Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Excellent hotel next yo the beach. Awesome staff.

Posted May 3, 2017
It is soo nice to come to your hotel after a long day tour to rest in a clean cool place. Nice relaxing quiet pool. Every time i go to Playa del Carmen i have to stay at this hotel. Super super!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Larimore, ND

Beach Hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Location, accommodation, swimming pools, whirl pools, friendliness of staff and security
Cons: To my taste, make cold whirl pool warmer.
Location: Since we like to walk, it was perfect and everything was within walking distance. Even the ADO bus service to Cancun airport and the shuttle to Tulum.
Love that the hotel was right on the beach and it had two swimming pools, along with a cold and warm whirl pools. The accommodation are spacious and each unit has its own patio with plenty of vegetation throughout. The hotel is centrally located on Playa Del Carmen and just steps away from 5th avenue, where most of the restaurants and shops are located. We felt very safe on the premises and as there were many staff personnel always around. The staff was very friendly and courteous
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

RUDE Concierge

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Location location Location
Cons: Management
My friend got locked in the bathroom as soon as we reached the hotel, a concierge manager named Brenda did not handle the situation respectfully, when I asked to be compensated for this inconvenience, she developed a defensive and rude attitude.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Review of El Taj

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed the Taj very much. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good -- quite a good value for what we paid. Two things to be aware of: 1. There is not much of a beach. You can't swim much at the beach because boats are tied up there. It also is a small beach. 2. It was loud at night. The hotel is very close to Fifth Avenue and many clubs. We could hear music all night on the weekends. Fortunately our room had a white noise maker -- and that helped a lot. Overall, we found our stay very pleasant and relaxing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing oceanfront condo with only 1 issue

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
El Taj condos were amazing in every way except 1. They had a storm in November that has washed away much of their beach just in front of the property. The management company has made arrangements with other beach clubs for usage while they work to fix this. We still lazed around several times at the Indigo Beach Club which is right in front of the property. They had great service and 3 amazing ceviche dishes which made up for the lack of beach. When it is time to lay in the sun you can walk less than 10 minutes on the beach to Mamitas Beach Club which is a very happening spot to spend the day. Or you can walk less than 5 minutes and lay on the public beach.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lo

There is no beach.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: The room was clean and nicely decorated.
Location: Close to restaurants and shopping. Way too close to loud all night clubs.
Don't let the name fool you. There is no beach. It has washed away. I know this is natures fault, but the pictures are VERY misleading. Also about 20 boats are anchored right in front of the beach that is left. The water is dirty because of this and the ropes are in the way. The hotel is VERY close to many extremely loud clubs. Not only did the noisy continue till 3am the bed actually shook. We only stayed one of our 3 nights. This was a 50th birthday trip for me. It was a complete disappointment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sf.ca

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Great big rooms.friendly staff. On the beach. Close to 5th ave. Free breakfast cards to 3 different restaurants. Discount card to use at restaurants
Cons: the beach in front is quiet small with boats parked in front. We didn't mind at all went swimming everyday but some people might want more open space.
Location: On the beach. 5th Ave is 2 blocks away with all the shops and restaurants. All the clubs are a block away.
We loved El Taj. Great location with large condo rooms. We loved being so close to 5th ave, but loved that we couldn't hear all the clubs from our room. There isn't a huge amount of open sand on the beach and there are fishing boats parked in front but it wasn't a problem for us we would just walk/swim out to the dock where its shallow and u can swim/walk out really far. We saw a lot of large groups and families staying here since its a condo hotel. It was just my bf and i and our life styles never clashed..we couldn't hear other families from our room, and no one seems to care when we would come back from partying late. There was always someone at the front desk to let you back in, and a security guard out front the whole time. We really loved the free breakfast at Imprevist down the street. I would defiantly stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunnyvale, CA

Great location on the water. Beautiful!

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: The location
Location: It was close to the restaurants and shops as well as oceanside.
The hotel staff was courteous and the location was perfect. We really could just relax on our vacation and have no worries. The concierge helped us plan our excursions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles California.

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Nice,clean,confortable,close the beach, good service,excelente.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from baltimore

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Staff very helpful. Hotel clean. Penthouse has wonderful rooftop with hot tub. Did not have much of ocean view though.