Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Do not stay in the Casitas!

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Lovely hotel, nice pools, great waitstaff, good restaurants, Lots of things to do and tons of cabanas. We spent very little money once there.
Cons: SHUTTLE SERVICE, running more shuttles and running them later for people who want to stay out longer.
Location: We never left the resort, so many things to do we didnt feel the need to leave and do any excursions.
We were meeting some friends in Cancun who have stayed in this resort before. I can say it is absolutely one of the nicest resorts I have been in, however, most of our time here was miserable. We upgraded our room to stay in the higher end Casitas. Which by the way, rooms were very nice, lovely view, pool on our balcony (which we never got in) outdoor shower was amazing, large indoor shower, huge romantic tub next to the bed, high ceilings, sitting area inside and out. BUT, we were located in the last building which was a 20-30 minute walk back to the El Dorado royale Jr suites and main pool and entertainment area. We were told there were shuttles, however, everytime we looked for a shuttle they were going the other direction, were full or just didnt come by. Shuttles supposedly ran from morning to 11pm. So every meal we ended up walking 20-30 minutes to breakfast or dinner to arrive there sweaty from the heat and walking and exhusted and with blisters on our feet. Then in the evening, we would have to cut our night short trying to get a shuttle back to the room which never happened. Or if one of us left something back at the room, it wasnt worth it to make the long walk back so we would have to go without it. Our friends stayed in the Jr. suites which were almost as nice and in the middle of everything so they were very happy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Cons: The room service menu was very limited.
We stayed on the Casitas side which was all adults. Very quiet, not busy, and easy access to everything
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suburban Philadelphia, PA

Exceptional resort....beyond all expectations!

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Beautiful facilities and grounds right on the beach front. We stayed in the Casitas area and loved the private pool and bar, plus the proximity to the beach. The food was all gourmet and delicious .... Attention to detail was amazing! Staff went above and beyond....very friendly and helpful. Rooms were large, comfortable, and well equipped. Gorgeous resort!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Tx

Amazing hotel, food wasn't what I expected though

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: The room, the outdoor shower, the grounds, friendly staff, beach beds, nice pools.
Cons: More beach butler service, better food, and faster restaurant service. I don't want to spend 2 hours at each meal.
2 years ago I stayed at another Karisma hotel, the Azul Beach, so I expected the food to be comparable. Every meal I had at Azul Beach was incredible, but I didn't have a single memorable meal at El Dorado Royale. The food was good, but there was only one dish that I would order a second time (the corn chowder at the Mexican restaurant!) The best breakfast was the buffet and the best dinner was Santa Fe. The hotel it's self was amazing, loved the outdoor shower and the balcony (although I wish it would have had a hammock). The grounds were gorgeous and most of the staff was very friendly and helpful. The beach is very rocky which meant there were few areas where you could actually walk straight from the sand into the water. There are also large sand bags and these big square concrete things out in the water that are designed to break up the waves, but it's not a very pretty sight. Most people seemed to hang out at the pool more than the beach. The beach was also seriously lacking service. We had a "beach butler" only one day of our five day stay. I would also like to add that I felt 99% sure that the liquor was watered down. Almost all our drinks were extremely sweet and even when I would ask for an additional shot of liquor and would witness the bartender poor it in, the drinks were very weak. The "just ok" food and lack of beach service aside, we had an amazing time and I'm glad we stayed, but if I had it to do over again I would go back to the Azul Beach hands down.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Perfect gateway for couples

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: Big resort, very clean, eco-friendly, nice breeze, very nice staff, no hidden costs
Cons: Have different walkways since you often have to move off it to let the carts go by Have more restaurants that you can get quick bite with swim suits.
Location: Lots to do. Many agencies on resort to help you organize adventures and excursions.
This resort was wonderful. My boyfriend and I were looking for a place to relax with no hidden fees. That is definitely what we got. We stayed at one of the casitas which was very impressive. The "casita" was big, had a bed, hot tub, bathroom, outdoor shower and its own balcony with seating. The only thing is that the beach was not the nicest one I've seen. There were big cement blocks in the water to prevent the waves from crashing on the shore and that affects the quality of the view. I had to find a way to take my pictures to not have those blocks in my pictures. The waves were very strong and the beach had lots of plants that made if difficult to play in the water. But since I don't care about the beach, I was very happy being near the pool. They have lots of pools so it was perfect to me. They have many cabanas and chairs which were great because not once did we have to throw a blanket on our chairs early in the morning to get a good spot. All of these amenities are also free. My balance at check out was only the fees of my bottle of wine that I decided to purchase at the restaurant one night and I was notified by my waiter that it was for a cost. They have a gym, decent size, very clean and they also organize a 5K every morning for a small fee. You also have access to their kayaks, tennis courts, bikes, ping pong tables, beach volleyball and more (free). They are also very conscientious about the earth. They recycle as much as they can.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Mar 10, 2016
Cons: Lighting, food quality....
Location: Ride to playa del carmine town was 20 minutes or so and was great for shopping and in the evening for dinner and drinks.....was one of the highlights.
Room was much too dark.......water and beach were only ok......plenty of swim-up bars.......restaurants were marginal quality.....view from room was awesome
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KC

Great vacation

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Resort is huge. Stayed on the casitas side in the 3000 building. Antonio and Marcos were excellent bartenders. Alex and Fernanda did well of taking care of us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great hotel, food and staff!

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: We loved the 24 hour room service, the choice of 9 different restaurants and the privacy and quietness of staying in the Casitas.
Cons: The beach is a bit rocky and there are unsightly breakers in the water. The breakers are to replace the sand that was lost during a past hurricane.
Location: The hotel is 30 mins from the Cancun Airport & provided free shuttle service to Cancun and Playa Del Carmen, we enjoyed horseback riding at the hotel.
We absolutely loved our week at the Eldorado Casitas Royale for our 20 Year Wedding Anniversary! The restaurants were gorgeous the food quality and wait staff was excellent! Our room (an individual Casitas suite) was close to the pool and beach, was very clean, well decorated and private, loved the out door shower too! The hotel grounds were immaculate and the hotel staff always said Hi (Ola) and were extremely helpful and polite. We will definetley be going back!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Paradise

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Honestly, nothing...
Location: We never left this property, but if one wanted, the travel/activities concierge is on hand throughout.
We've been to many all inclusive resorts and none compare to the Casitas Royale. Even after arriving during a rainstorm the property was immaculate and the staff was beyond accommodating. We stayed in the infinity pool casita suite and it also was beyond my expectations. The food was exceptional, the pools and beach cabanas were not crowded at any time and again all were immaculate. My wife and I generally choose a different resort each year to vacation, this now will be the only property we visit. Yes, it was that good-