Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from salt lake cutty

Great stay!

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: Just a couple of short blocks from 5th ave shopping!
Stayed three night in the two bedroom with the terrace. It was great! Very close to the beach with a secluded feel in the jacuzzi or in the pools. Terrace has a gas grill, covered eating area, shower, and jaccuzz Highly recommend it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah, US

Don't stay anywhere else in Playa!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Absolutely loved our experience here. The condo was really well taken care of and had great amenities. The pool was fantastic, and it is a 5 min. or less walk from our favorite restaurants and shopping. Our favorite part of our vacation was eating breakfast at Indigo Beach, the condo's restaurant, and watching the beautiful beach, as well as walking along the beach asset night. As close as it is to action, it is really quiet and chill. The staff are wonderful and helpful, too. The chocolate soaps and shampoos enhanced our visit and we bought more at the end of our trip for gifts. Really can't say enough great things about El Taj!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Beautiful beachfront hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2016
My stay at El Taj was perfect! The hotel was beachfront yet walking distance to all the restaurants and bars in their downtown area. Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Room was very big and clean. No complaints!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nicely upgraded hotel on the Playa beach

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Refurb quality, on beach, Fishing/SCUBA right there, near action.
Cons: A/C noisy. Lobby poor. Overpriced (June in my case).
Location: Everything
Older location/bldg and smaller and cozy. Nicely refurbished almost everywhere recently, marble/granite/modern/gardens. My suite room had a great private rooftop outdoor area, with BBQ & hot tub. Great A/C, need bad here. Full kitchen nice, with stocked frig and cheap stuff. Very close to Playa night action and shops/restaurants. Fishing, SCUBA, JetSkis right at the beach. Small but nice pool, XLNT restaurant (Indigo). Checkin/desk/lobby area a joke, but no space in older town area, no biggie.
2 out of 5
by lucia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from colombia

Very nice hotel, we'll love it

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Lovelly little hotel, kind of hidden, nice apartments, perfect for a family trip
5 out of 5
by ANA MARCELA from Bogotá - Colombia

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
El hotel excelente. Limpio y organizado. Su gente muy amable, siempre pendientes de todo. Muy seguro, tanto el hotel como la zona. Encuentras muy buenos restautantes y almacenes para hacer compras. La playa super bonita. Sin duda regresaría.
3 out of 5
by Ashley from Houston

Weekend trip to El Taj

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
I had a wonderful stay overall. Great amenities and a very relax atmosphere. My room was impeccable and the staff was very courteous and willing to go the extra mile. The negatives I would have to say is that the WI-FI did not function my entire hotel stay, I was surprised with a $500 Deposit upon arrival of what was not disclosed, some of the spa services in the Jacuzzi were not working and the pool was missing rocks that were very noticeable. Overall a decent stay.
4 out of 5
by Veronica from Austin, Texas

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
In Playa del Carmen, there are few hotels oceanfront. Here they have a group of boats in front of the beach which may obstruct the view, but out of this, Service was awesome, excelent spa facilities, drinks at beach area were delicious. Breakfast had a wide variety, Hugo is the best Chef's Captain.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco bay area

Enjoyable El Taj!

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Pros: Loved the room, the setting and location, on the water and just off 5th. Loved the VIP card for the local restaurants, loved our massages at Maya Sol
Cons: Better housekeeping services - the service was inconsistent and could have been better. Also the beach really needs repair work done to save it.
Location: Great location that conveniently located to everything Playa has to offer but in a quiet little street that really feels like a neighborhood.
This was our second visit to El Taj and we were looking forward to coming back. We had an even better room this time around (condo 356) that we loved - spacious, comfortsble, wonderful views and privacy. The staff this time around was okay but not as committed to customer service as the last time we were there. Not bad service, just not outstanding. The bad news for El Taj is they are really losing their beach. The erosion is really bad and I'm not sure what will be left of the beach the next time we're back.