Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Coolest get away. 6 private bungalows/palapas

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
If you want a beautiful romantic getaway, you can't beat either the property, the owners (Helmut & Sylvia), or the excellent and friendly staff, that treats you like family... you can't beat this hotel. It's very much out of the way, which makes it very private. They have a very talented chef named (or nick-named) Beto, and a great staff, including Marcos, Luis & Andreas, and their dog "Mollie."
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malvern, United States of America

Not for everyone

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Clean room, the friendly staffs. Food was great. Luis and the chef were exceptionally good.
Cons: Lack of decent internet service. Not enough electrical sockets in the room. None around the bed. Terrible. No overnight service. Noisy water running
Location: Location completely isolated. You need a rental car, without a doubt. Taxi ride to town costly: $20 each way. Nothing to do there.
I chose the hotel because it says it offers wi-fi and it's something I really needed more than anything else. Big mistake. The rain the day before knocked the internet service out and it wasn't fixed for three days. When it was fixed, I wasn't informed even though I've been asking the staff all the time. It cost me another $100 to use my roaming internet service on my cellphone while my laptop was rendered useless. When the wi-fi was eventually fixed, I coiuldn't receive the signal from my room just 40 feet away from the "lobby" area. It was hit and miss in my room. Phone connection was also terrible because of lack of signal.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I Can't Believe the Positive Reviews - No Way!

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
The fact that this hotel has a shower and a sink with salt water, a bathroom that is not private at all, has an air conditioner that is not reliable, we are required to turn off the a/c when we leave the room, the beach area is both rocky and trashy, makes me believe that these positive reviews are false. Good things: Banana Flambé, Pizza, Salmon, room has a safe, mattress is pretty comfortable, pool is nice Bad Things: Most drivers of cabs or shuttles have no idea where this place is. Salt water in room, soap is a joke, towels are usually humid and never smell fresh, room always smells moldy, bathroom not private, no phone in room, we're not allowed to put toilet paper in the toilet, uncomfortably hot, a/c, internet, and TV are unreliable, cleaning was not that great, there is no room service, noise from bars everynight from other bars, ATM is not reliable, have to walk through a trashy property to get to a rocky beach filled with seaweed. I think the owner should have given me a refund but obviously she didn't feel the same way. This hotel pretty much ruined my vacation. Were it not for the tours to Xel-Ha and the Cenotes I would have had to consider this vacation a total waste. I was so unhappy and uncomfortable here. It's not to say that the management are bad people because I really don't know them, but what I do know... is they should be embarrassed by the services they are providing. I recommend that potential customers do their homework on this one.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

No beach access

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: the food. and pool.
Cons: indicate on your website that there is no beach access.
Location: nothing to do nearby. you could go into playa del carmen, (which is a nightmare) from 2,000 people it now has 100,000 people. very crowded, noisy.
The hotel did not have beach access. We were able to use a chair from the adjoining resort because we bought lunch there everyday. The pool was beautiful. and the staff accommodating. The bed was very comfortable. However, there was no privacy for bathroom needs. Bathroom was in the bedroom without a door. Food from restaurant was very good.
4 out of 5
by LAUREN ELLIS

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Nice quite place

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Pros: The peacefulness, the food, the people. The beach the pool did I say the FOOD?
Location: We visited Chaak Tun Cenotes it was amazing. Other then that there is a local beach its beautiful.
Where do I start...my goodness there are so many wonderful things I want to say about this place but I will start with the owner herself, Sylvia. She was very professional, kind and attentive. The food in this place was very authentic and out of this world delicious. I spent 4 days here and the beach is walking distance to paradise. I will definitely revisit this place to stay again. The staff was super nice and attentive as well. I love this place!!! My new vacation spot...
4 out of 5
by Carl from Bonita Springs, FL

Beautiful Room, Private & Cool

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
Coco Cabanas is a wonderful boutique hotel tucked in a lush garden setting. The beach is about 100yds away. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated, had a king bed, mini kitchenette and futon, large closet, hammock, table & chairs on porch. Air conditioning works well, so sleeping was very very comfortable. The swimming pool looked wonderful, we did not have the chance to use it b/c we had plans and were very busy. Breakfast started at 8am, was continental, and average. We are early risers(6am), so this is a little too late for us .. and no choice for menu/hot breakfast. There was a coffee maker in room, but NO coffee/sugar/cream. Unfortunately, when we visited in Sept 2015 the surrounding area (roads etc) was under major construction (not the hotel fault), yet we were so lucky and blessed to get a great taxi driver, who knew exactly where the hotel was located (thru construction detours). He graciously picked us up and dropped us off for our entire 2 day visit in Playa Del Carmen. We would stay there again. We loved the private feel of the place.
3 out of 5
by Angie from Dallas Texas

Nice Cabanas

Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is very difficult to find. AC works, however it is difficult to get the cabana to a comfortable temperature. Very nice pool area. I love the hotel. Nice intimate get away. Wouldn't recommend for couples with children. Not far from the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

paradise

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: What a beautiful and cute place! BEST food!!! No need to go anywhere else :) Always fresh and served with a smile!
Cons: Nothing on the property...just a perfect little place!
Location: One structure away from the beach...not too appealing but friendly people and easy to get to the beach.
5 of us visited Mexico for the first time...loved our stay at Cocos Cabanas! Ended up renting a car (make sure you wear your seat belts even in the rear seats!!! Cabanas are just beautiful, private, clean, and unique rooms...If you are looking for a luxury, nothing for you...if you are looking for something unique, romantic, natural, and memorable...come here! You will love it!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Golden, Colorado

Nice lil hotel. Real Mexican vibe.

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Not a great place for kids. Nice place for adults. Perfect for a multiple couples retreat. Especially if you have 6 couples, because you could take over the whole hotel. With they had an all inclusive plan!