Ratings based on 457 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place for a wedding

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Environmental consciousness.
Cons: Seating and serving in restaurants needs to be faster
Service in bars and restaurants kind of slow, but it was a beautiful place
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Riviera Maya at its best

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Unbelievable staff, facilities and food. Attention to every detail to make stay amazing. Look for Clemente at one of the bars. He was excellente!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Excellent, beautiful grounds, friendly staff

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Celebrating Anniversary. Wonderful, rejuvenating trip!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing, organized, and beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2016
We absolutely loved our stay here! All of the staff were so friendly and went out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful time. The food was delicious at all the restaurants. There were plenty of activities to do all the time, and many of which were free of charge. Also easy access to pools and beach. The only thing we would have preferred was that there be a few more casual dining restaurants during the day, or a poolside snack bar because all restaurants required clothing and shoes. We were constantly in bathing suits and if we wanted a quick snack there wasn't really an option for that. Overall wonderful experience though and would definitely return!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Amazing! We stayed at the Casitas and are already planning our next visit!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Another great stay at El Dorado!

Posted May 2, 2016 on Orbitz
Cons: A grab and go snack bar would be nice. Restaurant menus in the room so you know what they have beforehand.
1. Food is fantastic 2. Rooms are clean and spacious (if you're on a budget, get a basic room, you'll still have a blast) 3. There are pools for people who like to party and mingle but there are also quieter pools. 4. Room service is 24 hours and tasty! 5. Hotel is only about 25 minutes from airport 6. Beach is beautiful and water is crystal clear! They do have large sandbags out in the ocean that I assume are for erosion purposes but they aren't bad. They actually make the water much calmer so you can enjoy the ocean without getting beat up by the waves. 7. La Isla has the best food in my opinion. Cocotal has an awesome breakfast buffet if you want a buffet. Swingbar by JoJos makes the best drinks. 8. They do have free Wi-Fi across the entire complex and it is fast enough to facetime and stream netflix (even on the beach) Tips: 1. The best spot for quiet beach people is on the far side of the Presidential Villas. There is a super clean restroom nearby, a bar, and they serve a little buffet lunch as well. It is fabulous if you want to feel like you have the whole place to yourself. 2. If you like a party pool be sure to get up and have your chairs claimed by 7:30 at the very latest at the La Isla pool. 3. Buildings 41-44 are quiet and close to just about everything. 4. The fastest lunch (besides the little pop up buffets) is at La Cabana Pizzeria. Pizzas/Nachos/Hotdogs/Hamburgers/etc and it's all tasty.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Great hotel!

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: The service. The food. The rooms. The over all cleanliness of the resort
Cons: Like I said, the main pools were small and not a lot of chairs, so it was very hard to get one.
Location: The location is perfect in my opinion. Not to far from the airport, and not to far from Playa
This hotel was very nice. This is the 5th hotel I've stayed at in the area. The food was top notch, as well as the service. Our room was very nice! We were upgraded to a casita suite which was very nice. Unfortunately the friends we were with did not get upgraded, so they were not able to hang out with us on the casita side. The beach was great, but the water was all rock. The only problem I had with this resort is the main pools were pretty small and did not have many chairs around. That is comparably speaking to the other resorts I have stayed at. Over all, it was a great resort and I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Staff and resort was great. Only complaint was the food. Breakfast and lunch were good, dinners could have been better.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Amazing resort, great food and wonderful staff

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: The swim up room and dining choices.
Cons: Nothing - the experience was simply amazing.
Location: We did the ATV & wave runner combo, "Fishing with Ivan" & Coco Bongo in Playa - I highly recommend all of the above. We stayed 6 days/5 nts.
From the moment you check in to the moment you leave, the staff at El Dorado Royale is at your service. The food is great and the entire experience was amazing. We are definitely going again and again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Väldigt nöjd!

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
Överlag ett riktigt bra hotell, men hade ändå önskat att vissa i personalen var lite mer tillmötesgående vad gäller enklare önskemål så som bordsbokningar på vissa restauranger, taxibokningar etc. Maten var väldigt bra för att vara ett all inclusive, vissa av restaurangerna höll väldigt hög klass så som restaurang Jade inne på generationsområdet. Det enda som saknades var att drinkarna aldrig gjordes för hand. Allt gjordes med färdiga mixer och syrups vilket gjorde det mesta otroligt sött. Skulle absolut rekommendera att ha en mer genuin cocktailbar utomhus och se till att man har ordentligt bra alkoholfria alternativ! Området är stort och väldigt vackert. Det är inget ställe för att ligga på stranden och bada i havet, men poolerna väger upp för detta. Flera små mysiga pooler med tillhörande barer om man inte vill ligga vid den större "party poolen. Många bra aktiviteter om man vill röra lite på sig - missa inte att gå på deras tennisklasser som är gratis!