Ratings based on 179 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel but not much beach

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Love the hotel but not much beach to experience, hard to swim because of so many boats. Very close to town, great staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Week in Playa del Carmen

Posted Dec 11, 2015
Pros: Spacious rooms, great beach location, friendly staff
Location: Centrally located
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the El Taj and were very impressed with the accommodation, facilities and level of service which the team there achieve. Our condo was well equipped with a fully fitted kitchen with utensils and appliances, the bedroom had the largest bed I’ve ever slept in with plenty of storage and beautiful marble floor tiles. The bathroom was also stunning with plenty of space to spread toiletries out. The lounge area was also spacious and comfortably furnished. El Taj is perfectly located on the beach and close to the main street which has all the main shops and restaurants. Additional advantages of staying at this hotel are that you have access to excellent gym facilities and you also receive a VIP card on check-in which gives you discounts of 10% to 20% at various bars, restaurants and clubs in town. The manager, Frederic is clearly very passionate about ensuring that his guests have an excellent stay and he took the time to speak to us on a couple of occasions to ensure that we we’re enjoying ourselves. Antonio, was also particularly friendly as were the waiters in Indigo, all of which led to us feeling more than welcome during our stay. If we return to Playa Del Carmen we will definitely stay here again and I would not hesitate to recommend staying here to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Condo is the right choice

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: pool room view location
Cons: why the beach smells so weird? only this area!
We stayed for 2 nights, it was a right choice to choose a condo hotel when you taking your child with you. This hotel design was interesting, but it has all the facilities you need. The room was big, modern, but the floor wasnt that clean i think. I like the pool, warm water even in the summer, that was great! However the beach was bad, it close to the pier and all boats stopped in front of the beach, and it smells, ehhh If you choose this hotel make sure you go all the way to the roof, great view!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

MUY AGRADABLE

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Pros: EL CONCEPTO
Cons: TERRAZA EN TODOS LOS CUARTOS
Location: UBICADO A UNOS PASOS DE LUGARES PARA SALIR A CENAR Y CAMINAR
MUY BIEN UBICADO Y CON BUEN AMBIENTE, LA COMIDA DEL BEACH CLUB MUY RICA CON EXCELENTE SERVICIO
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Amazing condo, wonderful breakfast and lovely beach!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2015
My husband and I had a great time. We were there for my best friend Wedding. The Penn House is amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego Ca

Hotel nice and great location!!

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Nice hotel in the heart of playa del carmen. Great gym, good free breakfast service on the beach. The only bad thing about the hotel, the boats infront of the beach have to go!!! But over all great hotel for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Phoenix AZ

El Taj is THE BEST!!

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
We had the time of our lives staying at El Taj for our honeymoon! The management is extremely accommodating, the staff is friendly and provides excellent service, the hotel itself is absolutely gorgeous and right on the beach! It is located in the heart of 5th avenue so you can walk to any restaurant, gift shop, club or the faire to Cozumel! The room itself is breathtaking and beyond comfortable! We won't stay anywhere else when we visit Playa Del Carmen! This hotel is so romantic words cannot describe! Ask about a private dinner on the beach if you're there for a honeymoon, anniversary, proposal, etc. Daniel was our server for our private beach dinner and along with other great staff members he provided us the most incredible service for our delicious, wine paired 5 course meal! My wife and I love El Taj! We would recommend it to anyone!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Itai Roy from Tel aviv

Nice but listen to this

Posted Oct 10, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was excellent. The only negative thing is that there are a tons of sea weed in the hotel beach and its area so if you want to go to the beach this is not the hote for you. Don't take the 1 bedroom appartment because it's like a cellar apartment . Be aware.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by hadar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels