Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Extraordinaire!

Posted Apr 1, 2016
My trip was just soooo great!! I wasn't to sure about not being in an all inclusive hotel, but it turned out to be awesome. The location of the condo hotel El Patio is awesome, close to EVERYTHING (gym, beach, downtown, grocerie store). It is not a really new hotel, but my room was cozy and i could hang out on the balcony or invite people in the living room. I am look in to go back soon. Don't forget that the front desk is at the hotel boutique Mariposa (4 doors away on 5th)!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good location

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: Location & staff very good. Property safe & secure. Our friends down the hall had a nice room. I would recommend this hotel but not suite #1.
Cons: Our room needs some upgrades, better water pressure and new pillows. Would have been nice to have drinking water available in the room.
Location: Lots of restaurants, shopping and beach activities.
The location was good, only a few blocks from the beach. The staff was friendly. The water pressure was poor. The air conditioning and TV worked sometimes. WiFi connection was weak.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Can wait to go back!!!

Posted Jan 28, 2016
This was our second time and play playa del Carmen. These condos were wonderful clean and very big! Can't wait to go back !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2016
internet was poor toilet was leaking and very small and inconvenient
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Fair stay, comfortable n clean. Water pressure enough for shower, very little at the kitchen sink. Hot water not enough for a complete shower including washing your hair. For a family might be a problem, i traveled solo. Lack of paper towels, matches/lighter n hair dryer-this last one n matches provided upon request. Hotel staff not on premises but close by. Friendly but moving slow, typical customer service anywhere for Mexico. Ap #2
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Federal Way, WA

Nice Place

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: Shower and fridge
Cons: More furniture in main room. Closer parking for rental. There is parking on 10th( but know that you have to park 5 meters from corner).
Location: Right on 5th Ave. all shops are right there, ferry to Cozumel only a 20 min walk, car rental very close by, taxi available and very near by.
Was transferred from El Patio to Posada Mariposa Boutique Hotel, due to renovations. Was only 20 meters away. Right on 5th Ave. Room was nice and clean, staff was great, friendly and helpful. Shower water was HOT and great pressure. Refridgerator was very cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

Already planning next year's trip!

Posted Mar 22, 2010
This is an excellant hotel for the money. Not for someone who is wanting a five star hotel, but more than I expected. It has a living room, dining area and kitchen with a seperate bedroom. The bathroom has an authentic Mexican sink and a large shower. I loved the balcony off the bedroom, it was the perfect area for an early morning coffee or afternoon seista. The hotel is right on 5th Ave so it is a noisier then some, but you have to expect that to be right on the main street. The only night I found it really noisy was the first night, and that's because after getting up at 3am, it was only 8:30 when I went to sleep. It's only three blocks to Mamita's Beach Club and the hotel provides beach towel and 50% off of lounger's and such at the beach club. The hotel is in the perfect location for anything you want to do, wether it's tours, shopping, the beach, or just relaxing. It's close enough to everything on 5th yet far enough north to not be really, really noisty. If you stay here be sure to check out the Luna Blue bar 2 doors down on 26th. Nothing like sitting on the swings with pomegranite tequilla to end the evening. :) Loved everything about the hotel and am already planning next years trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Vacaville, California

Ready for some more Playa!

Posted Mar 3, 2010
For some fantastic authentic food for lunch or dinner, go down to El Fogon on Contituyente across from the Mega store. The best pastor and charros in town and very reasonable prices. We ate there 4 times, found it 3 years ago and still remembered it! The best place with reasonable prices for breakfast is the Bistro on 5th Avenue. They include coffee with your breakfast and the best thing I had there was the Eggs Oaxaca Style. Scrambled eggs with oaxaca cheese and red sauce, served with mashed potatoes and black beans. Yes, Virginia they eat mashed potatoes in Mexico. All of this was about $5 and the service outstanding. The "discount" at the Mamitas beach club has to be asked for at the reception desk and it is 50% off the things they offered there. A better choice is down past the pier, to the little restaurant/bar called Xaman-Ha bar at 14th & beach. Jorge and Mary, the owners will make sure you have a great stay and the buckets of beer brought to your lounge chair under an umbrella are nice and cold. Service is great and sincerely friendly. The boats come up with tourists and thier catch of the day, if you are lucky, you can make some friends and share your beer and fish! Nice spot, we spent our beach days there. Weather was kinda lousy from the storms coming in from the North, but a drizzly day in Playa is better than a sunny day working! Overall, we will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Eastern Shore Maryland

Great location, great value, but noisy.

Posted Feb 24, 2010
We have been going to Playa del Carmen for winter vacation most of the last 20 years so I know the town fairly well. For our money, you can't beat the Little Italy section which is basically the neighborhood around Fifth Ave. and 26th Street. It's close to everything but yet far from the ferry dock so you avoid the "cruise people." Our balcony at Condohotel el Patio overlooks this intersection so we were right at home. Nice 1 bedroom condo. The queen bed was probably one of the best mattresses I've ever slept on. The bathroom was large, water pressure good, and hot water was hot. Large fridge worked great as did cable TV and Wi-Fi. However, kitchenette needs more cups, plates, pots, pans, etc. Room was on sale so we got a great value for the money. Not worth list price. Daily maid service kept the unit clean. Half price beach chairs at Mamita's. BUT BE AWARE: downtown PDC is loud....no matter where you stay. People come home from the clubs late and the shops open early. Bring your ear plugs!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

great location

Posted Jan 28, 2010
Only a few blocks to the best beach area on the north end of Playa del Carmen. Close to main area of town, but not in the busiest area of fifth avenue so the noise levels were tolerable. Check in and out quick and easy. They even greeted me by name when I arrived before I identified myself, so obviously check reservations and ready for guest arrival. Clean and comfortable. Kitchen/dining area seperate from bedroom. Fridge, cooktop, blender, table, chairs and couch. Only complaint about facilities - no coffee maker. Believe other rooms had them, maybe broken and yet to be replaced. Small balcony off bedroom, nice place to read. Bedroom on street side of building, so sometimes a little street noise.