Ratings based on 295 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice and not too big resort

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: room and staff
Cons: food options for vegetarian
Dreams Rivier - a very well maintained and cosy resort with very friendly and helpful staff. The room we were in was a plunge pool and the kids loved it. The room could have little bit more storage space, but we didn't mind our stuff on the couch, so no worries there. The staff was very courteous and helpful. All the request were responded by "its my pleasure to serve you" and with a smile. We wish we could have found more vegetarian friendly food choices. The drinks were good. Please try the vodka, cranberry juice and peach liquor shot (I think) and its called "wet p***y"
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Nice lobby area/lounge. Nice pools and white sandy beach. Good resort layout and well appointed rooms. Really enjoyed nightly turn down service.
Cons: Better food selection at the buffet, more activities for teens and young adults after 5:00.
Location: Crococun was fantastic. Puerto Morelos
The resort itself was quite beautiful and the rooms were well designed/appointed. We really enjoyed the food at the main restaurants that were open for dinner service, and the fact that you didn't have a limit as to the number of times you visited any one restaurant during your stay, but the daily buffet fell short. This resort is best suited for families with small children, not for those over 13 or for young adults. There were few activities and they essentially rolled up the sidewalk after 5:00. Even the night club, Desires, and the hot tub that were supposed to be dedicated adult areas became drop-offs for young kids. The poolside movies at night were great if you were wanting to watch Jungle Book or Toy Story. What water sports that were available had an additional charge. The Christmas Gala had an additional $100 US/pp charge. There was a lot of pressure to "visit" their other sister-sites for "resort credits". The resort credits that we already had were actually coupons with a lot of restrictions. We enjoyed the pools and the beautiful white sandy beach. The water was too rough for swimming, and snorkeling required a boat ride and additional fee. We enjoyed the fact that we could walk along the beach to the local town of Puerto Morelos. There are a lot of other resorts that might have been a bit farther from the airport, and those are the ones we would consider in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome vacation

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Very good vacation. All the employees made sure everyone was taken care of and with a smile on their face. Josue was awesome he worked at the beach swing bar and was out there everyday making sure our group was having a good time
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

There are better choices out there!

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: The property seem to be relatively new and well-cared for, and the resort staff is friendly and polite and genuinely makes an effort to please you.
Cons: A lot, starting with treating their guests with respect.
This resort seems to be the place for wedding celebration - we were there for this same reason as wedding guests, and we've seen 2-3 weddings daily during our short 4 days' visit. They perfected the art of organized, mass-produced wedding ceremonies and do a good job while they're at it. Unfortunately, our stay at Dreams Riviera was marred big time by the renovation that was conducted in the room right above us. It's inconceivable to justify why a messy, noisy and smelly renovation, one that involves moving the furniture and replacing floor tiles in a bathroom (hammering the old tiles away to put the new ones in) had to happen during Saturday and Sunday of the Thanksgivings Day weekend - one of the busiest time of the year for any respectable resort (and one of the "high-season" times when you pay premium for a room that otherwise would have been offered at 60% discount or remained unsold). I couldn't find a good reason why the renovation had to start at 8 o'clock in the morning on Saturday and couldn't be postponed until Monday - Tuesday of the following week when the majority of guests were leaving in hordes. What is even more disappointing is that the resort management offered no warning, no substitute room and no apology for disrupting our stay - the renovation activities continued even after we complained to the hotel staff. No managerial staff was on duty either, the only person who responded to our calls was a Chief Concierge, and she couldn't get a hold of anyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B.C. Canada

Super clean hotel and great amenities!

Posted Nov 18, 2016
We had a wonderful experience at the Dreams Rivera Cancun. The staff were wonderful to us and the property itself was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Great Resort

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Beds could be softer
Location: close to beach and snorkeling was a thirty mins boat ride out.
The resort was beautiful, service was excellent and always with a smile, drinks were ample (highly recommend the mojito best I've had), beach was just right out front, food was amazing, and even the entertainment was excellent. Overall would go back again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2016
We had an amazing time here.the hotel is beautiful staff was very friendly, rooms were very clean, food was excellent. Pools and beach were amazing. Thank you for making our anniversary special..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

5 star

Posted Sep 6, 2016
I enjoyed my stay. Staff very helpful. They are above & beond their job duties, food is delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from ny

Excellent family vacation !!!

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: fitness center had separate Yoga and workout room. the cafe had great coffee menu, ice cream and pastries.
Cons: construction on the side walk was very loud sometimes.
We had a great room with ocean view on 4th floor. the hotel is not too big so all the restaurants and activities were close to each other. this was the first time our son went to a kid's club for few hours. the ladies there took good care of him and he did wanted to go and play next day. the kids activities at the club were vary by different days. foods were generally good, something different for every age group. the entertainment team was great!! they had a great games by the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Fun and relaxing trip away. Perfect for weddings and a holiday away.