Ratings based on 663 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

never going back to that hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2017
Pros: I like the location. The personnel is great and give 200%
Cons: The owners should not be cheap and let the hotel go the way its going. People will go once but not twice.
Location: There is a lot of interesting places to go. Playa del Carmen is really nice.
The first thing we noticed was that the room had a very strong mildew smell. Immediately requested another room and the one they were giving us had no view. They provided us with a dehumidifier which my husband in the middle of the night had to change the bucket every 2 hours otherwise the room would flood as it happened the first night that they provided us with the machine. We requested double bed and ended up with one king size. If we wanted another room we had to pay $180.00 extra per day. We were a party of 8 adults and 1 child. My daughter had to change room twice, first one had no working air-conditioner, 2nd one a piece of the ceiling due to water leakage fell on top of my daughter. My son slip and fall in his room due to a leakage on the air-conditioner vent hurting his hip. He checked the vent and you could see several towels wedge inside the vent.We were given a better room after 3 days of sleeping in a moldy room. Even after we move to the other room our clothes smell like mildew. The personnel is excellent and they have no control over the conditions of the hotel. When you went to the restaurants the food was not that good either and the portions were sample size except when you went to the buffet. They sell the restaurants as if they were the best. I feel sorry for the hard working people working for that hotel chain. They work their butts off to please the guest. Its a shame that we will never go back again. The town is beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice Hotel - Older Glamour

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: We liked that we could walk anywhere and it wasn't far. The staff were so friendly, helpful and courteous. They had something going on everyday.
Cons: We got a noisy room over some construction but when we asked to move they couldn't accommodate our King bed request so we got 2 beds instead.
Location: We walked down to the marina and the nearby shops and restaurants just to look around.
A nice elegant hotel. Not an obnoxious, flashy hotel but a very nice, older. smaller resort. We could walk anywhere on the resort with ease. The entertainment was a wonderful surprise and the food was also very good. We took our 19 year old daughter and her friend and they both enjoyed the resort too. It appealed to both age groups.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine, USA

Great place to stay!

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: The rooms, the area, the staff, the dolphins!
Cons: Serving breakfast before 7am, a luggage scale in the lobby, and actually having yoga classes as advertised. I was disappointed with the no yoga.
Location: As I said, this resort is located in a gated community. It's just a short beautiful walk to the little marina/shopping area.
I stayed at the Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort and Spa the first of May in 2017 because my friends were getting married. The resort was clean and the staff very friendly. I liked that there was an adult only pool area and the two swim up bars (one on each side). What surprised me was that the resort was located in a gated community. I liked this because it gave me a chance to venture out into the little village where I was able to see sea lions and manatees. There was also a golf course and a pretty marina. My room faced the dolphin pool and what a treat it was to sit out on my veranda each morning enjoying my tea and the dolphins. The food overall was very good and there was a good variety of drink choices. The staff were amazing, all very helpful and friendly. My friend's wedding was beautiful and the staff who worked the reception were all wonderful. They really did everything to make the night memorable!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Beautiful spot

Posted May 13, 2017
Great resort with friendly staff, but was very disappointed with the quality of the food. If was cafeteria styled food at best. We looked forward to getting to the airport so we could have a decent meal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017
Great staff. Clean hotel. Extremely accompdating. Cant say enough
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New England

Just Okay

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, clean grounds, comfortable room, clear adult and family areas. Lots of choices for meals, lots of beach area activities.
Cons: Food variety, quality and temperature, more organization at the restaurants.
Location: We took a walk just off the hotel grounds around the marina to the little town area which was lovely and quiet. Chichen Itza was a great day trip.
Dreams Puerto Aventuras tries to appeal to everyone including couples, families, and spring breakers. Unfortunately in this case attempting to be a jack of all trades makes it a master of none for sure. We were surprised by the loudness and lack of consideration of the guests who found it acceptable to run up and down the hallways all night yelling and slamming doors, and daytime shouting at each other between the balconies and the pool. The food was disappointing. Plenty of variety at the buffet but everything was bland, margarine instead of butter and all was served at room temperature or slightly cooler, which doesn't make for a good soup experience. A la carte service was disorganized, very slow and despite asking for our appetizers three times, they never came. At one point my husband's drink arrived in a quite obviously broken glass. On the positive, the room was very comfortable and clean, housekeeping was efficient and accommodating to our requests, and the grounds and pools were incredibly well cared for. I appreciated the ability to choose between family and adult only areas. The beach is small but pretty clean. The drinks were good and aplenty. Staff were friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Best Entertainment Team Staff

