Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Arlington, United States of America

Almost private Italian Villa on beach in Mexico

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: Location about an hour drive south of Cancun. 20 minute taxi ride to Playa del Carmen and night life there. Or half hour or so to trendy Tuluum.
29 room Italian Villa style along a beautiful seems pristine coastline in eastern Mexico. Staff and service was fantastic. Every need we had was met immediately. Beachfront was very private and super comfortable cabanas. Plenty of shade when we needed it. Even found a little cove about 100 yards down that was super clear water and no waves. Very cool and private spot. Rooms super clean daily. Loved the sound system in the rooms with great music on a supplied mini ipod. Very nice touch. Had a private "wading pool" that was surrounded by jungle tree plants. Super private. We had a couple of issues with the "pool". Ours was more like a hot tub size and the heater function was difficult to figure out. Had a plunger and we never knew if it was working so we had to call the (excellent) staff to get the heat turned on. Again great response from the staff. Only other issue was the restaurant food was not up to the tastes of a high quality place like this and the prices a bit high for the flavors we experienced in the nights we dined. But, again superb service!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel location. US prices.

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: Location and peaceful atmosphere.
Cons: Warn client of dangerous rocks. Prices...
Very nice hotel location. Beautiful room. Nice staff. Some need training on keeping the hotel premises clean, and avoid the "it is not my job" syndrome (they prefer to leave dirty things behind than collecting them). Not a fit star service. There is a dangerous reef on the right side of the beach, in shallow waters. Got hurt by sharp rocks. Staff did not mention upon arrival. Prices here are not "mexican" but at par with top hotels in America or US...strange compared to other nice hotels in Mexico. Indeed all prices are in US dollars and you are required to pay in US$...in Mexico, a country with its own pesos.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2016 by Yurij Gabassi - Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. You willingness to share your thoughts is much appreciated and rest assured it has been taking into consideration. Our beach is located in front of the 2nd largest barrier reef in the world, the 600 mile/965 km-long Mesoamerican reef. Famous for its abundance of fish life and variety of dive sites. It is rare to have an injured guest in our beach, however, we will take your advise and we will mention the rock pertruding out of the shallows on the right hand side of the beach. Normally as the waters are crystal clear it is rather easily identifiable, but nonetheless it should have been noted by our lifeguard, your personal concierge and management. Hotel Esencia is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve your future lodging needs, as we would like the opportunity to provide you the level of service you expect from Hotel Esencia. Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Too expensive for what you get

Posted May 21, 2015
The property is very pleasant but at $800 per night you would expect a higher quality hotel. Rooms lack some basic amenities like hairdryers and bath caps. There is a lack of detail on the service (no turndown service). I told the staff when I made the reservation that this was my anniversary and that I wanted my room decorated for the occasion, they assured me they would do so. They didn't do anything at all. Not when we got to the hotel nor the following nights. I requested a special dinner in a setting overlooking the ocean (this was suggested by the concierge). They miscommunicated somehow and placed us on a different location. The table was very poorly lit when the sun sat down. We had to use our phones lights to see. I general the experience is not up to the level of the price they charge.
5 out of 5
by Michelle from New York, NY

Our 5th visit and as wonderful as always

Posted May 12, 2015 on Hotels
This was our 5th visit to Esencia. We got married here 4 years ago and keep coming back. It is the perfect balance of understated beauty with warm, impeccable service (and the MOST delicious food). The new owner is really taking care to maintain the uniqueness of the property, while also making improvements. New furniture, new bath products, updated menus are just a few. The changes are lovely. We cannot say enough how special Esencia is. We recommend it to everyone we know.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Quiet Hideaway...time & place to decompress

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Everything...
Cons: The grounds could be a little bit more manicured, but it's part of the charm.
Location: close drive to many cenotes and outdoor adventure parks. Playa del Carmen is only 15 minutes away for nightlife and shopping.
A very short trip for us, but we will be returning. A nice relaxed vibe. A low key, understated and well kept property. If you don't want the large resort and love peace & tranquility, this place is it. Beautiful clean beach. Very hospitable staff. The food was excellent. One must have the juevos mortulenos at breakfast. The room's decor is very simple..all in white. very calm and clean. Great smelling all natural soaps, shampoo & body oil. Nice music selection in the ipods. Excellent massage at the Spa. One must do the morning yoga. I did Anusara yoga with Olga. She was a wonderful teacher. The pools are long enough to do some laps if you want a little exercise. The pain au chocolat in the early morning pastry basket was to die for. Don't step away from the basket or the birds will come and get them. The bungalows are nestled into the natural fauna. I saw several typed of birds, iguanas, squirrels and even a slim, fast garden snake. You get the full experience here....you get to be surrounded by nature and have the comfort of luxury accommodations
5 out of 5
by Mary from Austin, TX

Luxury boutique bliss

Posted May 5, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel Esencia is a serene boutique hotel nesseled in the middle of the forrest. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. The beach had a ton of seaweed but you feel like you are the only one on the beach as the hotel is not flanked by big hotels which made it so enjoyable. The food is truly amazing. Not a detail was missed by the staff. Hotel Escenia is a gem and a first class experience!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Shawnee Mission KS

Beach and QUIET getaway.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Beach, food, staff.
Cons: lighting in the bathrooms.
Location: The location is between many options but nothing is really close. It is 20 to 30 minutes to get to Playa del Carmen or Tulum.
This is wonderful little hidden gem. This not the place for spring breakers. If you want to relax, have good food and a wonderful beach come here. If you want seadoos, para sailing and the like this will not be for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, California

Beautiful Hotel on White Sand Beach

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: The main building is exquisite and the grounds are immaculate. The staff were very attentive to our needs. The Esencia is a wonderful retreat.
Cons: This hotel is not for party people as it is somewhat isolated and small in size.
We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Esencia. The grounds are immaculate. The view from our balcony of the garden and the yoga studio was peaceful and relaxing. Every morning we were awakened by the delivery of coffee and breakfast rolls to our room. After skimming the news of the world online, we would go for an hour walk on the mile long powdery white sand beach and watch the pelicans dive for fish. Our days were spent reading in a beach cabana which we interspersed with dips in the ocean and lap swimming in the pool.
5 out of 5
by Kiara from Perth

Absolutely perfect!

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels
My husband and I stayed at Esencia for 7 nights in November as part of our honeymoon, and WOW. This place is incredible. Everything is 10/10. The thought that has gone into every single detail makes a stay here so amazing. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The beach is peaceful, with the whitest sand and bluest water. We will definitely be returning!