Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sf.ca

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Great big rooms.friendly staff. On the beach. Close to 5th ave. Free breakfast cards to 3 different restaurants. Discount card to use at restaurants
Cons: the beach in front is quiet small with boats parked in front. We didn't mind at all went swimming everyday but some people might want more open space.
Location: On the beach. 5th Ave is 2 blocks away with all the shops and restaurants. All the clubs are a block away.
We loved El Taj. Great location with large condo rooms. We loved being so close to 5th ave, but loved that we couldn't hear all the clubs from our room. There isn't a huge amount of open sand on the beach and there are fishing boats parked in front but it wasn't a problem for us we would just walk/swim out to the dock where its shallow and u can swim/walk out really far. We saw a lot of large groups and families staying here since its a condo hotel. It was just my bf and i and our life styles never clashed..we couldn't hear other families from our room, and no one seems to care when we would come back from partying late. There was always someone at the front desk to let you back in, and a security guard out front the whole time. We really loved the free breakfast at Imprevist down the street. I would defiantly stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunnyvale, CA

Great location on the water. Beautiful!

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: The location
Location: It was close to the restaurants and shops as well as oceanside.
The hotel staff was courteous and the location was perfect. We really could just relax on our vacation and have no worries. The concierge helped us plan our excursions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles California.

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Nice,clean,confortable,close the beach, good service,excelente.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from baltimore

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Staff very helpful. Hotel clean. Penthouse has wonderful rooftop with hot tub. Did not have much of ocean view though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salt lake cutty

Great stay!

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: Just a couple of short blocks from 5th ave shopping!
Stayed three night in the two bedroom with the terrace. It was great! Very close to the beach with a secluded feel in the jacuzzi or in the pools. Terrace has a gas grill, covered eating area, shower, and jaccuzz Highly recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah, US

Don't stay anywhere else in Playa!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Absolutely loved our experience here. The condo was really well taken care of and had great amenities. The pool was fantastic, and it is a 5 min. or less walk from our favorite restaurants and shopping. Our favorite part of our vacation was eating breakfast at Indigo Beach, the condo's restaurant, and watching the beautiful beach, as well as walking along the beach asset night. As close as it is to action, it is really quiet and chill. The staff are wonderful and helpful, too. The chocolate soaps and shampoos enhanced our visit and we bought more at the end of our trip for gifts. Really can't say enough great things about El Taj!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Beautiful beachfront hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2016
My stay at El Taj was perfect! The hotel was beachfront yet walking distance to all the restaurants and bars in their downtown area. Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Room was very big and clean. No complaints!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nicely upgraded hotel on the Playa beach

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Refurb quality, on beach, Fishing/SCUBA right there, near action.
Cons: A/C noisy. Lobby poor. Overpriced (June in my case).
Location: Everything
Older location/bldg and smaller and cozy. Nicely refurbished almost everywhere recently, marble/granite/modern/gardens. My suite room had a great private rooftop outdoor area, with BBQ & hot tub. Great A/C, need bad here. Full kitchen nice, with stocked frig and cheap stuff. Very close to Playa night action and shops/restaurants. Fishing, SCUBA, JetSkis right at the beach. Small but nice pool, XLNT restaurant (Indigo). Checkin/desk/lobby area a joke, but no space in older town area, no biggie.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colombia

Very nice hotel, we'll love it

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Lovelly little hotel, kind of hidden, nice apartments, perfect for a family trip
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Francisco bay area

Enjoyable El Taj!

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Pros: Loved the room, the setting and location, on the water and just off 5th. Loved the VIP card for the local restaurants, loved our massages at Maya Sol
Cons: Better housekeeping services - the service was inconsistent and could have been better. Also the beach really needs repair work done to save it.
Location: Great location that conveniently located to everything Playa has to offer but in a quiet little street that really feels like a neighborhood.
This was our second visit to El Taj and we were looking forward to coming back. We had an even better room this time around (condo 356) that we loved - spacious, comfortsble, wonderful views and privacy. The staff this time around was okay but not as committed to customer service as the last time we were there. Not bad service, just not outstanding. The bad news for El Taj is they are really losing their beach. The erosion is really bad and I'm not sure what will be left of the beach the next time we're back.