Posted May 10, 2017
Of all the places we've ever traveled and we've stayed at larger resorts, this by far was the best entertainment team they could possibly have, always engaging with people making you feel welcome, plenty of daily activities for all ages, day and evening entertainment they truly are amazing and have passion for what they do! Special thanks to them Berenice "la Bella", Sammy "el modelo", and Giovanni "chocolat man" they were awesome! Great facility definitely a smaller resort then we're used but it was very nice and would go back for sure! Food was pretty good for the most part favorite was the Mexican restaurant "El Patio" loved that you didn't have to make any reservations food was always available, Japanese restaurant needs more variety but all others were great. Loved the varieties during the day as well like pizzas, hamburgers, hot dogs. Most of the staff was friendly and attentive. Spa facilities were great definitely recommend a massage treatment but don't pay full price wait for special prices! Miriam and Monica were amazing definitely request them! Noemi the "manager" not so friendly I would talk to one of the guys they seem to care more about your needs and making it a great experience. Overall great place and would return!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Hazard and outdated

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Worst resort in Mexico. Dangerous grounds, people tripping falling, horrible quality of food. Staff was very pleasant. Went for a wedding with 30 other people. At least half the party, was hurt outside or inside. People slipping on wet tiles, mold in most bathrooms. If there was a 0 star I would rate it. Most of our party changed their rooms at least 2 times due to leaks,cracks, wet beds, not working air conditioners. One word to describe the resort is a Dump. Never ever would I stay there again. They have at least 2 weddings a day, they should be using the money they make to fix the place up or better yet, rip down and rebuild.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Samantha Valdez E-Concierge & Social Media Coordin, Hotel Management
Dear katii, Receive warm greetings from our Management and staff. We appreciate the time that you had invested on writing an overview of your stay with us. Our guests feedback is truly important for us as this allow us to improve our service level and product. We were really sad to read your review and found out that we did no achieve to fulfill your expectations, for this we apologize. Please be certain that all your feedback has reached our Management and we are currently working in our opportunity areas. We apologize if there were shortcomings in our end during your visit. As our true drive is always to create memorable experiences for our guests, we regret to know this was not the case. Please be certain that your comments will not be overlooked we take all our guest feedback very seriously. We sincerely hope you can offer us a second opportunity to host you and offer you the stay that you deserve and expect. Please feel free to reach us to econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com when you decide to visit us again so we can ensure to offer you a much more enjoyable stay. Cordially yours,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A tired hotel whose standards have slipped

Posted Apr 25, 2017
It's a hotel which has got old and tired. More 3 stars/diamonds now since my last visit many years ago. The food is hit and miss at best apart from the sushi. The front desk staff are difficult to deal with and can be extremely frustrating when all you want is a nice relaxing holiday, rather than difficulties. Room service was average (if you managed to get someone to understand the order) and took at least an hour each time. If you have kids, and want to save money then this could be for you. If you want a relaxing premium all inclusive, go to their sister resort, Secrets in Akumel nearby. It's worth the extra money versus being stuck somewhere that is just about 'ok'.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Samantha Valdez E-Concierge & Social Media Coordin, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Receive warm greetings from our Management and staff. We appreciate the time that you had invested on writing an overview of your stay with us. Our guests feedback is truly important for us as this allow us to improve our service level and product. We were really sad to read your review and found out that we did no achieve to fulfill your expectations, for this we apologize. Please be certain that all your feedback has reached our Management and we are currently working in our opportunity areas. We sincerely hope you can offer us a second opportunity to host you and offer you the stay that you deserve and expect. Please feel free to reach us to econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com when you decide to visit us again so we can ensure to offer you a much more enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brookline, ma

Smaller pretty resort with lots of activities

Posted Apr 21, 2017
We had a great time. The entertainment staff was the best. Kept our kids (ages 9, 12, 14, 17) busy and happy even when it rained. Ocean view was very pleasant it overlooks the pool with the ocean beyond- so not a pure ocean view. Fyi the dolphin view overlooks the adult-only pool area and the dolphin pool beyond. I don't think you actually ever view dolphins from there but it is perfectly pleasant- you just won't see your kids or the ocean from your balcony. Turns out this property is part of vacations unlimited which seems to be a timeshare company. The resort gives you $200 resort credits to get you to speak to a "VIP rep" who is the door opener to the sales process. We were not savvy enough to avoid this meeting which enticed us to visit another property in Tulum in order to visit Tulum for a greatly reduced fee from the that offered by the tour operators. Luckily we were made aware before wasting any more of our vacation time that this would be step 2 of a 4-5 step process culminating in a hard sale tactic. We did fall for the tour operator charging us about $40 per head to go to Tulum- she said it would be 4 hours and include lunch- it was only 2 hours (which was a good amount of time- enough to go swimming in the ocean) and did not include lunch. She also said we would have to pay an additional $60 to the driver directly to get back- luckily he did not reques. Would have been better just to order a taxi for $20 round trip for the 6 of us and buy $4 per person entry fe
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Samantha Valdez E-Concierge & Social Media Coordin, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, I would like to express my gratitude for the time you have taken to share this review and the valuable comments you’ve provided in it. We are happy to read that you had a good time with us. Please rest assured that did not overlook the bad expirience you had with the vip service. It would really be a pleasure to host you at Dreams Puerto Aventuras once again and be able to fulfill and go beyond your expectations. Kind Regards.