Ratings based on 2,372 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Holiday Get away

Posted Dec 6, 2016
The only dissatisfaction was that after 11pm all shut down. Not much to do once the show is over. The sports bar was not very exciting. The property is very big and beautiful, one would expect a nightclub or a fun place to dance at night. Other than that, the restaurants were very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Cathy, Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Riviera Cancun with all Expedia users. We appreciate that you added remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us, mentioning the beautiful facilities that made your stay more enjoyable. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which is very important to us. Your inputs help with our continuing efforts to provide an excellent service and a great stay. Rest sure we will share your words with the related departments and colleagues on the property. We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future. Please, receive our warmest regards!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 1000 Islands, Canada

Repeat visit

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: The layout is easy to master and get around. The pools are amazing, temp on the last day had crept up to 31c/86f in the lazy river around the huge Spa
Cons: More, or older kinds of rum. I prefer at least 12 year old, 23 year old should be available.
Location: Resort is on a perfect beach, seaweed has decreased to a minimum, never a crowd, great swimming, lots of beach chrs. and beds. Great and lots o staff.
2nd. visit, same time last year. If possible, the staff was even better prepared and more friendly than last year. We are making arrangements to meet there next year, same time. We have been to the other Excellence, north of Cancun and several other resorts with similar ratings. This one is well worth repeating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Relaxsun, Thank you for choosing Excellence Riviera Cancun once again as your getaway destination and for recommending to all Expedia users. It is great to know that once again you enjoyed our resort, the excellent services provided and the relaxing swimming pool & spa. We also appreciate your feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay. We will be more than happy to be able to serve you again in a near future! Please, receive our warmest regards!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Everything was great and the Excellence Club was wonderful.
Great Hotel. And staff were all so very accomdating. Highly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa, Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Riviera Cancun with all Expedia users. We are very pleased to know that your experience in our resort exceeded your expectations. We are also looking forward to welcoming you again and provide another memorable vacation! Receive our warmest regards!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Wonderful hotel if you are looking for a relaxing time. The food and facilities are great, and the staff is simply wonderful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for recommending Excellence Riviera Cancun to all Expedia users. Is great to read that you enjoyed your stay at Excellence Riviera Cancun and our partners and the excellent restaurants were able to exceed your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide another amazing experience. Receive our warmest regards from Riviera Maya!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect

Posted Nov 27, 2016
My husband and I visited this resort for our honeymoon. Room service visited everyday, we had options of activities in which to participate constantly, and the food was amazing. Staff was so friendly all the time, in every setting- always willing to help and treat you in such a special way. We can't wait to visit again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Michael William, Thank you very much for recommending Excellence Riviera Cancun to all Expedia users. It is great to read that your honeymoon celebration at Excellence Riviera Cancun went above your expectations and our partners were able to serve, pamper and provide so many enjoyable and relaxing moments. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide another romantic getaway. Receive our warmest regards!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Fantastic stay!

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Staff are so friendly, honestly we had the best stay. Great hotel.
Cons: N/A
Location: 20 mins from Airport, excursions are all about an hour away, well worth doing. Xcaret is a good one, Jungle speedboat is a lot of fun.
This really is a 5 Star Resort. I have not one complaint. The staff are so friendly and willing to help in anyway they can. It was our 50th birthday celebration and the staff decorated our room with balloons, streamers and two pieces of cake. The facility is fantastic. The grounds are very well maintained. The food is great. You don't need reservations to any of the 10 restaurants. The beach front is clean. Every building has a pool and lazy river with floating mats, clean towels at every corner. There is an Excellence Club section, if you want to pay a bit extra. If you haven't booked excursions, not to worry there is a booth in the main area as well as next to the front desk. Look no further book this resort for an amazing stay, you won't be disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Neva, Let us thank you for choosing Excellence Riviera Cancun as host of your birthday celebration and for recommending us to all Expedia users. We appreciate your amiable comments regarding your stay with us and know that our staff was able to make your stay a relaxing and memorable experience. Moreover, thank you for letting us know how memorable and special was your stay, due to the facilities and the quality of the food encountered. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Receive our warmest regards!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bloomfield Hills, MI

Nice resort on the beach

Posted Nov 17, 2016
November 2016: weather was good in the mid 80's everyday and cool nights. We were 3 couples traveling and had a wonderful time. The hotel was very nice we stayed in swim up Jr. suite and love it. It was peaceful and quite for relaxing. The hotel staff provided excellent service, they were very warm and welcoming. The food was good but they could use some higher brands in the alcohol department especially the vodka. The beach wasn't as pretty or as clean, a lot of seaweed and garbage as you walked. The spa was AMAZING I had two treatments and loved them, the service and the staff. Overall the trip was great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jena, First and foremost, allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Riviera Cancun as the destination of your holiday and for taking a time to share this review with all Expedia users. We are thrilled to know how relaxing and memorable was your stay with us due to the great service provided by our partners and the facilities encountered. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which is very important to us. Moreover, regarding the mentioned issue with the beach, please note that depending on weather conditions, the ocean can be seen more clearly some days than others. Be sure we definitely do our best to keep our beach as clean as nature allows. We all look forward to serving you soon and provide you with another amazing experience! Receive our warmest regards from Riviera Maya!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississauga

One of our best experience.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Everything was excellent. Top notch. Wish if I could stay longer. But had to be back to work..............................................................
Cons: There is nothing bad about this place. The staff, restaurants all gave us an excellent experience. Felt at home...............................................................
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Skj1965, Thank you for recommending Excellence Riviera Cancun to all Expedia users. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. You are more than welcome in our resort for one more amazing and memorable experience! Please receive our warm regards!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from philadelphia, United States of America

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Great hotel, great service, beautiful spa, my only complaint would be the small size of the main pool area, it was very difficult to get chairs or beds in the immediate area. The lazy river was a nice compliment but you were kind of secluded when seated in that area. Overall great experience and would return
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Return visit - as great as the first experience.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: There was not one thing not to like. From the greeting to the accommodations to the service to the staff to the food and drink - all were "excellent"
Cons: Arrogant guests who refuse to abide by the resorts policy of not "reserving" accommodations at the pool/beach with personal items when not in use.
After our first visit last year I summed it up by saying the name of the resort "Excellence" was an understatement. Many times though you return with the same expectations as the first visit and, for whatever reason, are somewhat disappointed, NOT IN THIS CASE!!! Our second visit was as "excellent" as the first. This year we visited with a different set of friends and they were equally impressed. WE are already looking to a return visit - AGAIN - next year!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear JT, First and foremost, allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Riviera Cancun once again as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share your experience with all Expedia users. We are honored to have received such a high rating review from a valuable guest and to know we have met your standards on both your past and present stay. Thank you very much for your positive remarks. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another amazing experience. Please, receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!