in Cancun !! The landscaping was unbelievable but would recommend flats for dinner fro the women.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GA

Dream vacation

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: The attentiveness of the staff.
Cons: Check the thermostats since I think ours did not work properly it was always cold even when we tried adjusting the temp to 80 degrees.
Location: Snorkeling, kayaking, theme parks, and just relax at the beach.
First off, we take multiple vacations through out the year and by far this one has been one of the best vacations we've had. From the moment you arrive to the resort they greet you with a glass of fresh juice and asks if they can get you anything else (alcoholic or non alcoholic). Super friendly staff and very helpful. I mean we asked a staff member something regarding our room while we were walking to our dinner reservation and she told us to do not worry to go ahead and sit down at the restaurant and she would come back to give us the information we were seeking. I mean talk about service!!! The room was always clean and cool the only reason I'm not giving this a 5 star in room comfort because our room was always very cold. We tried changing the temperature but it did seem to work since it was still always around the 68 degrees. Other than that it was great!!! Super clean and always restocked. The hotel has a great theme since it feels like you are in the middle of the jungle with all the vegetation and wild life around you. I can't stress how happy we are and can't wait to go back. The beach was like it came out of a dream. White sand and crystal clear water.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mexico df

Estupendo viaje

Posted Apr 16, 2016
El hotel tiene una playa preciosa las habitaciones cómodas y todas tienen vista a los laterales del hotel tiene un pasillo para ir hacia la playa y alberca que conserva la maravilla de la selva es mágico de noche , la atención y servicio son muy buenos los alimentos de primera y el personal es muy amable y atentos nos ofrecieron el upgrade creo que valdría la pena si hace uno muchos viajes a esa cadena de hoteles quiero felicitar a Karina En recepción a Armando y Eduardo muy agradables animadores y meseros en general , recomiendo ampliamente este hotel lo único que me pareció que la Srita que está recibiendo en el restaurante Toscana de comida Italiana nos mando esperar 1.30 Hrs sabiendo que había mesas disponibles pero en general me la pase estupendamente espero regresar muy pronto saludos a todos
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Italian anyone?

Posted Apr 13, 2016
The beach was the cleanest I have ever seen and was beautiful! The resort was on the smaller side, but we really liked that about the place. There was a lot of Europeans especially Italians and while we couldn't communicate with any of them, it didnt ruin the experience. Food was ok, I was very disappointed in the Mexican selection and wish there would have been more/better options. Also chips and salsa at the bars would have been a nice addition instead of pretzels. Otherwise the staff was awesome, the beach was amazing and we both hope to come back someday!