Ratings based on 1,533 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Great hotel with excellent service!

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Service and staff were terrific. Lots of choices for restaurants, great bars, activities to do during the day, cleanest beach around, comfortable rooms! We loved our stay and wouldn't go anywhere else. We upgraded to the excellent club too and we felt it was worth it. We we treated so well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

EVERY restaurant was fantastic. Friendly staff

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: The resort was immaculately clean and very beautiful. It was very easy to relax at this resort
Cons: The fruit juices were not very tasty
Great resort. I would recommend it to anyone in a heart beat. The resort had a wide range of restaurants (food). I am a picky eater, but I enjoyed the meals at every restaurant. The staff was polite, friendly and very attentive. Their uniforms were always very well maintained. The entire resort was immaculately clean except for the beach where the seaweed was abundant. The resort was very diligent in cleaning up each morning so much so that we were actually able to swim in the beach towards the end of our stay. We cannot fault the resort, nature prevailed. This was our first stay at an adult resort (usually, we vacationed with our son). At first, I did miss the laughter and other sounds of young adults but we quickly grew accustomed to the peace and quiet that prevailed most of the time. We are not active sports participants but we were quite aware of the great time that the sports lovers were having. The nightly entertainment was not great, but it was definitely good. It catered mostly to those who real purpose was to relax and not do too much. The spacious beauty and cleanliness of the resort was in fact very conducive to relaxation. Our only criticism of the resort was that some of the fruit juices were a bit bland. We also noticed that quite a few guests did not finish their glasses of juice. All in all if you are in search of a great relaxation spot, Excellence Rivera Maya is ideal. We rate this resort AAA.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Even better than expected!

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: The all-inclusive plan is wonderful and the "no reservation" policy at the restaurants contributes to the relaxation. We never waited for a table.
Cons: Some of the entertainment was a little hoaky. The circus show, the light show and the Mexican review were the best in our opinion.
Location: We never left the resort! There was no reason to go....we had seen Tulum, etc and the resort offered the chance to just rest and relax
My wife and I booked Excellence Riviera Cancun after reading scores of reviews on both Expedia and other travel sites. We were expecting to enjoy a week in a quiet resort setting and we were pleased to find that the resort exceeded our expectations in every category. Be aware that the Cancun airport is a hot bed of tour sales and other hucksters who will harass you and deceive you into thinking that they may help you find your ground transportation. Following the hotel's recommendation, we use Season's Tours private car service (you will find the rep on the second platform outside the airport waiting room). Once we connected, everything fell into place. Our driver had cold towels and cold bottled water in a clean, comfortable SUV and within 20 mins, we were greeted with cold champagne and a warm welcome by Gabriella in the main lobby of the resort. Check-in was easy and we were escorted to our suite in building 9 by a wonderful bellman who also gave us a tour of the facility as we walked through. We chose a "swim-up suite" which included both an indoor and outdoor jacuzzi, a sunning bed steps from the patio and a hammock. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The pools was clean and just a few feet from our patio and the beach, which was clean and well kept was a 5 minute walk. We tried almost every restaurant and bar during our 8 days and were never disappointed. Service was excellent by all concerned. Room service was fast and tasty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Excellenteeeee

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Amazing hotel, great food and excellent staff. Recommend all couples to go!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellence

Posted Aug 30, 2015
The best hotel for vacation we enjoy a lot the food are very good quality
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great all-inclusive, beautiful location

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: The hotel was beautiful, modern, and very comfortable. Our every need was taken care of!
Cons: The beach is not the best-- full of seaweed and not great for swimming, though this isn't something the hotel can necessarily control.
Location: We did a day trip to Tulum-- very fun! We had many options to choose from when picking a day trip. It seemed like there was a lot to do!
We loved our stay at Excellence Riveria Cancun. Staff were wonderful, very friendly and accommodating. We saw nothing but smiling faces! The resort is gorgeous, though the beach is a bit sea-weedy. Food was good overall, though some restaurants were better than others-- a few of the restaurants were a little bland. The rooms were huge and very clean, very comfortable. There were several different pool areas and activity areas so we never felt crowded or cramped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Best hotel I've stayed at in Mexico

Posted Aug 28, 2015
This was, hands down, the best hotel I've stayed at in Mexico! It was honestly, one of the best hotels I've stayed at period. the service and food was fantastic! You will never want to leave the lazy river! We will definitely be returning!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oklahoma city, ok

Love this resort!

Posted Aug 26, 2015
This was our second time to this resort. The staff is always so friendly and accommodating. Their is a minor seaweed problem this time but it's beyond their control. We still had a great time! Other resorts were not putting in near as much effort to clean it as Excellence did and their entire resorts smelled of it. It only smelled if you were right on the shoreline. Food is always great. I recommend anyone to try them if you haven't already. So many people are return customers so that says a lot. Cannot wait till next time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Great resort and great people.

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: The staff! Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. The grounds were also well maintained.
Location: This resort is set off away from everything. You can catch a cab or van to Playa del Carmen or Puerto Morelos if you would like.
From the time you step off your transport until the time they put your luggage back on, the staff is excellent. The resort is very well maintained and offers a little bit of something for everyone. There are plenty of quiet pools away from the beach, party pools with a swim up bar down by the beach and of course the beach. There is the seaweed issue going on so you couldn't get into the water, but that's a whole Caribbean issue not an Excellence issue. There is a very good assortment of buffet meals for breakfast and lunch. They have chilaquillas and Mexican coffee, what else do you need?!? The Wi-Fi can be somewhat spotty and the best signal area is the lobby area. Luckily they have a very nice coffee shop (all inclusive) with a variety of drinks and pastries in the lobby as well as numerous couches. It's a great place to get a cup and relax and catch up on anything internet related if need be. The evening dinner restaurants are decent and if nothing else, room service is 24 hours a day! The bars serve 5 different beers and most of the high end liquors as well. We generally don't go to the same resort and always mix it up for variety, but this is one place we may actually return to! If not this one, we may try one of their sister resorts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Greatest Vacation of My Life

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Amazing French restaurant, PHENOMENAL staff and customer service, great pools, AMAZING activity staff - Ximena, Fernanda, and German are great
Cons: More outlets in the room would be helpful. Other than that, everything was excellent!
Location: The location is great. Only 20 minutes from the airport makes for a very short drive after your flight. We went nearby to a dolphin excursion.
Literally. My new bride and I visited here on our honeymoon without much knowledge other than reading reviews and comparing it to other resorts in the area. Since it was our honeymoon, we were looking for a resort that was adults only but didn't have a club-like atmosphere. This was that place. With mostly couples, it became a fun place to grab unlimited food and drinks while playing volleyball with other people. We spent every night watching one of the fantastic shows that they had which included an urban dance show, a circus-like balancing act, as well as a Michael Jackson Tribute. There's way too much to comment on but one thing I will mention that will always remain in my memory is looking out over the lazy river in the morning and hearing the calming music from the Spa playing throughout the grounds. This was the most relaxing and comforting way to start my day.