Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nicely upgraded hotel on the Playa beach

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Refurb quality, on beach, Fishing/SCUBA right there, near action.
Cons: A/C noisy. Lobby poor. Overpriced (June in my case).
Location: Everything
Older location/bldg and smaller and cozy. Nicely refurbished almost everywhere recently, marble/granite/modern/gardens. My suite room had a great private rooftop outdoor area, with BBQ & hot tub. Great A/C, need bad here. Full kitchen nice, with stocked frig and cheap stuff. Very close to Playa night action and shops/restaurants. Fishing, SCUBA, JetSkis right at the beach. Small but nice pool, XLNT restaurant (Indigo). Checkin/desk/lobby area a joke, but no space in older town area, no biggie.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from colombia

Very nice hotel, we'll love it

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Lovelly little hotel, kind of hidden, nice apartments, perfect for a family trip
3 out of 5
by Ashley from Houston

Weekend trip to El Taj

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
I had a wonderful stay overall. Great amenities and a very relax atmosphere. My room was impeccable and the staff was very courteous and willing to go the extra mile. The negatives I would have to say is that the WI-FI did not function my entire hotel stay, I was surprised with a $500 Deposit upon arrival of what was not disclosed, some of the spa services in the Jacuzzi were not working and the pool was missing rocks that were very noticeable. Overall a decent stay.
4 out of 5
by Veronica from Austin, Texas

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
In Playa del Carmen, there are few hotels oceanfront. Here they have a group of boats in front of the beach which may obstruct the view, but out of this, Service was awesome, excelent spa facilities, drinks at beach area were delicious. Breakfast had a wide variety, Hugo is the best Chef's Captain.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco bay area

Enjoyable El Taj!

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Pros: Loved the room, the setting and location, on the water and just off 5th. Loved the VIP card for the local restaurants, loved our massages at Maya Sol
Cons: Better housekeeping services - the service was inconsistent and could have been better. Also the beach really needs repair work done to save it.
Location: Great location that conveniently located to everything Playa has to offer but in a quiet little street that really feels like a neighborhood.
This was our second visit to El Taj and we were looking forward to coming back. We had an even better room this time around (condo 356) that we loved - spacious, comfortsble, wonderful views and privacy. The staff this time around was okay but not as committed to customer service as the last time we were there. Not bad service, just not outstanding. The bad news for El Taj is they are really losing their beach. The erosion is really bad and I'm not sure what will be left of the beach the next time we're back.
4 out of 5
by Sam

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is fine, great location in town, but the beach is worthless. We went each day to other beaches which meant spending money in taxis and access fees...gym was excellent but it's located two blocks away. For the price we expected better...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My best friend's wedding

Posted Feb 29, 2016
My husband and I stayed at El Taj for my best friend's wedding...hotel staff was excellent and very friendly....breakfast was something not to be missed, the food was excellent at their partner restaurants...hotel was in walking distance to 5th Avenue for all the restaurants and shops...hotel was in the beach but barely any beach to lounge on and swimming was. It an option. It would probably be better to walk down further. However, we did not go there for the beach...we would recommend El Taj!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Help! Where's the beach?

Posted Feb 19, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful condo/hotel! Great location in Playa! Our room was street side and the music from several local night clubs is very loud! Unfortunately, their beach has disappeared! Hundreds of sand bags and ropes holding up the beach palm trees. Lots of boats are tied up here causing seaweed (smell) buildup, ropes to trip on and no swimming in front of the hotel. It's time that Playa gets a marina! Still an overall good review!
5 out of 5
by Rica P.

Amazing Girls Trip!

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Orbitz
We had booked a 3 bedroom penthouse for a bachelorette party. We really loved the set up of the suite. It had a full kitchen and living room along with 2 full bathrooms. In addition we also had a balcony and rooftop jacuzzi. There was also an area for us to barbecue which was a private area. The location of the hotel was also great. It was within walking distance of fifth avenue. We were also in a good location for excursions.
4 out of 5
by Erika-Amrein from Zürich

Schöne Ferien im El Taj

Posted Dec 26, 2015 on Hotels
Dieses Hotel hat uns sehr gut gefallen.